We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor food and very poor dealing with my complaint” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Tregenna Castle Estate

Tregenna Castle Estate
Treloyan Avenue, St Ives TR26 2DE, England
01736 795254
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #87 of 122 Restaurants in St Ives
Restaurant details
St.Ives
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Poor food and very poor dealing with my complaint”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

We had a very poor meal here, prawns topped by a quantity of solid butter, cold kale and almost cold beef on a cold plate, only the potato was hot. This was followed by an edible but not wonderful sweet and the worst cup of tea I have ever been served. The waiter told me the tea was o.k. and went off without offering a better one.
The catering manager has replied to my emails with some apologies but no reply to my request for a refund. The manager sounded o.k. (After my emails were ignored and I eventually phoned at the time she was to be at her desk and she was not and phoned me an hour later)
However, now the phone call back to me has not been made.
It's pretty disappointing for a hotel like this, I would advise going to eat somewhere else.

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
12-Management, Guest Relations Manager at Tregenna Castle Estate, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
We are sorry that you did not enjoy the meal that was provided for your Art's Club Ball. However, I would like to clarify some of the issues that you raised, though; the menu was selected by your event organiser and was the least expensive option that was available. (Although, that is certainly no excuse for any detraction of quality).
None of your correspondences were ignored. I was personally involved in the exchanges and know that you were offered a compromise.
You suggest that we were 'very poor dealing with your complaint', I suggest that you feel this way because you did not get want you wanted.
Incidentally, the St.Ives Arts Club have made a provisional booking for next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    15
    6
    3
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first

Travelers who viewed Tregenna Castle Estate also viewed

St Ives, Cornwall
Perranarworthal, Truro
 
St Ives, Cornwall
 

Been to Tregenna Castle Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tregenna Castle Estate, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.