We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Boskerris Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in St Ives
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Boskerris Hotel
Save
You added Boskerris Hotel to your Saves list
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Boskerris Road, St Ives TR26 2NQ, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 25 Hotels in St Ives
Certificate of Excellence 2014
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

Cannot fault Boskerris, the decor, the room, the breakfast and especially the staff were amazing. The whole team catered for our every need (even the stuff we didn't know we wanted) they were informative, friendly and went above and beyond to make our stay amazing. My girlfriend and I will be visiting again. Keep up the good work.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

584 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    539
    36
    5
    4
    0
See reviews for
63
423
12
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
london
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014

Stayed here for a week. The hotel is immaculate and our room was pleasant if slightly small. The staff were friendly and the level of service was generally high. The hotel restaurant was very good and the breakfasts were excellent. The only only minor downside is the location, which is slightly outside of St Ives. There's a train which stops nearby and runs fairly frequently, or you can walk around the coastal path, which probably only takes half an hour.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
birmingham
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

Stayed here three nights and could not fault any aspect of the hotel. From the moment we checked in, when we were given a tour of the facilities, the reception staff and owners did everything they could to give us the best experience possible. The personal touch pervaded everything they did - chatting to every guest at breakfast to offering to book restaurants etc in the evening to offering us blankets when we were sat on a terrace in slightly breezy conditions. The hotel has a unique vibe in that it is modern yet charming with a very well thought-out décor.

The breakfast was superb. I recommend the salmon and scrambled eggs. You never left hungry. The ocean view rooms are superb with great views and everything you expect to find in the room - and more.

A gigantic map of Cornwall on the wall in the reception area always catches interest when you are looking for things to do. Wifi is included but you would expect that for the price. Having said that, we got value for money just sitting sipping drinks on the terrace overlooking the sea.

In short, you just have to spend at least one night in this place.

Room Tip: Ocean View Rooms superb.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherborne, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

The Boskerris is a nice hotel. It is a couple of miles outside of St Ives, and it is necessary to get a taxi into town to eat at night. The hotel itself is well equipped, clean and nicely decorated. The staff and owners are obviously very proud of there hotel, and rightly so. The breakfast was one of the best I have had in a hotel. My one gripe is that the hotel restaurant was closed on the Sunday evening, whilst we like to eat out, it is nice to have the option. If it were not for this, I would give the Boskerris five stars. I am sure we will return.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

We first visited Boskerris a couple of years ago and absolutely loved it. Always a bit nervous to return to a place that you have had such a special time but it was just as we remembered it. Locations, rooms , service, food - just excellent. Our only concern is that since I reviewed it last time it has been more difficult to get a room - but they deserve all their success. A very relaxed boutique experience - it feels like you are looking over the med.

Room Tip: Facing the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

We stayed for 3 nights over Easter and everything from start to finish was seriously top notch.

All round very high standard everywhere in the hotel, Immaculately clean everywhere, extremely peaceful,comfortable bed and bedroom/en-suite.

Very professional and friendly team of staff whom make you feel very welcome and relaxed.

Breakfast served from 8.30am so a very good excuse for a lie in! Fabulous breakfast menu and buffet area of fresh fruit, yoghurt, cereals and the most gorgeous home-made muesli which they kindly gave me the recipe for! The full English breakfast was lovingly cooked by someone who cares, each food item was of top quality. Burford brown eggs which we buy at home (Waitrose) were used and it showed their gorgeous 'orange' coloured yolks, this is food at its best. Oh and the bacon was outstanding. Their suppliers are named at the bottom of the breakfast menu and we will most certainly be investigating a large bacon purchase!

They have thought of everything, a big map of the area in the reception hall with local places of interest, wifi code, interesting books in the lounge to flick through, etc, little touches everywhere that shows it's a very well loved and invested back in to business.

Ask for the list of local recommended restaurants, we asked them to book three for us (a couple of months in advance), each one they booked we probably had the best seats in the restaurant! The Porthmeor cafe which is extremely popular was booked for us on Saturday night at 8pm and we were so pleased with our prime positioned table, looked on enviously by all the customers queuing to get in that hadn't booked. As they saying goes its not what you know its who you know...!

Small highlight was ordering a pot of tea which was enjoyed in the sun on the outside terrace over looking the sea which came with a small piece of the most delicious brownie. The best brownie we have EVER eaten...wow a taste of heaven!

The hotel is ideally situated in Carbis Bay, which is a beautiful walk into St Ives in approx 25-30 minutes along the woodland coastal path. Or just 2 mins walk from the hotel is a land train that offers a regular service into St Ives for pennies. Lots of parking in the car park too, ideally situated.

Although the hotel doesn't have a spa or swimming pool, my top tip would be to stay at the Boskerris and if you fancy a swim, spa, sauna, treatments etc go along to the Carbis Bay Hotel (very short walk away, on the beach with amazing views) you can go there as a non resident for £15 and use their newly opened facilities (July 13 it opened) we had a tour around and it is gorgeous. There is even a small coffee/champagne bar in the spa! We will do this next time.

We think as the hotel is open seasonally this is a big advantage as in the months they are closed they are working hard making everything immaculately ready for the new season.

Can't recommend the Boskerris hotel enough, we came back totally refreshed and pampered.

P.S St Ives is a fabulous buzzy place with gorgeous beaches, bars, restaurants, shops, everything you could want. We ate at The Black Rock, Porthmeor Cafe and Porthminster Cafe, all excellent. (see separate reviews if you wish).

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo
Top Contributor
254 reviews 254 reviews
103 hotel reviews
Reviews in 108 cities Reviews in 108 cities
165 helpful votes 165 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

My wife and I just spent a few days at this hotel. Must have been one of the most relaxing stays ever. The staff could not have been friendlier nor more helpful. The view and surroundings are beautiful. Breakfast was excellent.
Thank you for having us

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Boskerris Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boskerris Hotel

Address: Boskerris Road, St Ives TR26 2NQ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Ives
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in St Ives
#2 Family Hotel in St Ives
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Boskerris Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Boskerris is a contemporary, boutique hotel with a relaxed Mediterranean style. The hotel has fifteen elegant and stylish bedrooms, most with outstanding panoramic ocean views.The hotel is nestled in the Cornish coastline, on the edge of St Ives. Discreetly set in one and a half acres in a unique position, with the decked terrace being the perfect vantage point to admire the views across St Ives Bay from Godrevy Lighthouse to St Ives harbour. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Boskerris Hotel St Ives, Cornwall
Boskerris St Ives

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Boskerris Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.