We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a great time in St Ives with friends” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tregenna Castle Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Tregenna Castle Resort to your Saves list
Tregenna Castle Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Treloyan Avenue, St Ives TR26 2DE, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 25 Hotels in St Ives
Warrington, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“a great time in St Ives with friends”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

We stayed in a apartment complex just 200 yards from the castle hotel, overlooking St Ives. The amenities at the hotel was used by us all, pool sauna, gym, tennis courts, restaurant and bar. The apartment has 2 bedrooms living/dining room/kitchen, with TV, front door, patio door on to the garden area. The car park was 20 yards away, a tesco supermarket about 1/4 mile away, the town centre and beach 10 minutes drive, but able to walk through the castle grounds in about 20 mins. The castle also has pitch n put, and a golf course, woodland walks, and in the dining area there is a grand piano,which someone plays gently whilst you are dining. Overall it is a great place to stay, and the staff was so helpful and friendly. I will recommend this place to everyone, and we will go back there later in the year

Stayed April 2015, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,769 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    669
    547
    301
    156
    96
See reviews for
388
960
27
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (613)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Booked a 3 night stay for a short break. Set in beautiful well maintained grounds with stunning views of the bay. Sadly the accomodation was very tired looking. We decided on the west wing room but disappointed with the accomodation, damp and peeling paint on ceiling, dated and worn furniture, cleanliness and decor could be much improved. Over priced for standard of accommodation

Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

All the staff were helpful polite and cheerful, smiles everywhere. The building was clean and well kept wherever you looked with great views from all the windows. It certainly helped that we were there on a beautiful sunny day. The gardens are a delight with all the camellias and other Spring flowers coming into bloom alongside all the paths that take you around this large property. The food was delicious and reasonably priced. We had a great time and would recommend the place to anyone, we will be going back this summer.

Room Tip: Do ask for a seaview room as the views over St. Ives are spectacular
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henley in Arden, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

When we first arrived at our room we were over the moon with the seaview ,however things went downhill from there.The decor in the room was very tired and very 70's,our television didn't work and the sash windows needed replacing as it was very draughty.The bathroom was disgraceful as the plastic tiles kept coming off the floor and sticking to your feet.The shower always ran cold for 10minutes and then became scalding hot.
Most of the staff were very pleasant however when we tried to check out we were told to come back the following morning as they were cashing up.What happened to customer service!
The food was average and for £165 per night we were expecting a lot more.
Finally the car parking was insufficient especially when weddings are being held.
Unfortunately I could not recommend this even for the stunning views

Room Tip: Sea view rooms if you really want to stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
12-Management, Guest Relations Manager at Tregenna Castle Resort, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Despite the fabulous views I am sorry your recent stay with us did not meet your expectations.

Our resort is being refurbished and redecorated to include all bedrooms and bathrooms.

Although you would not recommend us I would like to discuss the issues you raised so that we can improve on our usually very high level of customer service.

Please do not hesitate to contact me at the hotel at your earliest convenience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bude, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We were fortunate to stay in glorious weather for a few days, and were amazed at the gorgeous views and grounds of Tregenna castle! For these you can't complain.

The reason I can't give them a 5 star rating was for the standard of the facilities...
We were staying on the top floor, and through the entire duration of our stay the radiators in the hallway and in our rooms were on 24/7, and could not be turned off or down in any way. Seeing as though it was a warm week in April this meant that the corridor and the rooms were incredibly hot and upon reporting this issue were told it would be fixed 'within the next couple days', however we saw no change.
Meanwhile, out of the four windows only one had a handle on (the others looked as though they'd been removed) and none of them, with or without handle, could be opened at all so there was no way to get fresh air in the room whilst we were there.
Whilst visiting the spa facilities we realised that neither the sauna nor the steam room had working lights. We reported this immediately to management and were told that the bulbs had gone 'a couple of days ago' and would be fixed 'the day after tomorrow', however a member of the public using the facilities told us that they'd been gone for months, and they definitely weren't working at the end of our stay, 4 days later. I didn't realise a bulb issue would take so long to fix?
At breakfast, when the breakfast has been served in the smaller room, 1 hot drink machine is nowhere near enough and results in large queues which then block up the rest of the dining area. Even a hot water vat for tea would be greatly appreciated?
Generally facilities were of a relatively low standard. The lift feels slightly unsafe, 'bouncing' a few times each time before stopping. The shower in the rooms were unfortunately very weak. I couldn't fault the members of staff, but unfortunately the facilities do let them down. I've heard that the hotel is undergoing refurbishments but if this is the case there was no sign of this or mention of it during our stay.

Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
12-Management, Guest Relations Manager at Tregenna Castle Resort, responded to this review, 2 days ago
We are delighted you enjoyed the gorgeous views and grounds of our resort during your recent stay.

Our heating is never on 24/7 and will be monitored daily until it is turned off completely for the warmer months.

Bulbs for use in our sauna and steam room are specialised bulbs to order to withstand moisture and heat. Sometimes we may be let down by our supplier once ordered. But they have never be out for the duration a local resident mentioned.

The refurbishment work is very evident throughout our resort and on-going. I would be very happy to show you the improvements we are making on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We decided to book a night in the Tregenna Hotel for our wedding anniversary after seeing an offer on TravelZoo. After reading some reviews on TripAdvisor we were a little apprehensive and hoped we weren't making a mistake but the offer seemed a good deal so we went with it. The hotel is very impressive with gorgeous sea views and beautiful gardens, although on closer inspection some windows had been boarded up which gave a shabby appearance to an otherwise lovely building. The reception area was quite nice and staff were friendly and efficient. We had paid a bit extra for a sea-view room and so were a little concerned at first on being allocated Room 7 as we had to go down a floor and it was near to the gym…however, we needn't have worried – the room had fabulous sea views of St Ives Bay from large sash windows (my favourite!) and was very spacious and nicely decorated – there was a nice big bed and a separate room with toilet and shower/bath. The bathroom was a little dated and the bath had seen better days and so that put us off using it – but we liked the spaciousness of the room and it felt like we had a ‘suite’ as opposed to just a bedroom.

We were fortunate to choose a quiet time to use the swimming pool/steam room and Jacuzzi and had the place pretty much to ourselves. The pool was nice, water warm and was like swimming in a greenhouse! Afterwards we walked down to St Ives to eat – lovely walk through the walled gardens (took about 15 mins) probably longer on the way back!!! As the Hotel seemed busy with a couple of functions we decided to ring for our breakfast to be bought up to our room the following morning at 8.30am. However, by 8.45am no breakfast had appeared and so we had to chase it…the Receptionist was apologetic and said she would sort it for us. At 9am it finally arrived but it was poor … watery scrambled eggs, very pale anaemic looking bacon and tepid beans….not very appetising. There were no condiments provided (ketchup, brown sauce, salt etc) or any juice/cereal or fruit which we assumed would be standard. But as we were hungry we ate it anyway, but were very disappointed. This let the hotel down really and although we did enjoy our stay due to the location we will be reticent to stay here again until further improvements have been made.

Room Tip: Room 7 had fab views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
12-Management, Guest Relations Manager at Tregenna Castle Resort, responded to this review, 2 days ago
We appreciate your comments regarding your anniversary stay and that you enjoyed your large spacious ‘suite’.

I am glad you were able to enjoy our beautiful grounds, wonderful location and leisure facilities.

We cannot replace windows to our grade II listed building. During our redecoration and refurbishment project we have removed windows to repair them and temporarily boarded up the window whilst this important work is being carried out.

I am sorry our usual high standard of customer service was not evident during your stay.

We are improving all the time and know should you decide to stay with us again; improvements will be very much in evidence.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
united kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Hotel advertises itself as "luxury" and even claims a tripadvisor award. But it doesn't even come close. Rooms were old, paint cracking, floors uneven, beds very uncomfortable, bathrooms decrepit. Restaurant food was mediocre with a few dishes ok. It uses chalk boards to announce the daily "specials" but surprisingly, they don't change day to day - so not really specials at all! Breakfast was modest, kept on warmers, with bacon and sausage so salty we couldn't eat them. Overall, the hotel looked run-down and badly kept. Even the areas billed as newly renovated looked like it was done on the cheap. How they can charge more the £60 per night is beyond us
On the plus side, the staff were very friendly but seemed to lack any real leadership. Leisure centre and golf facilities are good.

Room Tip: Try somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
12-Management, Guest Relations Manager at Tregenna Castle Resort, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Thank you for your comments regarding our very friendly staff and we are glad you enjoyed our leisure and golf facilities.

Management are always available in the hotel to ensure our staff provide very high levels of customer service.

They are also available to discuss any issues or opinions guests have regarding our resort, so that any guest staying with us has their expectations met and/or exceeded.

I am sorry our luxury hotel did not meet yours.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Tregenna Castle Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tregenna Castle Resort

Address: Treloyan Avenue, St Ives TR26 2DE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Ives
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in St Ives
#7 Family Hotel in St Ives
#10 Romantic Hotel in St Ives
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Tregenna Castle Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tregenna Castle is the ideal holiday choice and perfect venue for your Wedding, Conference or Banquet. The hotel has 80 rooms and a huge range of self catering options. There is a choice of restaurants, bars and swimming pools – complete with jacuzzi, sauna and steam room. A trip to the fully equipped gym can be followed by a visit to the hair and beauty salon, or you can play a range of sports from tennis to croquet. The woodland walks and sub tropical gardens are much loved by visitors and locals and the estate has a challenging 18-hole Presidents Golf Course overlooking St Ives Bay. Catering for families, Castle Kids offers a range of day care activities and is approved by Ofsted as ‘outstanding’. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and Odigeo so you can book your Tregenna Castle Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tregenna Castle Resort St Ives, Cornwall

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tregenna Castle Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.