We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Trip away” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tregenna Castle Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Tregenna Castle Resort to your Saves list
Tregenna Castle Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Treloyan Avenue, St Ives TR26 2DE, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 25 Hotels in St Ives
Weston super Mare, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Trip away”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

We stayed for 3 nights. Great hotel good pool area. The only down fall is the blokes have to walk through the gym to get to the pool area.and dont think you should have to pay to use towels. Breakfast very good, shame you have to make your own tea and coffee, but get brought toast. Room 68 very nice just a shame the tv screen was so small for the size of room. Restaurant quite expensive also bar. But gardens beautiful, and a lovely walk down to the town.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
12-Management, Guest Relations Manager at Tregenna Castle Resort, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a review. You are welcome to use the towels from your room and then have them replaced by our housekeeping team. Tea and coffee are available to be served at your table upon request.
I hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back sometime soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,596 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    593
    489
    272
    147
    95
See reviews for
358
847
26
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (534)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Exmouth, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014

We stayed in a self-catering cottage on the Tregenna Castle Estate, Lady Chatterley's, which has its own private garden, and is a charming Victorian cottage, thoughtfully renovated.
This was a second visit, and what impressed us so much was the welcome, service, and friendliness of the Tregenna Castle team. The quality of the accommodation is very good for a property of this age and type, the Castle grounds are amazing, but what really makes this a great place to stay is the attitude of the staff. Thank you!

Room Tip: We stayed in one of the many self-catering cottages on the Tregenna Castle Estate. Lady Chatterley...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
12-Management, Guest Relations Manager at Tregenna Castle Resort, responded to this review, April 6, 2014
Judith, thank you very much for being true to your word, and posting a lovely review.
Thank you for the card, the call and the excellent rating, too.
I will ensure that our team sees your review and knows how much you appreciate their efforts.
I look forward to being able to welcome you back, sometime soon I hope.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014 via mobile

We booked a Taste of Tregenna break and what excellent value for money. The Hotel is set in 72 Acres of wonderfully landscaped gardens and the views of St Ives are breathtaking. We stayed in Room 109 which gave us panoramic views stretching from Hayle to Porthmeor Beach! The room, like the rest of the Hotel, was clean and well maintained. Breakfast was very good and unlike many Hotels, the hot food was actually hot and not lukewarm. The Carvery on the Sunday evening was also very enjoyable, with a good choice and excellent service. The Pool and leisure facilities provide the opportunity to relax for a couple of hours. However, the main reasons for our rating is the setting and location of the Hotel and also the friendliness and professionalism of the staff. We will definitely return.

Stayed March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
12-Management, Guest Relations Manager at Tregenna Castle Resort, responded to this review, April 5, 2014
Thank you very much for your effusive review and outstanding rating. We are extremely pleased that so many aspects of your stay were so enjoyable and that you managed to take advantage of our special offer and our facilities.
Thank you also, for your kind compliments, we look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilllingdon, Middlesex
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014

We booked this hotel on a discounted break for the third year running. We love the setting (amazing!) and it has plenty of parking which is not always the case in St. Ives.
We always find the staff friendly and helpful (Rob and Lisa in particular). The rooms are a little dated but they are clean and the beds comfy. The buffet breakfast has plenty of choice and the waiting staff are a great team.
As one of our party is elderly with limited mobility we found that although the ideal room with disabled bathroom facilities wasn't available the staff did all they could to make sure we were all comfortable. They even lent us a wheelchair when the tyre blew on ours!!
We didn't make use of the leisure facilities as we tend to go out and about but the golf course has a beautiful setting with unrivalled sea views.
We'll be returning for sure.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
12-Management, Guest Relations Manager at Tregenna Castle Resort, responded to this review, April 5, 2014
Thank you very much for your loyalty, your review, compliments and fantastic rating.
I am pleased that we were able to help you out with the wheelchair and that our disabled friendly room suited your needs. We look forward to welcoming you back for your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

Tregenna has been an amazing find!! Every eventuality catered for- sumptuous fluffy white towels, gym, swim and sauna and a kids club for safe and happy toddler fun! Add a beauty treatment in the quiet and professional Castle rtetreat and you have the perfect holiday or weekend break!
All of the staff appear well trained, knowledgable and extremely efficient. Their unbelievable willingness to please, their friendly attitude and smiles certainly made our stay memorable- thank you for a wonderful stay!, We"ll definitely be back for more stunning views, lovely woodland and waterfall walk giving easy access to Sr Ives and another brilliant back treatment in the beauty retreat! Thanks to Andy for upgrading us to room 140- the best in the house! We look forward to our return!

Room Tip: Definitely choose or pay the supplement for a sea view superior double bedroom! The views are unsurp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
12-Management, Guest Relations Manager at Tregenna Castle Resort, responded to this review, April 5, 2014
Wow, that title is quite a mouthful! Thank you for your ebullient and complimentary review and for rating us so highly.
We are happy that our Castle Kids and Castle Beauty facilities contributed to your relaxation and enjoyment, and that you will be visiting us again. We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth Devon U.K.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

We recently stayed at the Tregenna Castle Hotel for a short break and had a wonderful stay we ate at the Hotel and found the menu to be varied, the breakfast buffet was served hot and tasty using fresh ingredients. The staff at the Tregenna are always friendly, polite and helpful from the front desk. bar/restaurant and cleaning staff. We played golf and found the 18 hole par 3 course extremely enjoyable with beautiful views overlooking the harbour. The gardens are wonderful with colourful flower beds and a lovely woodland walk where you can experience a waterfall and even tree ferns.
All in all the Tregenna Castle can offer a lovely relaxing experience and well worth a visit to see St. Ives at it's best

Room Tip: We stayed in the west wing in a large room with sofa and ensuite
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
12-Management, Guest Relations Manager at Tregenna Castle Resort, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
We are very pleased that every aspect of your stay was such a pleasant experience and that you had a great time.
Thank you very much for posting a review and for your kind compliments. I hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back sometime soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glastonbury, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

Over the years we have stayed many times at Tregenna, we were even married here in 2011 so we have come to know what to expect from this place. However we’ve just left from another stay and this time we’ve come away feeling let down and disappointed.
The room was lovely, new bathroom at last hurrah! Good sized family room with separate bedroom for the kids. Clean, tidy and what we’re used to. The bathroom and bedside lamp didn’t work (reception notified in the morning as it was late in the evening when we noticed), but no major complaints.
Reception failed to notify us that the main hallways upstairs were being renovated and wallpaper stripped. Although the hallways were clean it would have been curtsey to your guest to tell them of this renovation.
Our main disappointment was the food we received during our stay. Breakfast as always was lovely but the brassiere meals were below average and very expensive. The kids had meals early evening that were expensive and chips need to be real chips not french fries. Our takeaway meal in the evening was dire so much so my husband complained immediately and we were refunded a meal. I don’t mind paying hotel prices for food if the food is worth it but this certainly wasn’t even after the refund. The cream tea the following day was not with fresh scones, these were a day old. I bake scones frequently so I know the difference.
My point is we know you do fantastic food at Tregenna. Our wedding food was amazing…so what’s happened??
All confidence lost in your ability to serve good food in the brasserie and as a result we’d probably look to stay elsewhere in the future.
Very sad that this has happened as we love Tregenna but we’ve been let down.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
12-Management, Guest Relations Manager at Tregenna Castle Resort, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
I am sorry that there were disappointing aspects of your stay, involving only the restaurant/Brasserie, but am pleased that the other aspects of your visit were so positive. I have passed your comments to our Executive Chef for his attention.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Tregenna Castle Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tregenna Castle Resort

Address: Treloyan Avenue, St Ives TR26 2DE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Ives
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in St Ives
#9 Family Hotel in St Ives
#10 Romantic Hotel in St Ives
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Tregenna Castle Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tregenna Castle is the ideal holiday choice and perfect venue for your Wedding, Conference or Banquet. The hotel has 80 rooms and a huge range of self catering options. There is a choice of restaurants, bars and swimming pools – complete with jacuzzi, sauna and steam room. A trip to the fully equipped gym can be followed by a visit to the hair and beauty salon, or you can play a range of sports from tennis to croquet. The woodland walks and sub tropical gardens are much loved by visitors and locals and the estate has a challenging 18-hole Presidents Golf Course overlooking St Ives Bay. Catering for families, Castle Kids offers a range of day care activities and is approved by Ofsted as ‘outstanding’. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your Tregenna Castle Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tregenna Castle Resort St Ives, Cornwall

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tregenna Castle Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.