We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantastic staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   The Terrace, St Ives TR26 2BN, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 25 Hotels in St Ives
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Bath, United Kingdom
1 review
“fantastic staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

Recently spent one night at the hotel for my brother's wedding (held there) the whole day was absolutely fantastic. The staff were faultless. We had a family room overlooking the sea - we did not expect this for a family room! Fantastic . There have been very mixed reviews on the web site and yes some rooms do need some finishing touches / updating but with hotels this is an ongoing project - good hotels never have a 'quiet time' The wedding was a success and everyone we spoke to was having a fabulous time. If you're planning a wedding for around 50 guests the room sizes for the event are perfect - enough room not to feel cramped but intimate enough to hear the speeches! all public areas we used were excellent (having a toddler we used lots of the loos and they were all spotless) Car parking - we'd been warned this was not well marked so knew what to look out for however the valet staff were on hand to shift vehicles about as required and gave us a lift back to the car on our departure. We would stay again.

Room Tip: Would recommend the rooms overlooking the sea - of course!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason_Parry, General Manager at St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, January 12, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind words and I hope we are able to welcome you back again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

880 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    397
    241
    132
    71
    39
See reviews for
115
541
17
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (245)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

Arrived on Saturday morning for a 2 night spa break, valet parking was great upon arrival and the reception team were really friendly and helpful. It's an impressive hotel when you arrive, and you can see that it has been recently refurbished...but with some finishing touches (hopefully) still to be done. Our room was recently refurbished, but was still quite dated...the bathroom was lovely, but the light over the mirror was broken so just a bare bulb was left...this spoilt the effect, just one of the finishing touches they need to get to I guess, but attention to the smallest details is missing in some parts.

There was a wedding on the Saturday afternoon and the wedding party took up the whole of the bar, which was a shame...and it would have beeen nice to have been told upon booking or even upon arrival so that we were aware, having planned to spend the afternoon in the bar looking at the sea view and drinking champagne we had to quickly change our plans, nothing major but it would have been great customer service to keep your guests informed of something that will impact their stay.

When we eventually got in to the bar it was lovely, lots of nice sofas to sit on in a beautiful environment, with amazing views...it was very relaxing. the only negative I would say is that they had lovely relaxing classical music being played in the bar but a commercial radio station being played quite loudly in the restaurant and you could hear the two clashing.

We spent Sunday in the spa, the guy that sits on reception is so friendly and helpful and makes you feel really welcome. The pool was warm, not too busy and the poolside beds were so comfortable we spent most of the day on them!! Treatments were great and good value, you really couldn't fault the spa facilities.

The resturant was brilliant, breakfast was a cold buffet or hot food ordered from the kitchen, if you wanted something that wasn't on the menu they made it for you with no issues. And dinner was even more impressive, beetroot cured salmon and roast beef...some of the nicest food I have eaten and I eat in a lot of fine dining places in London...this would have competed with some of the best. And the waiting staff were very attentive.

The location of the hotel is great, there are a number of ways you can walk in to town, along the beach front or the main road but either way takes about 10 minutes.

I would highly recommend staying here and will stay again, they just need to focus on the little details and this would have got a '5' rating!

Room Tip: Asdk for a sea view, we had room 111...not the best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason_Parry, General Manager at St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, January 12, 2013
Thank you so much for your feedback; it really is important to us. All of the points you have raised have been taken on board and I can assure you many of them have already been addressed. I am so pleased that on the whole you enjoyed your stay with us and that you will return again in the future and we very much look forward to welcoming you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

We stayed for two nights during November.
On arrival we called the hotel as we couldn't find the car park; reception were really friendly and when we parked in the wating bay a porter introduced himself and parked the car for us.
We had been made aware of the work going on to the kitchen but this didn't cause us any issues at all.
The staff were very friendly and helpful. The view from the dining room across the bay was stunning and we thought the breakfast excellent with a lot of choice.

I loved the spa which was so restful and well equipped, with lots of towels to use and a general feeling of luxury. My husband loved the free Wifi - we were warned this might not work well in the bedroom but he managed to watch the Grand Prix without a problem at all.

The only downside of our stay was that our bedroom wasn't a new refurbished one and was quite small, with a little bathroom in a former cupboard. This wasn't a problem but unfortunately we overlooked the road to the back of the hotel and were above some sort of air conditioning unit which we could hear running costantly so I think try to avoid this one!

We would definitely come back to the St Ives Hotel as its location was perfect for us - thank you everyone for our stay

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason_Parry, General Manager at St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, January 12, 2013
Thank you for reviewing the hotel on this site, the feedback is really important to us. I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and we very much look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

booked for two of us at end of chemo session, asked for a double bed, two pushed together and then decided to treat two friends to come wih us, not specifying bed layout. Recepton gave me key for 215 and R key fo 205. typically as it turned ot they had the double bed and a slightly larger room! Our room was very cold as the window had been left open and the heater didnt appear to work though the porter fixed it when we could contact him, no telephone to reception. bathroom good all clean but bedroom carpet a little grubby. THe bed was exceptionally comfortable and the goose down duvet and the linen of the highest quality. We looked at a refurbished bedroom and that was much improved. view magnificent. We have lived 8 miles away since 1963 but still love St Ives. lounge had two very effective welcoming gas coal effect fires as did the bar and the dining room has fantastic views. Service and food were very good and breakfast was excellent. lots of choice.Would appreciate a grab handle on the shower wall as still a bit wobbly! Otherwise hope to come again. Many thanks

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jasonparry55, General Manager at St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel on this site, we really appreciate the feedback. I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us on the whole and thank you for raising the concerns regarding the bedrooms; these have been taken on board and addressed. We very much look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Malling, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

We stayed in one of the Porthminster apartments (which was owned by the hotel) the first week in December. The staff at the hotel are lovely - they were so helpful with all my queries - and genuinely friendly. The apartment was amazing - we had a lovely sea view - the apartment we stayed in was very warm and comfortable - and spotlessly clean - the bed was heaven - and I slept so well every night. "Des" the duty Manager was brilliant helping us set up our wi-fi - and nothing was too much trouble for him. We really relaxed during our stay and were able to make full use of the spa at the hotel - it was very quiet - and whilst the pool is not really brilliant for fitness swimming it is perfect for relaxing swimming - with the most amazing views over to St Ives. You can walk down the slope in the hotel gardens to the beach and the equally lovely Porthminster cafe - and then a little meander along the beach and you are in St Ives. I hope to return next year - I wish I was back there now! Thank you Harbour Hotel - we couldn't have asked for more.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jasonparry55, General Manager at St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Thank you so much for your kind words, I know that the team will be motivated by your praise. I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back again in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, UK
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

From the start of our break the staff could not do enough. On arriving our vehicle was driven by the porter to the hotels car park just down by the beach. Prior to our stay alike many reviewers we requested an updated room, we were given room 308 and were not disappointed. The room was huge with a king size bed and luxury bathroom, there was even a small glimpse of the sea from our side window. The bed was extremely comfy and the room spotless.

Breakfast on both mornings was delicious, the staff were attentive and we managed to have a sea view table each time. Breakfast offered a large amount of choice of pastries, ham and cheese, cereals fruit, full english and yummy scrambled eggs and smoked salmon.

On the second evening we had dinner in the hotel as was included in our groupon deal. I had a prawn cocktail for starters and chicken breast on creamy mash for main - delicious! My other half had partridge on lentils which was nice and a roast beef which was unfortunately little bit bland with hard veggies. For pudding the apple crumble was delightful and the cheese board tasty. Overall the meal was lovely, the staff could not do enough, very attentive and service spot on with timing.

During our stay I also had 2 spa treatments, again the staff were brilliant and even allowed us to change the appointment at the last minute. I had a facial and back, neck and shoulder massage, Melissa was by beautician and provided a really relaxing treatment - minimal conversation with relaxing backing music - perfect! The pool was also great, especially the jacuzzi with sea view. The hotel location was brilliant and a short walk down a lane to the beach.

We had a wonderful weekend and were sad to go home, we would definitely return again.

Room Tip: Ask for a renovated room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jasonparry55, General Manager at St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel on this site, we really appreciate the feedback. I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and that you found the team here to be so helpful. We very much look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

We stayed at the hotel early November while renovations were ongoing to the kitchen and other rooms. We had a suite on the first floor overlooking the sea, - a must if you stay here. The bedroom area had a queen sized bed which was very comfortable and a balcony off. Unfortunately the weather was not conjusive to sitting outside on it. The suite had an adjoining seating area, with comfortable sofa, table and chairs and very roomy. There was also the ensuite bathroom. My only complaint about the suite was that the room above which I believe were staff quarters (confirmed by a waiter) was noisy. People walking across the room above made a lot of noise late at night and early in the morning and put us off our sleep on the first 2 nights. Friday night it was quiet. The floorboards squeaked continually but apart from that it was lovely.

The restaurant and food were supberb even though they were using a temporary kitchen. Although the menu wasn't huge, the choices made it difficult to choose which was nice. We were still able to choose a different meal each evening which was a very pleasant surprise. We had been warned about the limited services but negotiated a free bottle of wine for each evening meal as part compensation for the inconvenience. We appreciated this very much, it was a nice geasture.

A trip to the Spa is also a must, I had a massage and a facial and being a retired beauty salon owner, I can say that the spa, the pool and the facilities are excellent including the staff. A really relaxing couple of hours not to be missed.

I would revisit this hotel in an instance, even though there were renovations going on all the time we were there, the staff made it feel seemless. They were pleasant, very helpful, nothing too much trouble and always happy to chat at meal times even though it was a very busy time.

It was a wonderful break, we took the train down to St Erth and then on to St Ives which was most relaxing and one doesn't need a car in St. Ives. The walks around are wonderful and you can even walk to Carbiss Bay on the coastal path, have a refreshing drink at the hotel there and walk back. A truly wonderful place to relax - out of season though as I am sure it is very busy in high season. We will be back again without fail.

A word of advice, if the rooms above the one we had are in fact used by staff, it might be wise to move them elsewhere. Obviously they are late to bed and up early in the morning and disturbing guests on a relaxing break too early or too late at night is not conducive to a relaxing time.

Room Tip: A room facing the sea is a must, listening to the waves first thing in the morning is bliss.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jasonparry55, General Manager at St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Thank you so much for your kind words, I know the team will be motivated by your praise. From your description of your bedroom it sounds as though you were staying in one of our Suites which are located on the first floor, if this is indeed the case then the rooms above are actually guest rooms but if I am incorrect could I please ask that you email me directly in order for me to address this issue on jason.parry@harbourhotels.co.uk. Finally I would like to thank you again and we very much look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa

Address: The Terrace, St Ives TR26 2BN, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Ives
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in St Ives
#5 On the Beach Hotel in St Ives
#12 Romantic Hotel in St Ives
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel is directly above Porthminster beach, a position which gives stunning views across the water. Watch as the waves lap against the famous Godrevy Lighthouse in the distance and feel your troubles disappear. Explore the local harbour, as you meander through the cobbled streets, and then return for dinner at the Harbour Restaurant, serving up seasonal and local food, along with stunning sea views. The Harbour Spa will provide the perfect hideaway, as you indulge in a soothing treatment and then unwind by the pool, gazing out to sea from the comfort of a deeply relaxing and luxurious Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, LateRooms, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotel.de and Odigeo so you can book your St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Porthminster Hotel St Ives
Porthminster St Ives
St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa St Ives, Cornwall

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.