We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice location, great views, friendly owners” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tregony

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Tregony to your Saves list
Tregony
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   1 Clodgy View, St Ives TR26 1JG, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 103 St Ives B&B and Inns
London, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Nice location, great views, friendly owners”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Fantastic veiws from this little B&B overlooking the beach and sea out of St Ives, only problem with the location was it's at the top of a very steep hill so you have to pretty fit to keep making the journey, we came very early by train and the owners were very accomidating letting us leave our bags there rather than taking them around town before checking in. Breatfast was very good both days, a big selection cooked well. Room was more than adequate for what we needed with tea and coffee facilities, and a good bathroom. Could have done with more local information in the room as a lot of the information was quite old. Owners very friendly and interested in what we were there to do. All in all a nice little B&B.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    18
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
44
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for two nights in August 2012. The owners were friendly-great service at breakfast.
We stayed in room 5 and had marvellous views out to sea and along the coast.
The room was clean, well furnished and had a selection of hot drinks to make and good quality shower gel and shdmpoo provided in the bathroom. We did encounter problems withe the shower tripping mid use which was a bit of a hassle.
Breakfast had a good choice of fruit, yoghurts and cereal as well as your choice of a variety of cooked breakfast goodies.
Potential guests do need to be aware that, even though only situated a 5 minute walk from the harbour and local amenities, it is a very steep walk back up to the B&B. Parking is also a bit of a nightmare as there us none at theB&B and street parking/carpark spaces are very limited. Nightmare!
Overall, an enjoyable stay and I would be happy to recommend it to family and friends.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2012

The first thing to write is finding this B&B is quite tricky and don't rely on your sat nav as we were going round and round St Ives and just happened to come across it out of luck more than anything! Take a print out of the roads to give yourself half a chance. Once inside the B&B is lovely, the room and bathroom was large and the breakfast yummy. It is a little bit of a walk down to the beach and anybody with mobility problems may want to reconsider however it is a really lovely place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2012

I stayed in the family room for 3 nights while walking the coastal path. The room had lovely sea views & comfy chairs to sit & look at the views. It was great to have biscuits & bottled water provided, as well as Earl Grey tea. The room was very clean with a good shower & plenty of hot water. Breakfasts were locally sourced, fresh & tasty, with choices. The owners Lorraine & Shane were very caring, friendly & helpful.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, England
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2012

Excellent value, fantastic service and delicious breakfast. Location was perfect and room was very comfortable. Would highly recommend to anyone looking to explore the gorgeous town of St Ives.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2012

Tregony is a warm and welcoming place with great standards, and in a very good location (I loved being close to the hugely interesting Barnoon Cemetery and the Porthmeor Beach). Shane and Lorraine are lovely hosts, really friendly, helpful and easy-going. Everything is just really well thought over at their B&B, yet not 'over the top' (which I especially appreciate). Good bacon, too ;o)

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2011

We stayed in room 3 at the front of the B & B this time , room 5 last time but the service and standards are excellent. Clean rooms, soft, clean bedding and a fab view out over Porthmeor Beach and to the Altantic from the bay window made more comfortable by the provision of a little table and chairs. Breakfast as our last stay was with plenty of choice and I must say the fresh cooked smoked haddock I had with a poached egg and toast on our second morning was great. Easy for walking into town or beaches and hosts are friendly and very welcoming. Would stay again anytime if we didnt have cows to milk !!

Room Tip: Front rooms 3 and 5 have amazing views over Porthmeor beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Tregony? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tregony

Address: 1 Clodgy View, St Ives TR26 1JG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Ives
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 103 B&Bs / Inns in St Ives
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Tregony 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm friendly atmosphere awaits you at Tregony, where it is our sole aim to ensure that your holiday is both happy and memorable. Overlooking Porthmeor Beach, with beautiful views of Clodgy Point and The Island, we are well situated with easy access to the town, harbour and beaches. All rooms have private facilities and are decorated to a high standard. Guests can choose from a varied breakfast menu. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Venere, Hotels.com, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Tregony reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tregony St Ives, Cornwall

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tregony, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.