We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely room, excellent location. Great host.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Anchorage

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Anchorage to your Saves list
The Anchorage
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   5 Bunkers Hill, St Ives TR26 1LJ , England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 102 St Ives B&B and Inns
Devon
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Lovely room, excellent location. Great host.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2009

Just returned from a short break in St Ives. The Anchorage was great. Could not find a single fault. Room, cleanliness, breakfast, location. Everything was top class.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    9
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
7
57
11
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Somerset
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2009

We had a lovely time at the Anchorage as Chris made us so welcome and is an excellent cook. The room was spotlessly clean and it was nice to have a dvd player within the tv. Lots of dvd's to choose from too. It was a bit difficult to find as the roads in St. Ives don't have signs both ends and of course are very narrow, also you have to drop off your luggage and then go and park. Other than that we enjoyed our stay and would definitely go again.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tattenhall chester
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2009

What can i say, lovely, clean, and friendly. Me and my partner wanted a short break in st Ives and have to say the Anchorage was the best b&b we have ever stayed in. Breakfast was lovely especially those sausages! Thanks to Chris the owner we will be coming back for a longer holiday.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rhinobasket
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2009

We go to St Ives for a stay most years but have never stopped at the Anchorage before. Having enjoyed Chris's hospitality for a week we will not be stopping anywhere else from now on . He somehow made his B&B feel likeyour own(exceptionally clean and comfotable home. Nothing was too much trouble, including getting some fish in for our breakfast which was not on the menu. Everything is on the doorstep and once you've parked your car you won't need it until you go home unless you want to go exploring further afield, but we never do once in St Ives. Looking forward to our next visit already!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield England
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2009

We have just returned from a fabulous holiday at the Ancorage where Chris made us feel very welcome and provided an excellent breakfast. The rooms are gorgeous with all the necessary extra touches added and there is also a DVD and a very good dvd selection to choose from, We were very lucky to have good weather and spent some time on the lovely beaches. St. Ives is beautiful and there is so much to do with many lovely restaurants and bistros and the Ancorage is definately the place to stay!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
exeter
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2009

This was our second stay at The Anchorage, we stumbled across it last year whilst wandering around the cobbled streets of St Ives. The location is superb as its right on the doorstep of the harbour, the setting is picture perfect and a wonderful place to just sit and watch the world go by. The rooms are beautifully decorated,each different and quaint with little touches that make it feel really homely. Chris made us feel really welcome and his breakfasts really are second to none, all the food is locally sourced and cooked from fresh daily, anything you want is there and nothing was too much trouble, the perfect start to your day!

The Anchorage truly is a "Gem" and we will never stay anywhere else now that we have found it, we have already booked for next year!

Thanks Chris for a fantastic week,looking forward to seeing you in Feb and again next August.

Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2009

A beautifully presented and charming place to stay in a stunning location. Added to this is the warm hospitality provided by the owner. We've stayed in several places in St Ives over the years but this is the one that we would definately come back to.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Anchorage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Anchorage

Address: 5 Bunkers Hill, St Ives TR26 1LJ , England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Ives
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 102 B&Bs / Inns in St Ives
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Anchorage 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Anchorage is nestled in the picturesque, old world section of St. Ives, close to all amenities. All four bedrooms, three of which are en-suite, are full of character and charm, with TV/DVD, hairdryers and beverage tray. Breakfast is freshly cooked using local ingredients. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Anchorage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Anchorage St Ives, Cornwall

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Anchorage, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.