We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Primrose Valley Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Primrose Valley Hotel to your Saves list
Primrose Valley Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Porthminster Beach, St Ives TR26 2ED, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 25 Hotels in St Ives
Exeter, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

Hard to find but once you find it you will love it! Nice and comfy room, very stylish! Peace and quiet! Professional personnel! Amazing local food!!! Just next to the beach and a walking distance from the port and shops. Worth recommending!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

426 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    275
    104
    29
    11
    7
See reviews for
31
323
17
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Lewes, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

Really liked this hotel...Location is excellent,staff friendly breakfast first rate. A stones throw from the main part of town,which is ideal. Great beach on the doorstep and stunning views.Will stay there again without doubt.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

The best thing about this hotel is the location - it's virtually at sea level so walking into and returning from the centre of St Ives involves no climbing, and you can park your car outside the front door. The number of hotels in St Ives that can offer both of these features you could probably count on one hand, if that. The rooms are good (I've stayed in two, so far) and the breakfast is good. And it's just a few yards from Porthminster beach, my favourite spot in the whole world. You can't go wrong, really.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

A beautifully refurbished Edwardian house creates a lovely B & B in a fantastic location. You have the beach and the local rail station within less than 5 minutes from the front door and an easy walk to the town of St Ives. The bus station is also very close so no need for a car. The town is full of slopes and steep hills including the short walk to the B & B so all visitors have to be prepared for some challenging walks if you are not fit!
The decor is very good with a comfortable lounge area. The breakfast is traditional only with no continental so suits those who like a cooked breakfast. The owners use local food and try to avoid waste so only one of each element of the full English breakfast (not so full if you are use to black pudding and hash browns) so not for those with a hearty morning appetite.

I was in Room 6 which was a generous double with a sea view. Unacceptable mouldy ceiling corner. The bathroom is very small with a shower and unfortunately lots of mould on the walls and ceiling. The king size bed is very firm so didn't suit me. There is plenty of storage and 60s decor with a sofa and a table and chairs in the window. In keeping with the design these are plastic chairs and I would have preferred comfy chairs as in the lounge area so that I could have spent more time sitting and enjoying that lovely view.

It is good that there is a small bar and the cold platters served in the evening were welcome choice on my first night. The wine is good quality but significantly overpriced (nearly £9 for a large glass) so not a place to spend much time which is a disappointment for a solo traveller who likes to visit out of season.

The staff are very friendly and helpful. It is disappointing that in such a small place (10 rooms) they didn't know guests very well e.g. on my first morning they didn't know I was on my own. Housekeeping were very helpful and I learned that because I had to ask for things that hadn't been done in my room on 3 occasions.

I will return as it is a perfect location for a visit to St Ives and the area and overall a lovely B & B. I think it is overpriced at normal rates for what it has to offer compared to other hotels and self catering accommodation in the area but their special deals out of season are very good. The location is perfect for beach lovers.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Falls, Virginia
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

we enjoyed our stay at the primrose valley. The staff was nice, the breakfasts great, the location very good.

We should have been told that our room was on the third floor, no elevator. This was a problem getting our luggage upstairs. The room was quite small, and the bed not too comfortable, for the price. But we had a great time in St. Ives!

Room Tip: dont select an upstairs room if you have heavy luggage
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tiverton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

We have just returned from a two night stay at this hotel, having enjoyed some late autumn sunshine in beautiful St Ives. We travelled by train and the location could not have been better as the hotel is within a couple of hundred yards of the station, but also an easy stroll to the harbour. It also gives direct access to the lovely Porthminster beach. The staff were all excellent, very friendly and only too happy to help. Room was as expected but would choose one of the front facing rooms next time. I would have to agree with other comments that the decor is "interesting" Breakfast was cooked to order and delicious, all sourced from local producers. Whilst I didn't use a car, the road access to the hotel could be quite difficult to find in the dark.

Room Tip: Rooms 2,3 and 6 face the sea and I believe Room 6 has the king bed (as does room 7 in which we staye...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnborough, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

My partner and I spent 3 nights last weekend at this hotel and had a lovely stay. The hotel is in an excellent position right next to the most beautiful beach. we had a long journey and an early start and were delighted when we were allowed to check in early which allowed us to make the most of our first day. The room was perfect for us and the shower was powerful which was good especially for long hair! Breakfast was lovely lots of choice and very fresh restaurant was immaculate with lovely decor. We couldn't fault anything about our stay but the thing that made it more special was the lovely staff they were friendly helpful and very welcoming my partner and I came in each evening and a couple of drinks at the bar which is nice and peaceful and good for a nightcap the staff were very professional each evening when we came in a bit tipsy they were always very kind and made the time to chat. We highly recommend this hotel and its only a ten minute if that to the harbour.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Primrose Valley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Primrose Valley Hotel

Address: Porthminster Beach, St Ives TR26 2ED, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Ives
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in St Ives
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Primrose Valley Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Primrose Valley Hotel in St Ives, Cornwall is an Award winning Edwardian seaside villa which has been redesigned to offer modern, relaxed and stylish comfort just seconds from the beautiful Blue Flag Porthminster Beach. 10 rooms with a fabulous bar. It was the first Cornish hotel to win green accreditation, and was 2009 winner in the Cornwall Sustainability awards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Primrose Valley Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Primrose Valley St Ives
Hotel Primrose Valley
Primrose Valley Hotel St Ives, Cornwall

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Primrose Valley Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.