We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but very expensive kids icecreams!!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hard Core Prawn

Hard Core Prawn
18a Fore Street, St Ives Tr26 1ab, England
+(44)1736791678
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #40 of 105 Restaurants in St Ives
Cuisines: Seafood
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Good but very expensive kids icecreams!!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013 via mobile

Nice venue - good fun food we all had the platters which were nice however slightly annoyed by the price of kids icecreams which were more expensive than their meals at £5.45 each!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    10
    3
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
“I live this place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013 via mobile

Came with the wife and daughter to St Ives for a week and ate at this place twice, the platter is a amazing! The music and atmosphere is on the money. Will be coming back here whenever I visit St Ives!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“AMAZING”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

I absolutely loved this place!!! The food was absolutely brilliant - I had a whole Sea Bream with veggies and new potatoes, it was cooked beautifully and just fell off the bone, and tasted delicious. We also had a started of Tempura prawns, very tasty as well. We were unsure from the look of the place - it is very young in feel - the decor is totally whacky, the music is dancey, and there is a club downstairs. However, everyone had a brilliant time, a group of 8 of us with 4 in our 20s and 4 in their 50s! The staff were very upbeat and friendly and the service was excellent. The price was shockingly good for such an excellent meal as well.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great seafood in a great atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

The HCP has a relaxed laid back atmosphere with red green and yellow decor red check tablecloths and some really kitsch plastic chandeliers. The menu is seafood orientated without having a huge selection - and is probably all the better for that. We had the tempura prawn starters and a traditional prawn cocktail - both excellent and good sized portions. Our two kids went for the shared seafood platter and we had the fish of the day - cod. The platter was fabulous with all the dishes you expect and love and is great theatre. The cod was substantial and clearly very fresh. Well cooked food well presented and served by very friendly staff at reasonable (for St Ives!) prices this is an excellent place to eat.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayle, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Amazing food!! Well worth a visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

Me and my boyfriend live locally so thought we'd try out the new talent in st.ives.
Wow! The food is fantastic, I couldn't praise it more. No thrills, excellent honest food.
I recommend the Madagascan King prawns they are sublime ! As well and the surf n turf, calamari, prawn tempura... It's all delicious!
Service was second to none. And the prices are spot on for the quality received.
Loved it and can't wait to visit again!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hard Core Prawn also viewed

 

Been to Hard Core Prawn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hard Core Prawn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.