We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“THE Best Scones in Cornwall” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Olives

Olives
Island Square, St Ives TR26 1NX, England
+44 7875 585759
Improve this listing
Ranked #36 of 122 Restaurants in St Ives
Cuisines: Café
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Postcode TR26 1NX
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“THE Best Scones in Cornwall”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

After stumbling across this tiny café, I can honestly say this is THE best cream tea we have ever had. The scones are 'rustic', extremely large and are freshly made each morning by Theresa. Its only a tiny café with 20 covers inside, its clean, tidy and the staff are more than welcoming and friendly. It was just a shame we only discovered it on our last day, we will certainly be back on our next visit to St Ives. Well done.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    88
    20
    10
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Quality and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

My wife and I stumbled accross Olives Cafe - what a great find. We shared a crab sandwich - the waitress helpfully suggested that she would give us two plates and two sets off cutlery. We also had the cream tea - beautiful home baking - a very large and tasty scone with lovely whipped fresh cream and jam - the tea was also excellent. We'd been in Cornwall for a few days and had been holding off having a cream tea until we saw a good one - we didn't want the supermarket scone and UHT cream version.! The two waitresses could not have been friendlier or more helpful. I think the waitresses may also be the bakers and the owners. Olives is a great example of an independent cafe providing excellent service, quality food and value for money. We sat outside.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle-under-Lyme, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Mmmmm cake”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Having visited olives a few years ago now I was a little nervous about returning just in case it didn't live up to my memory .... I shouldn't have worried!! We sat outside on a lovely sunny day and enjoyed a bowl of soup and a quiche both thoroughly enjoyed both homemade however these were merely a distraction as we had already planned our dessert .... The homemade cake selection was as delicious and tempting as I'd remembered!! The staff are very lovely and attentive and have a lovely way of making you feel really welcome this is one of the things which we remembered from our previous visit and I'm pretty certain this won't be our last! It's a little of the beaten track but definitely worth seeking out.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Out of this world!!!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013 via mobile

Despite what the last review said, my husband, myself and children also visited "Olives" on the Easter break and had a totally fab experience I ordered a ploughmans and couldn't believe the variety on my plate such a large portion and looked fantastic, the cakes were out this world and children loved the yummy chocolate brownies!!!
Well worth a visit quaint cafe and friendly warm welcome!!!!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Terrible service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

We visited here whilst in St Ives on holiday for Easter. Really good first impressions, as cafe very cute inside and nice and cosy (very small so not many tables available).
We ordered cream tea and also a sandwich to share. We were quite suprised when they bought out the cream tea first, as normally I would consider that dessert and eat that second. When we enquired they said they would bring out the sandwich soon. We ended up waiting for about 30 minutes and then reminding them again, at which point we could see that it was sitting on the bench in the kitchen ready to go. It took another 10 minutes to actually get this served to us, and no apologies were made for taking so long. We were actually gobsmacked at how something so simple seemed to be such a big problem and this considerably ruined our experience.
The food was ok, but nothing extra special and I feel that the bad service probably impacted this somewhat - unfortunate. It was also quite pricey for what it was.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coasthouse, Owner at Olives, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Hello, thank you for your feedback, of course we were very sorry to read your review, as we try so hard to get everything right.
I have investigated the issues you raised. It was our first week of a new season and we have new waiting staff.
It would appear that the waitress took your order and got it out of sequence,this then resulted in your wait for food. We should have apologised at the time.
We have addressed this issue and hope your next visit to Olives will be a memorable and enjoyable one.
Adrian, Jane and Teresa.(owners of Olives)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Olives also viewed

 

Been to Olives? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Olives, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.