We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You can't go wrong with Rathlena..” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rathlena

Save Saved
You added Rathlena to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Rathlena
9 Bahavella Drive, St Ives TR26 2BF, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 104 St Ives B&B and Inns
Rushden, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“You can't go wrong with Rathlena..”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

We had the best time in St Ives. The host Evelyn made our stay even more special with her warm friendly personality & service. Her breakfast was carefully prepared each morning -lots to choose from (from pancakes, croissants, fresh fruits, toasts, cereals etc. to full English breakfast). Rathlena is very clean & nicely decorated through out. We loved our room with sea views, balcony, luxury decor and very comfy bed. Also benefits from off street parking on a private driveway which is very hard to find in St Ives. We couldn't ask for more and highly recommend this B&B. Even our 6 month old LO was very upset when we were leaving. We're glad we picked Rathlena - miss you already. 5*

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    130
    9
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
101
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013 via mobile

We booked the Rathlena guest house by chance for a post wedding break to St Ives. After a bit of Internet research it was proving difficult to find a hotel in the location we wanted, who would accommodate both us and our 1yr old surprisingly for 2 nights? The majority of b&b's in St Ives have a no children under 14 policy! I was given the number for the Rathlena by another b&b and told to try them. What a fantastic place! Run by a lovely family who are very friendly. It only has three rooms but ours was amazing with heaps of space, much larger than most hotel rooms and full of lovely furniture and interesting pieces. From the massage chair to the binoculars that were hanging beside the window for the balcony sea view. Evelyn makes a fantastic breakfast too with some amazing extras on top! Soo much to choose from and taken in the lovely dining room. More than enough to keep you going through the day.Stunning house and gardens too. This is a perfect place to stay if you want something a little special with a luxury room and would highly recommend it to anyone. We would certainly stay here again if we came back to St Ives.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

We have just returned from a weekend stay at Rathlena - what a fantastic experience. We enjoyed wonderful hospitality provided by Evelyn. Our very large room was superb and spotlessly clean with a fantastic balcony with sea views, so comfortable it was hard to get out of bed in the morning. Breakfast was fabulous, fresh fruit, cereals, pancakes, croissant, fruit buns, the list is endless and then all topped off with a hearty full English...you won't need any lunch! Evelyn was very friendly and made us feel so welcome and her knowledge of the local and wider area was really useful to us. The location was perfect for us, just out side of the hustle and bustle of the town but still within easy walking of St Ives. Forget the expensive boutique hotels in the middle of St Ives and give Rathlena a go, I don't think you will be disappointed, we will certainly return.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montacute, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013 via mobile

Evelyn and Tony made our stay very pleasant indeed, going the extra mile in everyway they could . The room was very nicely decorated with a very comfortable bed and a marble en suite bathroom with a large shower. The Molton Brown hand wash and soaps were an immediate indication of the quality of the stay. If you are looking for an up market quality B&B then this is it. The breakfast has to be experienced. All in all it's a 5 star rating from this family. Thank you Rathlena.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taunton
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

What a great place to stay, stayed three nights, first class room, great view and Evelyn is a great host, makes us welcome it just like home. She well up on what to do in cornwall, great ideals to make the best of your stay and the book she keeps for places to eat which are recommended from previous people works really well. Evelyn puts money back into her first class guest house thats why its so smart. Breakfast first class, we love the different extras each day from pancakes to hot cross buns. 10 mins walking down steps to St Ives, its not hard the views are great., 20 mins back but you can take a bus for a £1 or Taxi £4. This is the best guest house we have ever stayed in and thank you for the great stay.

Room Tip: All rooms are first class, if you want to sit out on the balcony with the sun late afternoon, that i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Visited over a bank holiday weekend, having never been to St Ives. We were greeted with a friendly welcome by Evelyn who made us feel at home and helped us find and decide on things to do and places to eat. The room was very comfortable and clean with a good size bathroom and a balcony with a great view! The parking facilities in St Ives seem to be rather limited so being able to park for free at Rathlena was a huge bonus. The breakfasts were big enough to keep us going throughout the day, Evelyn caters to your every need with both continental and cooked breakfast offered. We will be sure to return next time we visit St Ives.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

This is a perfect place to stay, we had two nights in one of Evelyn's beautiful rooms. The position is just right not too close to the centre and just far enough out. Views were lovely, the room was clean and carefully decorated. The breakfast here is something to behold but its all pulled together by the amazing hospitality of Evelyn.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Rathlena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rathlena

Address: 9 Bahavella Drive, St Ives TR26 2BF, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Ives
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 104 B&Bs / Inns in St Ives
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sea views peace and tranquility, yet minutes walk to town make Rathlena a real find. In recent years extensive refurbishment has ensured comfort and elegance throughout. All bedrooms enjoy private balconies taking advantage of the spectacular sea view outlook, superb en-suites and all thee added extras one comes to expect from a four star establishment. We provide breakfast of the highest quality and standard. Rathlena is situated in its own grounds providing safe off round parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Rathlena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rathlena St Ives, Cornwall

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rathlena, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.