We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Cafe!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Olives

Olives
Island Square, St Ives TR26 1NX, England
+44 7875 585759
Improve this listing
Ranked #36 of 122 Restaurants in St Ives
Cuisines: Café
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Postcode TR26 1NX
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Lovely Cafe!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

We visited here last week, had a lovely lunch. Really lovely staff, great food (nice presentation, not your usual limp lettuce with a few crisps) food comes with fruit (huge chunks of pineapple and orange) and salad (that is green and fresh and lovely!) Cakes looked lush but we were so stuffed from salady goodness we didn't have room. Effortlessly shabby chic. I would eat lunch there every day but the 9 hour round trip would be dreadful.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    88
    20
    10
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Poole, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Let down”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

Myself and my other half visited Cornwall for a week and on our first day we visited St Ives. We love it there! I desperately wanted a Cornish cream tea and we spotted a sign for Olives just up the hill from the harbour side. The place was small but cute and the cakes on their counter looked fab! We sat at a 4 seated table because my other half is over 6ft tall. He struggles to get his legs into a 2 seater plus there were already 2 couples sat at 4 seater tables and the staff were happy to serve us there. We ordered our cream teas which were fantastic when they arrived. A family of 4 came in and there were only 2 seater tables left. So as I took my first bite of my scone we were asked to move to accommodate the family of 4. I would have been happy to move if I wasn't eating. The other 2 couples had finished eating yet we were the ones asked to move. And once we had moved one of the other couples said they were leaving so the family took their table anyway! It's a shame because our cream teas were lovely. Just bear in mind you might be asked to move if you sit on a 4 seater table. No matter your size or if you're eating.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Todmorden, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Tasty handy friendly”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

Friendly staff we relented to a small cake which was very lovely sal says the cappuccino was like at spoons but we like spoons coffee too

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Lovely little cafe”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

Great little cafe, friendly staff and an excellent cream tea - scones to die for - a real gem! A bit off the beaten track behind the harbour but well worth a visit.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Excellent cream tea off the beaten track”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

Found this place by accident really and popped in for a spot of lunch. The salads were very nice and very filling and the cream tea scone was delicious. A rather snug little cafe but very nicely done and quaint.

Unfortunately, nobody had any room left to try any of the fabulous looking cakes on the counter but never mind, maybe next time.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Olives also viewed

 

Been to Olives? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Olives, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.