We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant campsite, totally recommended!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Polmanter Touring Park

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in St Ives
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Polmanter Touring Park
5.0 of 5 Cabin/Campground   |   St Ives TR26 3LX, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Brilliant campsite, totally recommended!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for 2nd year running. Can't fault it, great location, clean, quiet, excellent facilities. Was nice to see improvements have been made since last year- stable bar refurbished and additions to play area, good to see money being reinvested! Won't repeat what everyone else has said but the fact people book year after year speaks volumes, it's a fantastic site, wouldn't stay anywhere else in Cornwall, keep up the good work polmanter :0)

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    108
    17
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
41
40
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
WALES
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

Well, what can I say - this is by far the best camping experience we have had (from booking through to saying our goodbye's).

Able to view the pitches via the website before booking - this facility was really helpful;
All staff encountered were really helpful, friendly and professional;
Grounds and all facilities were kept immaculate;
Pitch has a hedge on both sides which gave a little shelter and an element of privacy;
Site was very safe and operated a barrier system. Also had night security;
Plenty of toilets, showers and family shower rooms (which we found really great with a young child) - all of which were spotless. We never had to wait for the toilet or shower;
Although we didn't eat in the Stable Bar, the food looked great. We did, however, have a takeaway which was lovely;
Outdoor pool was heated and very clean;
Two play areas - one for younger children and the other for those a little older. The equipment was in really good condition;
Large laundry area and ironing boards / irons - this was really handy. With our car full to bursting, it was great to be able to iron out those creases and not to have to pack a bulky iron;
Shop had quite a variety of foods, including fresh croissants;
Facilities for washing dishes etc was excellent - 4 or 5 sinks per block which were well spread out, plenty of surface space and very very clean;
Lovely walk to St. Ives if you are feeling energetic - if not; you can always catch the bus back!

We found the location of the site ideal for getting to lots of the local attractions and beaches.

The overall standards of this site definately warrant the 5* rating (hope they continue to maintain the high standards they have set). We are hoping to stay again next year. I would highly recommend this site to all those with tents, motorhomes or caravans.

Room Tip: We stayed in a large 7 berth tent on pitch 87 (non-serviced) - this was right by all the facilities...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at Polmanter for a week on 28 July. Pitches are spacious - we have an 8 berth tent and we still had plenty of room on our pitch for sitting out and enjoying the sunshine! Grounds are immaculate. Facilities are very clean - didn't have to queue for the showers at the times when we went, though it was a bit busier mid evening and some people had to wait for a free cubicle. Excellent food at the Stable Bar - superb fillet steak. Entertainment was ok, nothing special, but fine for what you expect on a campsite. Didn't have children with us so can't comment on facilities for youngsters. It can be a bit breezy and we had to double peg when the wind and rain arrived midweek. Site is a bit off the beaten track but no problem to walk into St Ives - we got the bus back. Shop has basic provisions but there's a supermarket about 10 minutes drive away so stock up there and just use the shop for urgent items. Efficient check in and great to have number plate recognition to let you on site- we felt very safe onsite. Can highly recommend Polmanter - of course you get what you pay for.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackburn, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

We stayed at this site for a week from 21st July and had an absolutely fab time. As previously stated, facilities were spotless and despite the site being fully booked for our stay, it did not feel overcrowde3d and we never had to queue for toliets, showers or washing up facilites. This was more upmarket than we have stayed in before, but well worth the money. The children were able to safely ride their bikes around the site and we felt comfortable letting them go to the games room alone. The pool was a great addition and a good idea that you are responsible for your own child by not providing a life guard. We were helped by having a week of fantastic weather but we were so pleased we have rebooked for next year!!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

We visited Polmanter the week commencing 21st July. The weather was wonderful, in fact nearly all of us got burnt on the first day putting up the tents. We booked three pitches together as there was 6 adults and two young children. The pitches were of an excellent size and extremely well kept. The site generally was exceptionally clean and all the facilities top class. It was our first proper camping trip and the experience was brilliant. The food in the Stables Bar was very good value for money, however I fully agree with a previous review that it would have been nice if the bar/restaraunt had been open at lunch time as well as the evening. Overall though an outstanding place to visit. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
birmingham
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

Got to give this site a maximum score. Spotless facilities and the site itself is immaculate. Lovely location with sea views and there is a nice downhill walk into st ives and a handy bus back. You can clearly see why so popular and why so many return year on year, top notch! One tiny niggle...of the 7 days we spent there the on site bar only opened at 5pm for 6 of them, it joins the pool and in the lovely weather it would have been nice to get lunch/drinks by the pool. Apart from that brilliant.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

Great campsite for all, with or without kids. We have just returned from a weeks long trip and although we had great weather the site was great, even with bingo twice a week!! Very clean , and all the staff were very friendly, we will be returning next summer!!!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Polmanter Touring Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Polmanter Touring Park

Address: St Ives TR26 3LX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Ives
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 25 Specialty lodging in St Ives
Hotel Class:5 star — Polmanter Touring Park 5*
Also Known As:
Polmanter Touring Park Hotel St Ives
Polmanter Touring Park St Ives, Cornwall

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Polmanter Touring Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Polmanter Touring Park to your Saves list