We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good room, good breakfast and ideally located” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Primrose Valley Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Primrose Valley Hotel to your Saves list
Primrose Valley Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Porthminster Beach, St Ives TR26 2ED, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 25 Hotels in St Ives
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Berkshire, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Good room, good breakfast and ideally located”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2012

The approach to the hotel is via a steep drive way. Everyone seemed to manage it ok. To be honest it's so close to the beach and St Ive's town there is no need for a car ...unless you plan see a lot of the surrounding area. Next time we plan to do overnight sleeper and leave the car at home in faver of a relaxing break by the sea only interrupted by beach walks and good food. Friendly staff and clean hotel. Definately return. Stayed in room 1, not overally large but nothing missing and all facilities were good. (no sea view in room 1 but a terrace).

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewBiss, General Manager at Primrose Valley Hotel, responded to this review, March 5, 2012
Thanks for taking the time to write a review and don't forget if you do come on the sleeper train next time, you'll receive our £5 per night public transport discount!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

450 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    287
    113
    30
    13
    7
See reviews for
32
342
18
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2012

My husband and I decided 5 days prior to the weekend to head to St Ives, my top 5 choices were all closed including most of those on the Mr and Mrs Smith website for the area. One very kind gentleman from 11 SeaView Terrace (closed) suggested I look at Primrose Valley Hotel. It looked overpriced to me for what it was (quite happy to pay much more than this, but not to be ripped off) but I was down to last choices and so booked the best room in the hotel.

Like other reviews on this site, we had to pay the £100 deposit. We set out from central London on Thursday 9th Feb and when we stopped half way for petrol read the headlines in all the papers that the UK was to brace for extreme weather conditions with ice on the road and temperatures where grit would not work. Admitedly, Cornwall was not to suffer these conditions, but of course we had to drive through these conditions to get there, and also wanted to be able to get back into central London on Saturday. We were also driving a car that was not ideal for snow and/or icy conditions. We decided to postpone our weekend and turn around and go back home. I rang the hotel to explain our situation and ask if they could keep our deposit and move it to another date. The receptionist was perfectly lovely but alluded to a "partner" that she would have to ask. A few hours later the hotel rang back and left a message on my VM, when I rang back a rather rude manager explained to me that the 28 day cancellation policy would apply (don't quite see how when you've only booked 5 days prior) and that we would have to pay 75% of the room (trust me to pick the most expensive one in the hotel). I asked to speak to one of the elusive partners and received an email reply, again telling the same thing about the cancellation policy. I understand cancellation policies etc what I am appalled by is the attitude, no lateral thinking, no compromise, just constant repetition of "our cancellation policy" and telling me that Cornwall had no weather warnings (all their guests come from Cornwall?, I think not) and so did not affect them. They also claimed to be fully booked which I doubt in early February. Given I did not want to totally cancel, just postpone, I would have thought a more compromising approach would have been appropriate. They can keep my £262 cancellation fee, I will not be back. will be telling 11 SeaView terrace not to recommend them and all my friends and contacts not to go. Having now read some of the reviews on Trip Advisor, I wish I had prior to booking!! Seems if you're paying a groupon rate it would be an OK deal, but otherwise, forget it! I am sure the hotel is OK, although from reviews appears to be ridiculously small, but with owner / management attitude like this - not a good formula for success and totally unacceptable.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewBiss, Manager at Primrose Valley Hotel, responded to this review, February 20, 2012
It is disappointing that this guest posted a review even before avenues of discussion with our hotel had been completed.
The guest had booked online the week of her stay and the UK had been experiencing snowy conditions for a couple of weeks by this point. The cancellation occurred in the afternoon on the day of arrival, giving us no opportunity to re-sell the room and avoid levying the cancellation charge.
Over the relevant dates, we had 25 arrivals and departures from all over the country, including guests from the same area as this reviewer.
We do feel that to make comments about the size and quality of the hotel without having visited, and to suggest that we were not telling the truth about having full occupancy, crosses the line from passing comment on our cancellation policy to specifically aiming to mislead prospective guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2012

Awful quality of sleep. Room was small and very cold with an ineffective electric heater. Bathroom is part of the bedroom so using it disturbs your partner. There was a near constant sound of the hot water tank for the hotel filling up. Duvet was too small for the bed so one of you will be cold during the night. Only redeeming feature is a hot shower to warm you up.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewBiss, General Manager at Primrose Valley Hotel, responded to this review, March 5, 2012
We are sorry that you did not enjoy your stay and would be pleased if you got in contact with us to discuss this. If any problems are raised during a stay we of course would seek to recitfy these immediately. As other reviewers have mentioned, we do have a very detailed website, with extensive pictures, video tours and full descriptions and square meterage of all of our rooms to enable guests to select a room that will suit their requirements.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2012

One night break felt like a real little holiday. Great location in a wonderful little town. Can only agree with previous positive reviews. Welcome, hospitality and breakfast all as good as you could wish for. Would certainly stay again if in the area.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewBiss, General Manager at Primrose Valley Hotel, responded to this review, March 5, 2012
Thank you for your lovely review, we often find that guests from Devon enjoy nipping over the border and visiting us for short breaks. Hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2012

The location of the hotel is very favourable, on the beach, a short walk from the pubs and shops and galleries and next door to a great restaurant. What's not to like! The hotel is modern, stylish and the staff are friendly and helpful. There is a good selection of breakfast foods served in a nice space in the hotel. Will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewBiss, General Manager at Primrose Valley Hotel, responded to this review, March 5, 2012
Thanks for your review Donna, we are glad you enjoyed the Primrose Valley experience! Hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2012

We stayed here in Nov for 2 nights on a Groupon deal which was excellent value for money.

The hotel was slightly tricky to find but a call to the hotel for directions did the trick. The welcome was very friendly and, when we saw that the room size (no 5) was really small, the young lady happily changed us to another larger room (no 7) without any problem at all. The website has the room sizes on it so I recommend that you check this out before you book a particular room. We didn't know which room we were getting when we booked so it was our fault for not asking!

The location is great - a 5 minute walk along the sea front to the harbour which doesnt disappoint.

The room itself was an inland room with no view but you hardly spend anytime in your room when you're away so who cares! It was a reasonable size with good quality furnishings and very modern.

Breakfast was very good with a good choice and a great way to start a day!

Overall, a very good hotel and definitely recommended for a short break.

Room Tip: Check the room sizes on the website and book a particular room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewBiss, General Manager at Primrose Valley Hotel, responded to this review, March 5, 2012
Thanks for taking the time to post a review. Good to hear that our breakfasts set you up for the day during your break in St Ives!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2012

We visited here for a couple of nights and were blown away by this small hotel tucked up from the beach.
The lounge was very welcoming with a beautiful wooden floor and comfortable chairs. The reception was quick and easy with a very friendly lady receptionist. We'd arrived early but that was no problem and we were shown to our room. Unfortunately, despite being winter, the heating hadn't been turned on. Apparently some people don't like warm rooms, the which the obvious question would be 'what about people not wanting cold rooms'. But she was so pleasant I couldn't complain. The room was very small, not really a double and not easy for two people to occupy any floor space together. I'm 6'1" and found the bed on the short side. I guess any longer and no one would be able to walk around it.
On the upside it had beautiful sea views that could be enjoyed while sitting in bed and a super power shower that did jar somewhat with the hotels green credentials. It was only luke warm on the second day, so with the place full hot water may not be guaranteed.
These were the only gripes and to be honest none caused any real concern. The hotel would have received 5/5 but for these.
Things in the food and drink department cannot be faulted, it's such a shame that the hotel doesn't offer and cooked evening meal, as everything we had was superb.
We sat down to 2 platters fish and cheese. Both were served with an excellent Rioja that had, like all the food, been sourced with great care and thought. Breakfast was served at the table, so much better than a luke warm buffet, and all ingredients were cooked well and tasted superb.
Although they don't cook in the evenings the hotel staff are happy to recommend local restaurants. We tried the Ocean Grill and couldn't fault it.
This hotel deserves to succeed and hats off to an owner who is passionate about sourcing good ingredients and drinks and serving them in such lovely surroundings. On the drinks front, they don't serve tomato juice for some reason. While there we and another couple asked for some, so there must be a demand for it.
The hotel has a spa and my wife loved it.

Room Tip: I think we had room 8, very small. Check before booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewBiss, General Manager at Primrose Valley Hotel, responded to this review, March 5, 2012
Thank you for your review and we are glad you enjoyed our local and ethical food and wine sourcing. Do check out our website before booking as we have details of our rooms of all different shapes and sizes to suit a variety of preferences and budgets.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Primrose Valley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Primrose Valley Hotel

Address: Porthminster Beach, St Ives TR26 2ED, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Ives
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in St Ives
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Primrose Valley Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Primrose Valley Hotel in St Ives, Cornwall is an Award winning Edwardian seaside villa which has been redesigned to offer modern, relaxed and stylish comfort just seconds from the beautiful Blue Flag Porthminster Beach. 10 rooms with a fabulous bar. It was the first Cornish hotel to win green accreditation, and was 2009 winner in the Cornwall Sustainability awards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, LateRooms, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Primrose Valley Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Primrose Valley St Ives
Hotel Primrose Valley
Primrose Valley Hotel St Ives, Cornwall

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Primrose Valley Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.