We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do give this Restaurant a Try” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Alex and Stefi

Alex and Stefi
Island square, St Ives TR26 1NX, England
07582540868
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #45 of 118 restaurants in St Ives
Price range: $60 - $77
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Private Dining
Description: Our philosophy is all about the quality of food we prepare, cook and serve, not about quantity. If you share this philosophy, come and eat with us. We want you to experience food as it used to be cooked. Welcome into our world of food!
North Wales
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Do give this Restaurant a Try”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

This restaurant shares a premises ( with Olives cafe who operate during the day) and the couple Alex and Stefi are endeavouring to establish themselves in the restaurant business in St Ives and are working extremely hard in that regard. They are very personable and as a consequence you will feel very welcome at the restaurant. The food is all home cooked as far as we could make out and having visited on 2 occasions during our holiday found much of it to be excellent. Some things you need to know, the restaurant is small and as they home cook all the food the menu is pretty limited albeit very interesting so I would check you are happy with the menu when booking. They also are unable to take cards, cheques or cash are required.
The quality of the food is pretty good and as said I would describe some as excellent and certainly authentically Italian. This restaurant stands up against all the rest in St Ives and should certainly be on your list when looking for somewhere to eat in St Ives. Mention is made in other reviews of the cost and it isn’t cheap. That said you don’t need to have the 4 courses and although they seem to encourage that approach I suggest it isn’t necessary and thus reduces the cost if that’s a concern.
So in conclusion do give this restaurant a try but check that you are happy with the menu.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

100% Recommend
    18
    3
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
St Ives, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great food but very expensive”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012 via mobile

We ate here whilst on holiday. We ordered the 4 courses as we were told we would get smaller portions so I presumed smaller prices but this wasn't the case.
The food and wine was excellent but £85 for 2 of us I thought rather pricey.
Would Deffinately go back if the price was right but unfortunately at that price we'll give it a miss.

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlexAndStefi, Manager at Alex and Stefi, responded to this review, August 13, 2012
At Alex and Stefi Proper Italian Food in St Ives we do encourage people not only to taste Italian food, but to taste it the Italian way. This means we suggest people to have a 4 courses meal and, since we do know British people are not used to it, we do tell them portions are not huge. This is either because we want people to experience it this way and because we think of quality first - this is also what we have written on our website and leaflets.

We are sorry if someone 'presumes' prices will be even smaller. We do offer a dessert for free, which is almost a 20% discount. We truly believe £29.40 (per person) for a 4 courses meal is not 'pricey'. This can obviously increase depending on what one drinks. For instance a couple going for the 4 courses meal would have to order a bottle of Italian Prosecco (which we have on the menu at £15.95 - way cheaper than other restaurants in town), a couple of glasses of red wine and a dessert wine too.

We just felt we had to respond to this to make it clear it is not a 4 courses for two people that costs much.

Eventually we are extremely pleased and we appreciate the quality of food and wine we serve has been acknowledged as 'excellent'.

Sincerely, Alex and Stefi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Strasbourg, France
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“just great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

We came across this hidden gem on a saturday evening at st. ives, which was invaded by weekenders with a reservation at the best (!) places. desperately searching for food, we had nothing to lose, so we responded to their invitation on a blackboard, modestly located at the bottom of the stairs to a small piazza. when we entered, there was only one couple eating. we sat down, and immediately welcomed by alex. ordered a small starter comprising italian meat selection and cornish cheeses, we followed the suggestion of alex and asked for a bottle of italian white. the starter plate was delicious and we enjoyed the wine. next, from a selection of two mains, we ordered haddock with onions and tomatoes, which arrived promptly and was freshly cooked. it tasted like home made, and we felt like we were at a great pot luck party. we initially decided not to eat dessert but after we tasted the food, we were curious about the dessert. went ahead and ordered some chocolate cake. it was a huge slice, fluffy and light, yet delicious. coffee was great, tasted like how good friends make for you when you need some. alex and stefi are two great people who are passionate about what they do and want to have more chances to show themselves. we had a chance to talk after the meal, and at the moment they are working in this restaurant, only from 18.30 something till late evening. they deserve to have their own restaurant which will immediately make a difference in st. ives. because they love what they do and they are still embarassed when they hear compliments. definitely worth a visit!

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A Taste of Italy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2012

We passed Olives the previous evening but it was shut, we had a read of the menu & decided to come & eat the next night. We hadn't booked & the restaurant is small & was quite busy but Alex fitted us in. We had the 4 course meal starting with ham, olive pate, tomatoes & gnocchi, the flavours complemented each other well. The 2nd course 'Posh Carbonarra' with asparagus was light, freshly made & the sauce was lovely & creamy. 3rd course we opted for aubergine with mozzarella cheese in a tomato sauce & it was just delicious. For dessert we had cheesecake & it was 'real' cheesecake so, so good. Alex was a perfect host & you waited between courses whilst Stefi cooked but WOW was it worth it. A lovely meal, great value for money in a nice location. Good luck with the restaurant Alex & Stefi we will be back when we are next down south.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
2 reviews
“Delicious authentic food and a lovely atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

My family and I ate at Olives on the last evening of our holiday in St Ives. The food was wonderful, the atmosphere was friendly, the cooks were charming, and we came away with new knowledge about really good Italian food. We made a perfect choice - a great way to end our holiday. Thanks Alex and Stefi, and good luck - and lucky St Ives to have you.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Alex and Stefi also viewed

 

Been to Alex and Stefi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alex and Stefi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.