We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would never visit again” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Howards Hotel

Howards Hotel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in St Ives
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Howards Hotel
Save
You added Howards Hotel to your Saves list
St. Ives Road | Carbis Bay, St Ives TR26 2SB, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 25 Hotels in St Ives
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Would never visit again”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2011 via mobile

Not what we expected. We knew it was two star but Would not even class it as that.
Waited for long time at reception after pressing bell.
Room was small and furniture was old and tired although bed comfortable. Furniture consisted of one garden chair.
WiFi did not work in the room.
Breakfast was awful. served on wooden tabled, not table cloths. Assortment of cutlery which did not match. Sausage burnt. Greasy bacon. Insect on toast. No orange juice. One guest eating with no shoes or socks on feet.
No toilet paper in bar toilet.
We would glad to leave after one night. At £80 for one night we felt we had been ripped off.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    9
    6
    6
    8
See reviews for
10
18
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Rochdale, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2010

me&my family went here for a nice break,looked lovley from the outside,untilwe entered!the place is so dated,need a good decor,when we entered we were greeted by 3dogs,that scared my children&myslf to death,we went into the so called bar area to find dog food bowls scattered everywhere,the dog poo on the carpet,food was awful it is advertied as homecooked but microwave is the howards way!the owner was very rude at times,bedroom was only changed once!no towel change or bed change no toilet paper replaced,the room was very shabby and in need of a good strip!the landlord was drunk every night,smoking in the bar,the owners made it clear that children was not welcome,i would never recommend this place so be warned!!!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forest of Dean
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2010

Me and my partner really enjoyed our stay here. I had never been here before, my girlfriend is a bit of a fuss pot, so i was really hoping it was going to be a nice place as i had never been here before, so was going in blind. To my relief the rooms were very nice and comfortable, no complaints from the mrs, well avoided ear ache! We had room 10 with a sea view, was brilliant, very peacefull, heard no noise from the bar, did not interfear with our stay at all! The owners were very welcoming, very interested where we were from and made us feel comfortable. The bar was very nice good selection of beers, and locals very friendly. The breakfast was very nice, did not have to wait long and had a very good selection. We will be back, and if the owners read this i would like to thankyou for a delightful stay as i did not get chance to thankyou! from Nick, Soph and Jack (the very well behaved little jack russel)

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brighton
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2010

We stayed here to visit friends for my birthday. The decor was dated but the place was nice and clean. After a friendly chat in the bar with Joe while waiting for our room to be prepared, we had a quick bite and then met our friends ~(who were also allowed to park in the hotel parking for free!) for our night out. On our return the bar was quite busy but Joe came over for a chat and before I knew it 2 pieces of cake with a candle made it's way over! That and a birthday drink were so unexpected and such a nice touch. Together with the comfortable bed and generous breakfast, I would recommend this friendly place to anyone!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leinster
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2010

Stayed for one night B&B. Ok it was not the Ritz but was clean , comfortable and owners were more than friendly . Well worth a stay.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2010

Stayed at howards hotel with my friend as a birthday treat for 4 nights,the reason we picked the howards was we worked here 40 years ago ,so it was great to go back again it had changed a bit but then so had we,we were made very welcome with a nice sea view room tea/coffee /towels renewed every day and room cleaned daily ,the local's have a darts team at the howards and it makes it very friendly when having a drink in the bar (hello] .Joe/Terry will help in any way they can,which is a lovely touch to there hotel,if you want a ultra modern friendless, expensive, hotel ,go some were else. Thanking you all for a great stay ,ps thank the man who takes the dogs for a walk,for showing us were to get the bus ,it was pouring with rain and he got soaking wet ,when we come back to visit we will buy him a pint xxxxxxxx

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2010

We stayed at Howards Hotel at the end of May for 6 nights after a long journey and were greeted by the Manager of Howards. She made us feel very welcome and offered us a choice of 2 rooms, the one we chose was fanastic for our needs and had a sea view. The room was cleaned and we were provided with fresh sheets and towels, tea, coffee etc on a daily basis. The beds were luxury, we wanted to stay in bed all morning however the breakfasts were that good that we were forced to make a choice between the two and the food had to come first!! The staff were very friendly, helpful and went out of their way to make us feel at ease. They even offered to help carry our luggage to our room upon arrival.
They had a large private car park at the front of the building which was very useful as you will find that car parks in the area are very hard to come by. We could see the car park from our room and the bar area at all times.
They had a very large bar area which had a pool table, darts board, sky tv etc, so there was always something to do of an evening when you needed a drink to cool off !! (after getting sunburnt! They even provided us with a cold towel as we were suffering!)
We did not encounter any problems with their lovely dogs as previously written in their reviews.
We would definitely recommend Howards to others wishing to stay in Carbis Bay and visit the beautiful area. It is located 10 - 15 minutes walk to Carbis Bay beach and 30 minutes walk to St Ives town.
We are very grateful for the hospitality they showed us after a disagreement with another hotel nearby.
Thankyou for making our holiday a great one! We will definitely be back again soon!!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Howards Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howards Hotel

Address: St. Ives Road | Carbis Bay, St Ives TR26 2SB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Ives
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 25 Hotels in St Ives
Number of rooms: 11
Also Known As:
Howards Hotel St Ives, Cornwall

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Howards Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.