We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best B&B ever, in the whole wide world!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ten Ocean View

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in St Ives
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ten Ocean View
Save
You added Ten Ocean View to your Saves list
10 Ocean View Terrace, St Ives TR26 1RQ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 103 St Ives B&B and Inns
Bromley
1 review
“Best B&B ever, in the whole wide world!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2008

Mike and Gill are superb hosts and made us feel very welcome but they're not in your face, if you know what I mean.

The rooms were clean and of a very high standard and the breakfast was excellent.

I would highly recommend staying here and we intend to visit Cornwall again soon and look forward to a staying at 10 Ocean View.

  • Liked — Standard of rooms, quality breakfast
  • Disliked — Nothing.
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    240
    14
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
14
203
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
portsmouth
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2008

I stayed at Ten Ocean View at the end of the summer, it was just to get away from everything for a weekend and it was one of the most relaxing times I have had in years.
Michael and Gillian, the owners, were great from the very first time I spoke to them on the phone to the minute I left.
My room was on the first floor and it was superb, with the most comfortable bed I have ever enjoyed, in any BnB or Hotel, with crisp, snow white sheets it was pure luxury.
The premises has a marvellous view out over St IVes bay and on to some little notch of land that contains ruins of some sort or another.
The overall feel of Ten Ocean View can only be described as "Home away from Home", Michael and Gillian really made me feel like family.
But the best thing about this little gem on the Cornish coast has to be the most incredible breakfast you get every day your there. Everything is fresh and really fresh and mostly homemade. Which is a really nice touch today, as so many places seem to operate on how much profit they can make from you but not here. At Ten Ocean View their way of operating seems to be how much you will profit (in relaxing and enjoying yourself) from them.
I would recommend Ten Ocean View to any one.
Thank you Michael and Gillian.

  • Liked — the bed
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2008

This was the second time we went to Ten ocean Views and will go back anytime. Spotless room, comfortable, great views, wonderful breakfast. Basically all you look for in a B&B where you want to relax and be close to town, shopping and restaurants but far enough to enjoy the peace and quiet.
Thanks to Mike and Gill for their warm welcome and looking after us.
Caroline & Ian, Devon

  • Liked — The breakfast!!!
  • Disliked — nothing!
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glos
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2008

We had room 3 which has a superb view of Porthmear Beach.... The bed/mattress was gorgeous.... Some nice touches such as tea and cake when we we arrived, delivered to our room... a morning paper in the breakfast room.... The breakfasts were wonderful.. superbly cooked and presented. On the down side, it was expensive at £85 a night... the tv reception wasn't great and the aerial did look unsightly at the top of the wall... and the walk from town is uphill... having a car isn't necessary but you need to be able to walk! None of these points would stop me giving Mike and Gill maximum marks.

  • Liked — The immaculate bedroom, its views & newness of smart plates/knifes/forks/spoons/cups etc.
  • Disliked — The uphill walk from town.
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2008

This is our second visit to Ten Ocean View and this was every bit as good as the last one. As the owners of a small hotel ourselves, we are rather choosy about where we stay. When I originally chose it I had spent some time browsing the net. This B & B lives up to everything that previous visitors have said about it. The view across Porthmeor beach and the Island is just simply fantastic. Gill & Mike even provide some good binoculars so you can try and spot some seals or dolphins (or just spy on the fishing boats). It is spotlessly clean with every comfort you can wish for. The breakfasts are fantastic with choices such as smoked salmon with scrambled egg & a muffin as well as a full Cornish breakfast.
As for Gill & Mike, they are just fabulous hosts and it was lovely just to sit and chat with them over the tea & biscuits they offered us on arrival. Oh and if you ask Mike nicely, he might show you his onions - he certainly grows some big ones!
We can never get away as much as we would like because of the business but we will certainly be back to Ten Ocean View as soon as we can. Can't imagine staying anywhere else in St Ives

  • Liked — Everything but especially the friendliness of Gill & Mike
  • Disliked — nothing to dislike
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2008

Ditto everybody else's positive comments. A lovely house with lovely rooms and stunning views. Mike and Gill were friendly and welcoming and the breakfasts were delicious. Loved the huge bed, the Molton Brown toiletries and the scrambled eggs! If we return to St. Ives, Ten Ocean View will be our first choice of accomodation every time.

  • Liked — Breakfast!
  • Disliked — Nothing - we liked it all.
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
's-Hertogenbosch, The Netherlands
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2008

For our holiday in the south of England, we booked some B&B's by the internet. Knowing that you always take a risk: is it really what it looks like on the website???

One of them was Ten Ocean View in St Ives. Before this trip we had never slept in a B&B before so we were surprised by the kindness. We slept in sveral B&B's the last 2 weeks, but the Ten Ocean View was really something different. The thick towels, a shower with a strong gush, a dvd player/tv, the smell of fresh home-made bread in the morning, the muesli with lots of nuts and fruit in it: everything was just a little bit more than any other B&B we stayed in. And besides the kindness of Gill and Mike. Thank you!

I would recommend it to everyone who wants to stay in St Ives and is looking for a quality B&B for a reasonable price!

  • Liked — the quality of it all
  • Disliked — the noise in the morning (in the house, water running etc)
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ten Ocean View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ten Ocean View

Address: 10 Ocean View Terrace, St Ives TR26 1RQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Ives
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 103 B&Bs / Inns in St Ives
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ten Ocean View is a privately-run, luxurious, quality guest house beautifully located with breathtaking views over St Ives Bay. Completely refurbished and refurnished, you will find Ten Ocean View offers exceptional quality. At Ten Ocean View you are assured of a warm welcome, the best cuisine and a very comfortable room. This is how a holiday should be ! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
10 Ocean View
Ten Ocean View Hotel St Ives
Ten Ocean View St Ives, Cornwall

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ten Ocean View, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.