We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best campsite ever!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ayr Holiday Park

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in St Ives
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ayr Holiday Park
Save
You added Ayr Holiday Park to your Saves list
St Ives TR26 1EJ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
“Best campsite ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013 via mobile

We stayed this weekend and all I can say is wow! I love st Ives but this was my first time staying here and it was a stunning place, geat location, amazing views, fabulous bathrooms with underfloor heating, seriously the bathrooms were better than some hotels I've stayed in. I will be returning here without a doubt, have no doubts when booking here

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    189
    47
    18
    1
    3
See reviews for
79
112
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

Loved this site so much so we've just re-booked for the festival. We visited in our motorhome and can honestly say it is by far the most luxurious site we have stayed on. The gravel pitches are a godsend, no muddy shoes etc... electric and water hook up on each pitch with your very own table and bench attached to the pitch area (I wanted to use it but the weather wouldn't let me:). The site is located on a hill, just a short stroll into the wonderful town that is St Ives. There is a fantastic cliff top walk connected to the site, this is perfect for walkers and dog owners. The views are a wonder to behold, wherever you are situated, you are more or less guaranteed the most wonderful panoramic views of the bay. The site is immaculate and so well maintained, we have just visited and although very cold, they had daffodils lining the park, it looked so pretty even though it was -1 !!!. I normally hate public toilets and showers BUT I actually lingered in the luxury here. The floors are heated, so very welcomed. I can honestly say they had a "spa" feel to them!! There was plenty of room for your towel, clothes and toiletries within the cubicle area without them getting wet. The toilet and hand washing areas were spotless - not even a drop of water on the sink area, great music played throughout the day too so you could take your time getting ready if you so wished. The staff were really nice, friendly and helpful. We can not wait to return when (hopefully) the sun is shining, can't wait!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013 via mobile

This place is amazing. My favouriture place in the world. We love it so much we stay year after year. Our 8 year old enjoys it here more than Eurodisney.
Super clean! The best views of the best seaside resort in the UK!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, Devon, UK.
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

It is hard to find great sites which are open all year for motor homes and this one is fabulous. The facilities are probably the best I have ever had the pleasure of using on a camp site. They are sparklingly clean, very warm and the showers were large and hot.
The view from our pitch was stunning down over the beach. We have a dog so the path down to the coastal path provided a gateway to some wonderful walks, we can only visit St Ives with her from Oct to March as the beaches don't allow dogs on them in the summer.
The pitches are very level on the top level where we were, the row below have their own levelling blocks - very thoughtful. To reach the beach and the town you can either link up with the coast path or walk down the road for about 10 minutes. Be warned it is a steep walk back up the hill.
The pitches aren't cheap but with views and facilities like this who would complain. The only minor niggle I would have is that the charges for WIFI are just ridiculously high. I would be very surprised if anyone ever uses it.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

Had a lovely flexible 9 night stay in September.
The views over porthmeor beach from the static caravan were stunning.
The maintenance of the caravan was a little poor in details but everything except certain lights worked. Odd how being electrically minded we find it funny when people can't figure out two way switching, scary sometimes.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the caravans with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, England
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

We booked 2 caravans at Ayr for a family holiday that included my sisters dog and we got what we expected. The caravans were on the end by the reception area so we didn't get much of a view. They were the 'doggie' caravans and so weren't as nice as the ones further up. They were comfy and quite spacious had everything you needed in the kitchen as well as an iron and ironing board.
As a family of 9 we had plans of sitting in between the 2 caravans having bbq's and a natter but there were no tables or chairs. They were all at the other end of the site with the campers so I think its a first-come, first-served sort of thing. More are needed.
There is a small games room and launderette but no site shop. In the campers field you'll find a van that sells 'breakfast butties' which came in handy on occasion.
The best view is definitely at the other end of the site where the 'non-doggie' caravans and camping field are.
The site is very clean and well maintained by the maintenance staff and is quiet and peaceful!
Ayr is situated at the top of a hill but if you know St Ives there are not many areas that aren't hilly. You can flag down a small bus that runs regularly to take you to the bottom by the beach and back again at 50p each journey. This was ideal for my 80 year old Dad.
St Ives itself is absolutely stunning, one of the best places in the UK to take a holiday, albeit busier than I remember from my childhood holidays there. I'd definitely recommend The Sloop (13th century) which overlooks the harbour for food and a drink and The Hobbler (16th century) for a wonderful meal. There is also a very good Italian restaurant overlooking the harbour too!
If you do take a dog on holiday the small cove of Balamuz Beach which is on the opposite side of the harbour wall, is open all day for them and then there is a bigger beach with an estuary 10 mins car drive away.
In all Ayr Holiday Park provided what we wanted, a base, but it would have been nice to have a better view.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew B, Owner at Ayr Holiday Park, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
I am glad you enjoyed your holiday in St Ives and the caravans in particular. However I would like to point out that we do have two pet friendly caravans in the section further from reception with great sea views. We allocate caravans on the basis of the type selected by the customer and most types have at least one which will accept a pet. It may be that the sea-view caravans were already booked when you made your reservation, but our receptionists could have discussed that with you. Regarding some outdoor furniture, we can normally accommodate people who ask us to supply some for them.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012 via mobile

We camped at Ayr in late September. Unfortunately we had not realised that the St Ives festival was on and the campsite was pretty busy. As a group of young(ish!) people we wanted a an area to camp which was not surrounded by campers with young families. However, we were told that there were no other spaces, when in fact the end "car parking" field had loads of room! At £47 per night, we wished we had gone elsewhere! As stated, the location and facilities are fabulous, but this is overshadowed by slightly debatable value for your fee....

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ayr Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ayr Holiday Park

Address: St Ives TR26 1EJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Ives
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 26 Specialty Lodging in St Ives
Number of rooms: 82
Also Known As:
Ayr Holiday Park Hotel St Ives
Ayr Holiday Park St Ives, Cornwall

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ayr Holiday Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.