We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food that really is home cooked” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Union Inn

The Union Inn
Fore Street, St Ives TR26 1AB , England
0871 951 1000
Improve this listing
Ranked #59 of 122 Restaurants in St Ives
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Food that really is home cooked”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

We nearly didn't go in, the pub is a typical pub, a bit old and no frills. BUT- the food was first class, excellent value and full of flavour. Service very good and the barman very friendly. Don't be put off by the look of the pub, give it a go if you like good value home cooked food. I had Shepherds Pie £5.95 and my husband had Rump Steak £6.95 - Yes, that's right, you have read this correctly. Give it a go, you won't be disappointed.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    29
    6
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Sunday roast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

Nice and welcoming , very large potions which we couldn't finish but no complaint would go again when visiting the area , can recommend the roast beef !

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Union Man”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

Excellent pub in centre of St Ives, tries to be all things to all men (and women). Large portions of good pub grub, nice atmosphere and good service.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ripon, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Lovely Pub serving good food.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

We went into The Union Inn most nights we were staying in St. Ives. The staff were very friendly and welcoming. We had quite a few meals here, the quality of the fish was very good, the steaks pretty good too. Very good value for money. (The Scampi is the real thing here). Very clean with good service. We "found" this pub last year and certainly haven't been disappointed.
Can highly recommend

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trowbridge, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Nice Pub”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Nice pub selling good ales
Had bar meal of local fish ( staff did not know much about the different fish on the menu )
Meal OK but not value for the money spent
Think pub should stick to serving more basic food & selling beer

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Union Inn also viewed

St Ives, Cornwall
St Ives, Cornwall
 
St Ives, Cornwall
St Ives, Cornwall
 

Been to The Union Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Union Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.