We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Views, Great Breakfast, Great Host” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rathlena

Save Saved
You added Rathlena to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Rathlena
9 Bahavella Drive, St Ives TR26 2BF, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 104 St Ives B&B and Inns
wales
2 reviews
“Great Views, Great Breakfast, Great Host”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2009

Great place to stay with huge views of St Ives Bay. Very high standard room with large balcony overlooking Bay. Evelyn is the perfect host, with loads of local knowledge and places to go. Will definately visit again.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    130
    9
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
101
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2009

My girlfriend and I had spent 5 days travelling and camping at various spots on the Cornish coast and were more than ready for a little pampering when we arrived at Rathlena. We enjoyed that and more, with everything from the furnishings and fittings to the bath linen and products being of the very highest quality. Combining that with the lovely, down-to-earth welcome and hospitality of our host Evelyn, we are looking forward to a return visit in 2010.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheltenham
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2009

I have just returned from a 4-day stay at Rathlena and wished I had booked extra days there. From the moment, we drove into the drive, Evelyn the owner greeted us as if we were family. The room was luxurious, the bed really comfortable, stunning views and peace and quiet at night away from the squawking seagulls!
Breakfast was a real treat with excellent full English on offer as well as continental choices. Evelyn is a great host and I will be booking to stay at Rathlena again next year!

  • Stayed August 2009
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2009

A very beautiful b&b place, quite and comfortable, with a perfect breakfast and the best host you could imagine......

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London/Hertfordshire
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2009

I stayed at Rathlena for 3 nights in August 2009. The owner (Evelyn) gave us a very warm welcome and gave us information of the surrounding area. My partner and I stayed in the Superior Double Room which had a very large balcony area with a nice view of the beach and lighthouse in the distance. The bed was very comfortable and we had peaceful nights.

The breakfast is definately a highlight! Fresh fruit, toast, cereal and a FULL english breakfast which was always cooked to perfection.

All in all we had a lovely stay, a friendly landlady and I would recommend Rathlena to anyone going to St Ives!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Wales
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2009

Even nicer than the web-site, we had a very warm welcome from Evelyn who made us aware of local ammenities and places to visit during our week. The room was really spacious with a lovely en-suite and a balcony with views over the bay. The bed was extremely comfortable but was worth getting out of each morning for the absolutely superb breakfasts. The only down side is that it is located at the top of a big hill and would not suit everyone, but there is a bus service if needed.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bromsgrove
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2009

We enjoyed our stay at the Rathlena ,the service,room and food was excellent . The Rathlena is a short walk from St Ives and we would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Rathlena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rathlena

Address: 9 Bahavella Drive, St Ives TR26 2BF, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Ives
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 104 B&Bs / Inns in St Ives
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sea views peace and tranquility, yet minutes walk to town make Rathlena a real find. In recent years extensive refurbishment has ensured comfort and elegance throughout. All bedrooms enjoy private balconies taking advantage of the spectacular sea view outlook, superb en-suites and all thee added extras one comes to expect from a four star establishment. We provide breakfast of the highest quality and standard. Rathlena is situated in its own grounds providing safe off round parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Rathlena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rathlena St Ives, Cornwall

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rathlena, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.