We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WHAT A BEAUTIFUL CHURCHYARD” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Barnoon Cemetery

Barnoon Cemetery
St Ives, England
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 18 attractions in St Ives
Type: Cemeteries
Attraction Details
Grantham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
37 attraction reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
187 helpful votes 187 helpful votes
“WHAT A BEAUTIFUL CHURCHYARD”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

We never fail to be entranced by this lovely place. I know it sounds a bit macabre to extol the virtues of a cemetery, but this is one in a million! Set on a very steep slope, it has magnificent and uninterrupted views of Porthmeor Beach and the coast. The gravestones go back hundreds of years and the place has even been used as a film set for "Raise The Titanic" some of which was filmed in and around St Ives. Highly recommended for spending a relaxing hour or two.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    10
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
St Ives, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
32 attraction reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
“A place for quiet contemplation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Plenty of history here, look at the well known and not so well know graves and absorb the history - must be one of the most idyllic locations for a graveyard, great views out to sea.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayle, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
520 reviews 520 reviews
248 attraction reviews
Reviews in 176 cities Reviews in 176 cities
245 helpful votes 245 helpful votes
“Sue has family there”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

Wonderful spot although you will not appreciate it if there. My wife's family are in residence, the view is great and I just wonder how long it will be before the Tate gallery wants to build on it.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kidderminster, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“It's a graveyard!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

On a very steep hillside by side of Tate St.Ives. Worth a wander around to locate grave of Alfred Wallis, artist and mariner. Interesting ceramic memorial.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
47 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“When I die I'd like to rest here.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2012 via mobile

What a place to rest your head when you die. Great to see it at midnight in the summer on a ghost walk, I will always remember the tale of the rats. Wonderful place to sit and watch the sea.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Barnoon Cemetery also viewed

 

Been to Barnoon Cemetery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Barnoon Cemetery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Barnoon Cemetery to your Saves list