We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the worst holiday ever” 1 of 5 stars
Review of St. Ives Holiday Village

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in St Ives
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
St. Ives Holiday Village
Save
You added St. Ives Holiday Village to your Saves list
Lelant, St Ives TR26 3HX, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 25 Hotels in St Ives
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“the worst holiday ever”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2010

Me and my husband stayed at a john folwer prison camp in St Ives we had the most terrible time ever the place was stinky and damp ,also very dirty and i had to clean the whole place . some of the staff were really nice and tried to help but when i complained about the dampness i was told they all smelt like that . I even asked to be upgraded to a better chalet one that was made out of brick and was informed they had none left so we decided to leave 2 days early we were not offered a refund or anything . Also i tried to cook myself and my husband a meal and the microwave started to spark and caught fire we went out for a takeaway after that as i didnt trust anything electrical in the chalet .The enterainment was awful too loud and predictable .also the club house was dirty and dingy and im sure they used rola cola not proper coke the staff seemd to know all the problems about the camp but didnt try and sort anything out . they seemed to spend time putting flowers in at the front to try and make it look nice .My advice would be to anyone DONT GO THERE

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

671 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    121
    165
    113
    68
    204
See reviews for
384
120
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
prestatyn, north wales
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2010

Never again when the brochure comes through our door will we ever consider returning to this so called holiday park.
After a 9 hour journey, we were given bedding to make our own beds, and informed of where our villa/chalet/hovel was situated.....It was like walking back into the 1960's......the walls were stained yellow...there was inadequate wardrobes and drawers...mine was in fact a bedside cabinet with a dirty old bra left inside....the bathroom was so small you had to step right inside to close the door and there were no shelves to put ANY toiletries....
Our bedroom window was so rotted, I dont know how the glass stayed in it, and the lights for the entire place were (outside wall lights, you know the type, you have them outside when you go the bin).....
Within 30 minutes of being in this place, my Sister in Laws sinus's started up, so we went to complain....
Firstly, after a long wait in a long queue of complainants....we were told that we were in a woodland environment and that the damp was part of it......and they would provide a dehumidifier, not good enough we said, where would we put it, as it was a 6 berth and there was only room for 4 seats in the lounge area with the portable TV with video player...this was not good enough, we will bring more chairs for you...again where will you put them, there is not enough room.....and there was only 5 of us.....
We were eventually moved to Tolroy Manor Holiday Park, not far away, much better...it was a house with 3 bedrooms and 2 bathrooms....it wasnt ideal, but we stayed the week as it was far better than the previous hovel....we were away to relax, but far from that we ended up going out every day instead of staying in the so called villa, as even that was musty and damp, but at least it had a DVD player.....
Seriously, I am a regular traveller to Florida and this was a weeks break as we have had major house repairs....I pay £525 per week tops for a 5 bedroom villa with private pool, balcony cable TV in every room, jacuzzi DVD's.....garage and much much more.....John Fowler charged us with discounts £660 per week.......now I know why I go to Florida.....
NEVER AGAIN!!!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2010

Left Manchester for our family holiday in Cornwall arrived on a sunny Saturday morning, kids very excited as this was be be their first proper holiday. That was where their excitment ended as we had driven through a timewarp and arrived back in the 1970's!
We arrived and had to wait until 4o'clock until we could collect our key so the kids went off to find the play area with my wife, they were back within 5 mins as the play area fo a park with 400 units consists of 2 swings (1 broken) and a rusty old slide.
So any way we had our key so off to our gold chalet costing over £800 p/w ( we stayed for 2 weeks) to be greeted with a sticky door that needed a good shove to open and then the delights of a musty damp interior. The bedrooms had mould growing on the walls and the paintwork looked like it had not been repainted in years, and if you want to hang up your clothes you can forget it as there is no wardrobes, so get used to living out of your suitcase. We did get a free gift left for us in the fridge an out of date pizza (we presume from the last hoildaymakers) this just confirmed the fact to us that the chalet had not been cleaned properly, so my wife went to vac up the sand that was on the carpets, but like wardrobes you dont get a vac. I am glad we had a gold chalet as a bronze may not have a roof. We went to the so called club house to get an evening meal, only to b greeted with some very dejected staff for whom the idea of living was a strugle let alone making you feel welcome. This so called club house provides all the entertainment you could possibly need but not on the stage the whole thing is just one big joke, from poor music to sticky carpets toilets and very expensive food and drink.
We went back to the shack to put the kids to bed and watch some TV but guess what no remote ( an extra £5 charge to get the remote to work the TV) and then you dont get all the channels. So off to bed, but when you lie down that musty smell gets even stronger just like its right under your nose!! Guess what it is as when you remove the pillow cases the pillows are covered in green mould. So Sunday morning up to see Manager who seems more than happy to give us a full refund, please note this may take sometime as their is a queue!
I only recommend this site to anyone who is looking for material to write "Fawlty Towers 2"

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2010

We have stayed at two other John Fowler sites (Penzance and Hayle) so when we booked St Ives last minute we were very hopeful that this would be as good as the other two. How wrong we were. The chalet was disgusting. It smelt damp and the floors very filthy.None of our clothes dried as the atmosphere was so damp.The windows didnt lock and one of them in the childrens room had no latch and was just swinging free.None of the utensils seemed clean in the kitchen.The TV barely worked. We risked one night in the clubhouse and the floor and tables were sticky and the volume so loud it made your ears bleed. The swimming pool was actually very good but bossy and annoying lifeguards ruined that fun. The changing rooms were small and run down.The pool is only open 10am to 1pm and then 3.00pm to 5.30 pm.Why is that? It was peak season for gods sake.
No it wasn't a £9.99 special, I paid full price so feel justified to moan.I have seen entries on here where people feel they cant moan if they have done a newspaper deal.
We ended up leaving two days early. Waste of money.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cambridgeshire
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2010

we have been staying with john Fowlers for a few years now and it has always been very good in every aspect....we never went last year,but this year was our 4th year there.
we could not believe how run down the place has got...where do i start,well the worst thing was the damp musty smell as you walked in,then we noticed the fridge door had been put on the wrong way so you couldn't get into it.......the bathroom window had been screwed down so it was open so every time you had a shower you had every midgey in the bathroom coming through the window.....the window in the living room did not have a child lock on it.......all the rooms where that damp all your clothes was wet the next day and smelt musty,and also the mattresses where all damp aswell :-( which my children had been sleeping on.
i did go to reception and complain but all they did was give us a dehumidifier,which was no good as it didnt take the damp musty smell away,or take the wetness out of the mattresses.

put it this way,we will never go back again.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2010

We've stayed here a few times now and think that it's a perfect place to explore south Cornwall and the St. Ives area.
The park is in a beautiful woodland setting. With loads of space for kids to play. There is a pool and play park for the kids too. The level of service is really good and had no issues with any of the staff. The evening entertainment is what you expect from this sort of place. A bit cheesy, but the kids seem to like it.
Parking and even getting a car in and out of St. Ives is a real problem in the summer. So the hourly bus service takes you in and out in about 15 mins is really good and we dodged all the parking queues by doing this.
The chalet we had was very clean and functional. The room sizes were great and the TV's have a freeview box so you have a bit of a choice.
We went on a Sun for a tenner holiday deal and payed to upgrade to a better standard of chalet. I think the people who are unhappy with the accomodation they had did not. The john fowler website tells you before you book that the very cheapest chalets are due for updating, so that is why those chalets have drawn those comments. I would recommend paying the extra £50.00 or so to stay in one of the nicer ones.
All in all a great base for staying around the St.Ives area. Don't be put off by the people who have complained about staying in the basic accom for a tenner holiday!!!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2010

We stayed in chalet located within the wooded area of the holiday park.
The chalet was incredibly damp and smelt most unpleasant despite the use of three air fresheners and plenty of ventilation.
The general decor was old and well used. All surfaces required cleaning on arrival as they were particularly grimy and needed cleaning. There was little evidence of cleaning having taken place recently.
The overall appearance and state of the entire complex was shabby and dirty.
The swimming change area was completely inadequate for the amount of people using it and the staff were seriously lacking in any customer service skills.
I would not recommend this resort at all.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to St. Ives Holiday Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Ives Holiday Village

Address: Lelant, St Ives TR26 3HX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Ives
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 25 Hotels in St Ives
Number of rooms: 256
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our St Ives Holiday Village is set in over a hundred acres of woodland, making the whole park a gorgeous, relaxing place. As for facilities, St Ives Holiday Village has everything you could want during a Cornwall holiday. You won’t have to worry about the kids getting bored with our games room, featuring a pool table and all the latest video games. We also have a children’s play area just for kids, and you can let them swim in our large indoor heated pool without worry as we always have life guards on duty.In the evenings, you’re welcome to enjoy the nightly entertainment we offer at The Rafters Club, our very own club where we put on dancing, discos, competitions and more! You can also order you and your family some pub grub or get a takeaway. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
St. Ives Holiday Village Hotel St Ives
St. Ives Holiday Village St Ives, Cornwall

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage St. Ives Holiday Village, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.