We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Green Apple Bed & Breakfast

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Green Apple Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
Green Apple Bed & Breakfast
St. Ives Road | Carbis Bay, St Ives TR26 2SX, England (Formerly Penlee Bed & Breakfast)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #37 of 103 St Ives B&B and Inns
England
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013 via mobile

Great value for such a beautiful b&b. The owners, Jess and Adrian are really friendly and helpful and nothing was too much trouble. It was very clean and the location was fab. The beach at Carbis Bay is stunning. We will certainly be returning and singing their praises to everyone we know x

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    8
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
12
27
1
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Woodford Green, Essex
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

We had a lovely stay here on whistlestop tour of Cornwall. Excellent price and location, easy and lovely to walk to St Ives. Quite a surprise on the inside, beautifully and lovingly decorated. Good selection for breakfast in the morning. Would recommend this and would happily stay here again. Also easy parking with superb hosts, we were greeted by Adrian when we arrived and saw Jess at breakfast. Thank you!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

We stayed one night at Penlees and regret that we couldn´t stay longer (fully booked).
This is a pretty house with sea view, walking distance to many beaches and a pretty walking path to St Ives. We had a big room with sea view, nicely decorated in lovely colours. The breakfast room also very pretty and cosy. Another plus was a very fast and free wifi. There is a bus stop near by that takes you to St Ives, but I would like to recommend to walk down to the sea, where the old train takes you there on a scenic railway trip next to the sea.

Room Tip: I reccomend the room above the entrance, spaciuos room, big bathroom and a lovely bay window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

I have nothing but good things to say about the Penlee B&B. Everything is charming: the website, the description of the "sea glimpse" from each room, the apple-themed names, the breakfast room, and, of course, Adrian. We stayed in the "Pacific Rose" room, and it was gorgeous. The decor was bright and cheery, everything was clean, and there was a brilliant "Welcome to Cornwall" package on the dresser, full of maps and brochures for things to do in the area. Parking was no problem.

The B&B offers a continental breakfast with a huge variety of tasty options. When we arrived, Adrian gave us a couple of great dinner restaurant recommendations within a 2 block walk of the B&B, and we were extremely satisfied.

Our only complaint is that we were only booked in for one night -- I'd have loved to stick around for a few more days!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staybythesea, Owner at Green Apple Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Thank you for your lovely review. I'm sure my husband (Adrian) won't let me forget it either! We love running Penlee and it's so nice to get such great feedback.

Hope to see you again soon.

Best Wishes
Jess x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wales
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013 via mobile

Just come back from a four day break at Penlee...just got to say we really enjoyed ourselves!!! The owners Adrian & Jess are really lovely and very welcoming, they make your stay really enjoyable. The rooms are absolutely spotless and the beds are so so comfy!!! The deco at the hotel is Lush!!!! Made me feel right at home!!!! Even though it was a continental breakfast, the choice was amazing, plenty of everything. All I can say if your looking for somewhere to stay in St Ives, choose the Penlee.....I can assure you, you won't be disappointed... We were very sad to leave!!! We most defiantly will be staying there again Xx

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burntwood, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

stayed here for 2 nights july 13th & 14th 2013, lovely and clean, very welcoming, rooms are great and would definately be returning here next year. located on main road in carbis bay, mile and half walk down into st.ives, nice pub on way which was ideal for a quick one to keep you going lol. all in all well done to jess and adrian on a fantastic bed and breakfast !!!!

Room Tip: doesnt matter which room you have, you'll enjoy your stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staybythesea, Owner at Green Apple Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Hi there,

Thank you for your amazing review. It is so lovely to hear that we are getting it right after a rather painful slog to get open, but it is all worth it when we get such nice feed back.

We look forward to seeing you again next year.

Best Wishes
Jess x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivychurch, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

We stayed at the Penlee B&B for two nights during our recent tour of Cornwall and found it homely and welcoming.

Our room was cosy and comfortable but we found the en-suite shower room very compact. However, it was clean, comfortable, over-looking the side street so not too much noise from the main road and ideally-located. There was a well-stocked tea/coffee tray and some novel personal touches in the room. The continental breakfast was lovely with a wide range of products available.

There is plenty of free parking on the side street. Free wifi was fast.

Carbis Bay was amazing - about five minutes walk there, ten minutes back up the steep hill. A huge, clean, beautiful beach.

The B&B is ideally located for discovering St Ives, Land's End, Penzance, Mousehole, St Michael's Mount and there are several English Heritage and National Trust properties in the area.

We took the bus into St Ives - the bus stops are very near the B&B and this is a much better option than driving through the narrow streets and paying exorbitant car park prices. It was £2.90 for a return ticket.

The Italian restaurant near the B&B was a good recommendation from Jess.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staybythesea, Owner at Green Apple Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Hi there,

We are so glad that over all you had a great stay. As budget accommodation we have tried to make the B&B feel anything but budget, brand new beds, vintage furniture etc. I am sorry that you feel your sleep quality and room were just average (3 star rating). Our standard doubles have standard sized bathrooms so would recommend trying an upgraded room if you would like a big bathroom. Honeycrisp (our sea view triple room) has the biggest bathroom - big enough for a double bed in fact, or Pacific Rose our twin room also has a large bathroom with a double shower. Our standard double rooms run at an average of £20 a night cheaper then rooms of the same size in the area as we try to offer the best value for money.

If you wish to come back feel free to give us a call so we can book you into one of the larger rooms.

Best Wishes
Jess x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Green Apple Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Green Apple Bed & Breakfast

Address: St. Ives Road | Carbis Bay, St Ives TR26 2SX, England (Formerly Penlee Bed & Breakfast)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Ives
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 103 B&Bs / Inns in St Ives
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering great value for money in a great location! The bed & breakfast has recently undergone an upgrade to create a lovely Cornish treat. We offer a continental buffet breakfast, WI-FI, sea views, parking and a range of rooms including family rooms. We also offer a guest lounge & small garden. We now have one room in which we allow dogs. This room has a private entrance, so you can easily access the outside and don't have to worry about affecting any other guests. There is a park the other side of the road from us. We allow up to 2 dogs and our dog friendly room can sleep up to 4 people.St Ives town centre only a 5 minute bus trip away or a 25 minute walk. A short walk down the hill and you are on the stunning Carbis Bay beach. We are also within easy access of the train station and the nearest bus stop is just across the road. We are delighted to inform you that the bed & breakfast came into new ownership in early 2013. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Green Apple Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Green Apple Bed & Breakfast St Ives, Cornwall

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Green Apple Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.