We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely break” 4 of 5 stars
Review of St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   The Terrace, St Ives TR26 2BN, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 25 Hotels in St Ives
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Bath
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“A lovely break”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

We enjoyed an extremely good-value two night break at the Harbour Hotel in April which included a three course lunch and a massage treatment. We were initially dismayed by the car parking facilities, but our concerns were groundless because the staff were so helpful and the car was always brought ready for our use when requested. We found all the staff extremely pleasant, at reception, in the dining room, the gym and the treatment rooms. I had a very good massage from Melanie. The hotel is in a lovely position with views from the dining room over the bay. Our bedroom, no 111, was, frankly, dull, with no view, facing the road. But it and the adjoining bathroom were spacious and the bed was blissfully comfortable. The room was very handily placed for the gym. The hotel is to be congratulated on the quality of its staff. If another value break is on offer we shall happily return!

Room Tip: If you want to enjoy a quiet swim in the pool avoid the afternoon when it is full of children. If yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter H, General Manager at St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to rate our hotel on Trip Advisor. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and thank you for your comments regarding our staff here. I will forward your comments onto the team, who will be highly motivated by your praise.
We hope you will visit again soon.
Kind regards
Peter Holgate.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

880 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    397
    241
    132
    71
    39
See reviews for
115
541
17
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (245)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
St Ives Cornwall
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

It has been three years since we last had lunch there as it was abysmal. Booked for Sunday lunch for 10 persons for a birthday and some good things have happened. Firstly the hotel has been bought up to date, now on a par with the Carbis bay Hotel, plush decoration and furnishings. Not sure who fitted the carpets but there are ruttles everywhere! The dining room looks beautiful and inviting and good quality furniture and very comfy seats. Service on the other hand was a bit sporadic; a three course menu was on offer at £15 instead of £20 - we had to ask for our 10th starter as this wasn’t delivered. One starter of mussels had the finger bowl delivered way after she had finished eating! The main was small but very tasty and again delivered in long awaited sections. The child’s meal was not delivered at all and we had to ask for that twice, bangers and mash, and we were told the second time that they had to cook it again “as the sausages didn’t turn out quite right when they were cooked”. Deserts – no problem. When it came to the bill we were charged £20 a head and had to query this – this funnily enough always happened when it was the old Porthminster Hotel, but it is not a problem they simply changed it! But I do wonder how many times they get away with this.

As we live in St Ives I will be happy to give this another try at £15 for three courses. I did hear another gentleman telling the bar staff that the food was good but the service was very poor. I am hoping that this will be rectified in the future as it certainly lets them down. Will let you know……..

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter H, General Manager at St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review St Ives Harbour Hotel on Trip Advisor.
I would like to apologise for the restaurant and service not meeting your expectations.
I will forward your review onto my team here and your comments will be looked into.
I hope you will come again in the future.
Kind regards
Peter Holgate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cornwall
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

We planned our wedding at the St Ives Harbour Hotel, and it was absolutely perfect. The location is stunning and therefore we have amazing photos to remember our day by. The staff were incredible throughout the planning process and on the day itself. The rooms are in the process of being upgraded - but even the ones which hadn't yet been done(March 2013) were more than adequate. Yes - the parking can be difficult if you have never been to the hotel before - but the team did a great job of deaking with our guests. The food at the reception was immaculate - and overall I cannot rate this place highly enough for a wedding.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter H, General Manager at St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Firstly Congratulations on your wedding.
Thank you for taking the time to write your recent review. I am over the moon to hear you had a wonderful wedding day. We hope you will come back in the future to celebrate an anniversary.

Kind regards
Peter Holgate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taunton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

We are not oblivious to the few issues raised in some other reviews but, we felt that you'd have to be a real moaner, looking for something to grumble at, for these things to be your conclusive and overall appraisal. There was a lot of work going on but heyho, sometimes work of this nature has to be done, there is no absolute assurances that your hotel room is gonna be some tranquil, silent haven. We loved the St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa , everything we could wish for such as overall comfort, food quality, courteous staff and with the spa extra. Our suspicion is that we enjoyed a relatively cheap rate, because of the ongoing work, and that we'd not be able to afford to enjoy it again, watch this space!

Room Tip: Nothing to say here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter H, General Manager at St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write your recent review on Trip Advisor and for rating us 5 stars. I am so happy to hear you loved your stay here at St Ives Harbour Hotel. We are undergoing going a refurbishment at the moment and we do try to minimise the disruption, I am pleased to hear it was of no bother to you.
I hope you will return soon to see the improvements when they are finished.
Kind regards
Peter Holgate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

We had planned a special trip but were let down by the inability of the staff to even get a basic bookings correct. We had booked two twin rooms next to one another three months in advance so they had time to arrange. We got one twin and one double. I love my sister but not that much!! We ended up with rooms at opposite ends of the Hotel and two floors apart! We really had to complain to get our rooms sorted out which they did eventually (one day later) but it was a struggle.

The Spa Hydro pool was broken, the patio was filthy in fact the only really good thing was the view!!!

Would not return.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter H, General Manager at St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write your recent Trip Advisor. I would like to apologise for the Hotel not coming up to the expectations that we as a business should be delivering.
Unfortunately due to the repair of the Hydro pool we have had to shut it for a couple of days. I am sorry this was of a disappointment to you.
I hope you will visit us again in the future.
KInd regards
Peter Holgate.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redruth, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

We had our wedding here on the 12th April and this hotel certainly lived up to all the awards they’ve received, it’s amazing!

Rebecca, Elle & Serene are the most loveliest wedding coordinators, they work with you to create the wedding you have dreamt of no matter what you ask for! Every single guest commented on how great the food was, it looked good and tasted even better, served quickly and with great care, this was all topped by the relaxed friendliness from the very professional and attentive staff which helped make everybody feel comfortable, all set to the stunning backdrop of views from the room. Everything ran like clockwork, every member of staff new exactly what was expected and Helen who is in charge of the events team was great at ensuring all this happened – she is super!

All the rooms that have been renovated at the hotel have been done beautifully and not to mention the outside terraced areas… gorgeous!

Unfortunately we didn’t have chance to use the spa over the 2 nights we were there due to our busy schedule, some of our guests did and have said how fantastic it was, we are really looking forward to returning for our 1st anniversary to make full use of everything on offer.

The parking is stress free – you pull up outside – unload – porter comes and takes your keys to park your car and leaves you to check in. (Just ask at reception as and when if you need your car or access to it)

We had breakfast in our room on the morning of the wedding. The night before me and my mum picked exactly what we wanted from a huge list and chose the time we wanted it (early) - I hung the list outside our door and it arrived on time the following morning. The Morning after the wedding we chose to eat in the dining area to say hello to guests from our wedding – My husband asked for something that wasn’t on the menu and it wasn’t an issue at all they just made an note and it came out with mine. The breakfasts we ate here were of a high quality and presented well – just as you would expect. The continental breakfast had lots of choice too and the staff where welcoming with smiles.

If you are planning your wedding here you really will have an amazing time and if you’re thinking of booking it DO IT! It was one of the best days of my life.


Sydney & Curtis

Room Tip: Sea View Rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter H, General Manager at St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Thank you for your recent review on Trip Advisor. I am so pleased to hear you had a wonderful wedding and stay here. Big Congratulations to you on your wedding day also.
I will make sure the events team and Helen read your review they will also be happy to hear you had a fantastic day.
We look forward to seeing you again for your anniversary.
Kind Regards
Peter Holgate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

My wife and I spent a wonderful 4 day break at this Spa Hotel in February,having been to this Hotel twice before it became a Spa Hotel.I have to say the Staff at this Hotel were all very helpful and polite and couldn't do enough for you.The restaurant food was 1st Class with not 1 fault with the food,and the staff were extremely attentive.My wife and I would fully recommend a stay at this Hotel with its marvelous Sea Views from your Bedroom Window.St Ives as a whole is very picturesque,and you have lovely beach walks.Fantastic Place to go for a break.

Room Tip: Sea View Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter H, General Manager at St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Thank you For your lovely review on Trip Advisor.
I am happy to hear you enjoyed your stay here with us. I will forward your praise onto the team here, who will be motivated by your review.
Kind regards
Peter Holgate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa

Address: The Terrace, St Ives TR26 2BN, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Ives
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in St Ives
#5 On the Beach Hotel in St Ives
#12 Romantic Hotel in St Ives
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel is directly above Porthminster beach, a position which gives stunning views across the water. Watch as the waves lap against the famous Godrevy Lighthouse in the distance and feel your troubles disappear. Explore the local harbour, as you meander through the cobbled streets, and then return for dinner at the Harbour Restaurant, serving up seasonal and local food, along with stunning sea views. The Harbour Spa will provide the perfect hideaway, as you indulge in a soothing treatment and then unwind by the pool, gazing out to sea from the comfort of a deeply relaxing and luxurious Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, LateRooms, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotel.de and Odigeo so you can book your St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Porthminster Hotel St Ives
Porthminster St Ives
St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa St Ives, Cornwall

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.