We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of St Ives's nicest surprises” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Alex and Stefi - CLOSED

Alex and Stefi
Island square, St Ives TR26 1NX, England
07582540868
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $55 - $70
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Private Dining
Description: Our philosophy is all about the quality of food we prepare, cook and serve, not about quantity. If you share this philosophy, come and eat with us. We want you to experience food as it used to be cooked. Welcome into our world of food!
UK
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“One of St Ives's nicest surprises”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

A cosy friendly restaurant with the most delicious real Italian food. The menu is small which means that the ingredients are fresh - as well as authentic - and everything is freshly cooked and served without a long wait. The owners/cooks are charming. Good wine. Central location near the beach. I really have nothing to say against it! During a longer stay in St Ives, it is particularly good to have a meat or veggie main course rather than fish which is the speciality at many of the good restaurants in the town. What a find! Alex and Stefi will go far.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    3
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Just like Mamma used to make”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

When you read Alex and Stefi's website, you get a feel for the people they are - genuine and passionate about great food. We went for the four course menu - we couldn't stop eating even though it was so plentiful we were full up!

The high spots were two fold: Alex and Stefi themselves - what lovely and genuine people. And the tiramisu. Simply the best we have ever eaten!!!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reigate, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“A delightful evening”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

We had not heard of this tiny restaurant, but liked the idea of a true taste of Italy. It took our 2nd effort to get a table and it was so worth the effort. It is quite refreshing not to have to trawl through a long menu, which gives confidence to all the dishes being freshly made - and indeed they are.The enthusiasm of Alex and Stefi to share their good food is genuine and makes for a delightful evening. The limited range of wines is not a problem, and we had an Italian red organic wine which was the most reasonably priced of our holiday and very good. They deserve to be successful, but hope they don't lose their uniqueness. We would certainly visit them again.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“an excellent, authentic evening”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

We hope that Alex and Stefi continue to cook here for many years to come! we had an excellent evening, charming hosts and good food it felt like eating with friends! do try it it was refreshingly simple.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotherham, S.Yorkshire
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A hidden gem - a real taste of Italy!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012 via mobile

We went to this restarant whilst on holiday in St Ives, we saw the sign below saying real Italian food just like Mamma used to make - and thought we would check it out.

We knew the restarant was small as we had looked on here but it came highly recommended!

The restarant is small but you get a real Italian feel, you get a friendly welcome by Alex & Stefi (the Italian owners) and there service throughout our meal was perfect.

The menu is small, so perhaps isnt for fussy eaters however as its all freshly cooked food it's understandable.

They do 4 courses which I would recommend as they are all smallish dishes and each one beautiful! A real taste of Italian food!! By having the 4 courses you get to taste traditional Italian food - which is what it's all about.

The menu (iM told) changes regularly , one week a fish dish the next a meat one & depends on the fresh ingredients on offer.

I can't rate this Italian highly enough, I hate going out for a meal & thinking hmmm... We could have made this at home , well I absolutely didn't think that at all here I could have never made this authentic food & I know not all Italians are the same. It's a hidden little gem and definitely worth a visit if this is the kind of thing you're looking for!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Alex and Stefi also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alex and Stefi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.