We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chic & Unique” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Boskerris Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in St Ives
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Boskerris Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Boskerris Road, St Ives TR26 2NQ, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 25 hotels in St Ives
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Chic & Unique”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

We found this hotel thru review from tripadvisor and were very happy to have chosen it. We only wanted to stay for 2 nights and the rooms were almost fully booked during Aug due to bank holidays but the staff took trouble to put us in different rooms on each night and assist us to move our luggage during stay (In actual fact we don't even have to lift a finger at all). Apart from the good service, the hotel rooms are very clean and tidy and the navy accent colour scheme blend well in every corner with the beatiful furniture, fabric and deco. And we think their breakfast deserves to be mentioned here as we wanted to give a big thumb up. Not only the food are well cooked and taste very fresh (you really can't hide if the seafood or vegetable are not fresh) but the host took trouble to list down the name of the food suppliers with address and telephone number to contact (most of them are from St Ives). We were so happy when we read it as it gives curtomer a vote of confidence. We definetley look forward to return to Boskerries and hopefully can stay longer next time.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

540 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    498
    33
    5
    4
    0
See reviews for
57
388
12
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

From the moment we arrived we had the feeling of being "home". What lovely people from Sam our first contact to the beautiful staff throughout the hotel.
The room was was opulent with a nice layout. The bed was sumptuous and had a lovely view of the wonderful Caribs bay.
Food was brilliant although there is no Restaraunt available on our first night (Sunday) this was not a problem as we were advised a number of eateries in St Ives. The Boskeris is about 30 mins slow walk from St Ives and the coastal walk was breathtaking.
We ate in the hotel one night and it was a real treat. The Restaraunt staff are perfection and one in particular could have been Miss Cornwall.
Breakfast is a wonderful bright start to the day, the light decor, brill service and wonderfully delivered local food was first rate with views to match.
St Ives is a beautiful place to visit, especially the coast walk and train service.
We will so be coming back to the Boskeris

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redditch, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

We stayed 2 nights during our Honeymoon. Nothing was to much trouble. Breakfast fab, dinner ever better. They have it just right - don't change a thing. Thank you for a wonderful stay with perfect hosts.

Room Tip: Sea view is a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

Too many good points to mention - this hotel is simply perfect: attentive but not intrusive service; quality of everything and perfect location too.
this hotel only has 15 room which makes it special. the owners are actively involved in running the hotel and really do want you to have a good time in Cornwall; always able to offer recommendations of places to go and restaurants. its nice to stay at a hotel that really enjoys having guests and excels at making sure that you are happy. nothing is too much trouble......

Room Tip: all rooms are good. you can pay more for a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weybridge, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Beautiful hotel it has a real Wow Factor. The decor is stylish, with stunning views from the very large terrace overlooking the bays. A short walk will bring you to the train station (branch line) & a 3 minute trip into St Ives or head in the other direction and visit Penzance. We had a seaview room, very stylish, extremely clean & well maintained. Food could not be faulted (we dined in one evening) & it was of a high quality. I can also recommend the Seafood Cafe (booking required) that too was fresh & beautifully cooked. Everyone at Boskerris had great customer facing skills & we will definitely be back. Lesley & Rob.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
273 reviews 273 reviews
174 hotel reviews
Reviews in 113 cities Reviews in 113 cities
341 helpful votes 341 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Our first visit here and not our last! This is essentially a very well run B&B feel rather than a formal hotel. Evening meals are available, and the menu looked delicious, but not on the Saturday night we were here. Breakfast were good, but the dining room is quite 'loud' due to clinical floors. Style is contemporary-extrema. All the staff were helpful and went the extra miles. Most pictures and much pottery was for sale - this was nice to see but slightly odd feeling that all around was for retail! Good spacious rooms with sea view are quite expensive, given the fact extended facilities (eg swimming pool) are not available cf. to a regular hotel. overall a nice experience. Recommended.

Room Tip: Sea view standard or special larger sea view rooms are best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ticino
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

As we were planning our trip to visit Somerset, Devon and Cornwall back in february this year, we wanted to be based in St. Ives for 4 nights to tour around Cornwall and we picked Boskerris Hotel based upon other reviews. We attempted to book a room fitting our travel schedule and found out that the "Celebration room", which is the hotel's flagship room, was the only available to fit the schedule, so we went for it. The hotel is located in Carbis Bay, a few miles before St. Ives' town center, a plus we believe, as the town is really crowded even during this period of the year. There is a nearby train station (a couple of minutes ride to the town) as well as a wonderful footpath to St. Ives if you feel you wish to avoid reaching the center by car. The hotel staff is indeed lovely and very helpful in advicing for tips on where to go, which hotspot / stunning cove to visit, and where to eat (we had twice dinner at Portminster Beach which is indeed a must: we ended up buying their recipe book...). Breakfast is gorgeous, the home-made cereal mix is fabulous. The celebration room is quite large and stylish (see attached photos to get an idea) however space for clothes is somehow limited. We also feel that a couple of hooks to hold towels and bathrobes in the double sink area would increase the overall comfort. As for the wet room, well, that definitively appears to be Achille's heel of the room: as there is a rain shower with no screens, when you take a shower it literally gets moisted everywhere. Additionally, since the radiator in the wet room didn't work, after a shower the area stayed cold and moist. We pointed it out, and after some apparent as well as unproductive temptatives to fix the device, last day we were offered a bottle of prosecco for the disservice. Matter settled, but after returning home I'm quite surprised to discover that the very same issue was reported by other guests back in march 2013. That's the sort of things that unfortunately leave a bad taste. At this point I hope that the issue will obtain appropriate attention! Anyway, all in all a good stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Boskerris Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boskerris Hotel

Address: Boskerris Road, St Ives TR26 2NQ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Ives
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in St Ives
#3 Romantic Hotel in St Ives
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Boskerris Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Boskerris is a contemporary, boutique hotel with a relaxed Mediterranean style. The hotel has fifteen elegant and stylish bedrooms, most with outstanding panoramic ocean views.The hotel is nestled in the Cornish coastline, on the edge of St Ives. Discreetly set in one and a half acres in a unique position, with the decked terrace being the perfect vantage point to admire the views across St Ives Bay from Godrevy Lighthouse to St Ives harbour. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Boskerris Hotel St Ives, Cornwall
Boskerris St Ives

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Boskerris Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Boskerris Hotel to your Saves list