We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine location and views” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tregenna Castle Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Tregenna Castle Resort to your Saves list
Tregenna Castle Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Treloyan Avenue, St Ives TR26 2DE, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 25 Hotels in St Ives
Montreal
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Fine location and views”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

My girlfriend and I decided to spend a few days in Cornwall exploring the region. We finally settled on the Tregenna Castle Hotel because of its location (near the main sites such as Penzance, Lands End, and of course St Ives). We also selected the Tregenna because of the fine views it offered of the harbour of St Ives and the ample parking,

We arrived early evening and were greeted by a very friendly front desk gentleman. We were quickly checked in, and also given an overview of the grounds and the facilities available to guests.

We headed to our room (with a sea view). Impressions were a very clean room but starting to show its age. Bedding was very comfortable.This was a common theme. The exterior facilities of the hotel were fine and the views were great but some of the public rooms are starting to show some significant wear (worn wrinkled carpets, peeling paint, etc).

Breakfast (included with out rate) was excellent (hot & cold buffet) and if their was something that was not on the buffet list they would make it for you (poached eggs, oatmeal, etc).

The walk from the hotel into St Ives is about 10-15 min (slightly longer on the way back as it is an uphill climb) so very convenient to visiting this pretty little village.

Pros:

Very friendly and helpful staff. This is their strength
Location: From this base you can be in numerous cornish villages. quite quickly (mind you we have been told that high season traffic cab nake getting around the region difficult no matter where you stay(


Cons:

Primarily the fact that some of the common areas (and guest rooms) are starting to show their age. In does detract from the hotel.

No hotel wide WiFi. Some might find this a plus, while those needing their internet fix would have to to congregate in the hotel lobby (only place WiFi is available).


Overall a nice comfortable hotel with great staff. If facilities were refreshed hotel would garner a much higher rating

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
12-Management, Guest Relations Manager at Tregenna Castle Resort, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Thank you for choosing us as your base in the south west of Cornwall and thank you for your compliments, especially regarding our staff.
We are pleased that overall you were happy with the time that you spent with us and hope that should you make the trip over from Canada again, you will come back and visit us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,599 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    596
    489
    272
    147
    95
See reviews for
358
849
26
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (537)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Berkshire
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013 via mobile

Having just returned from a fantastic weekend break at Tregenna Castle, I am pleased to concur with most other reviewers on here. The location of the hotel is fantastic and affords marvellous views across St Ives bay, but it is still within walking distance of the harbour and town. We were fortunate enough to have a lovely sea view room and the room was spacious and was comfortable, although in need of a little bit of attention and restorative work, there is some noise from corridoors and rooms above, but for us that was part of the charm, it is a historic building after all. Breakfast was of good quality and warm enough for a buffett fayre. Will return again if we revisit the area

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
12-Management, Guest Relations Manager at Tregenna Castle Resort, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Thank you for taking time to post a review and for your compliments.
I am pleased that everything met with your approval and that you enjoyed our breakfast spread.
We sincerely hope that you will visit the area again, and come back and see us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanur, Indonesia
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013 via mobile

Friendly reception staff. Good room with lovely biscuits , coffee etc.
Excellent buffet breakfast and menu choice for other meals. Very short distance to town centre. A definite recommendation and we will return!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
12-Management, Guest Relations Manager at Tregenna Castle Resort, responded to this review, May 11, 2013
Thank you very much for your concise and complimetary review.
We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
minehead
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

Lovely three day stay with friends at the end of April 2013 made even better with the fantastic weather, virtually wall to wall sunshine. Love staying here, find it so relaxing and friendly. Usual staff faces such as charles, simon, beccy, andy, fred, all doing their best. The indoor pool was closing for essential maintainance which we knew about when booking so we. used it twice before it closed, lovely and warm and clean. The outdoor pool was then in use, did not swim in it this time but stretched out on a sun lounger for two hours relaxing further! sunday evening carvery was excellent, great choice of meat and veg and a bit of banter with the chef who was carving!
Breakfast was also excellent, not rushed in and out of dining hall like some places. Had a lovely evening meal also at the hotel, this time something lighter, ham, egg and chips. Room was clean as usual, lovely 6 foot comfy bed for a good nights sleep. cleaner was lovely and very helpful, if you need anything that you run out of just ask. We never want to leave and look forward to a return visit later this year. Thank you all for making us very welcome again

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
12-Management, Guest Relations Manager at Tregenna Castle Resort, responded to this review, May 11, 2013
Thank you very much for your wonderful review and fantastic compliments. Thank you also, for giving out special mentions, too.
I always enjoy our chats and look forward to your next visit. Good luck with your roof!
Oh, and thank you for your rating and your loyalty.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading
Top Contributor
350 reviews 350 reviews
83 hotel reviews
Reviews in 138 cities Reviews in 138 cities
123 helpful votes 123 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

I stayed here with work for one night. The estate and grounds are lively with beautiful sea views across st ives.

The hotel estate is very large and clean with my only observation being the rooms are large but the interior of the hotel needing a modernisation.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
12-Management, Guest Relations Manager at Tregenna Castle Resort, responded to this review, May 11, 2013
Thank you very much for your review and for choosing to stay with us.
I hope that you will stay with us again should your work bring you back to this area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingsbridge, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

My husband and I went to Tregenna for our 20th anniversary and had a lovely time. Lisa, the evening receptionist, was very friendly and helpful. We were quite surprised she remembered to wish us a happy anniversary on the day (not many would at other places) All the staff were friendly and helpful and we were quite pleased with the service. The hotel offers great views of St Ives and the garden and woodlands are very nice to walk around. We will definitely go back to Tregenna!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
12-Management, Guest Relations Manager at Tregenna Castle Resort, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Lisa was very flattered that you gave her a special mention and sends you her thanks.
Thank you very much for the fantastic compliments that you lavished upon our staff and for rating us so highly.
We sincerely look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aylesbury, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

I stayed at Trengenna Castle twice this spring, the first time with my family staying in self catering accommodation during the Easter holidays, and the second time as a lone traveller staying in the hotel.

The self catering accomodation was clean and well equipped, although there was insufficient hot water to have a bath but the shower was good. It wasn't luxurious but was a great base for exploring.

The hotel has excellent leisure facilities, the reason we chose it, although I found the gym a little small.

We ate in the restaurant one night but were disappointed. The food was fine and service was good, but the chairs felt cheap - more like a canteen than a castle.

When I stayed a second time as a lone traveller I had the most amazing room in the hotel with a view across St Ives bay. The views here are utterly wonderful and I was delighted I could sit in my room and just look out. The room was huge, not the most modern or best equipped, but I loved it.

Breakfast is self service and plentiful and I wasn't hungry again til dinner time.

I would certainly have no hesitation in returning there. The staff were friendly, excellent facilities. Great for families of all ages but equally enjoyable for singles and couples.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
12-Management, Guest Relations Manager at Tregenna Castle Resort, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Thank you very much for your review and your constructive observations.
We are pleased that, for overall, everything met with your approval and that you enjoyed your time with us. We are equally pleased that we did enough, on your first visit, to warrant a return trip.
I am sorry that the chairs in the restaurant were disappointing, for you. But, pleased that the rest of your dining experience was pleasant and positive.
We hope that you will visit us again and look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tregenna Castle Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tregenna Castle Resort

Address: Treloyan Avenue, St Ives TR26 2DE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Ives
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in St Ives
#9 Romantic Hotel in St Ives
#9 Family Hotel in St Ives
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Tregenna Castle Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tregenna Castle is the ideal holiday choice and perfect venue for your Wedding, Conference or Banquet. The hotel has 80 rooms and a huge range of self catering options. There is a choice of restaurants, bars and swimming pools – complete with jacuzzi, sauna and steam room. A trip to the fully equipped gym can be followed by a visit to the hair and beauty salon, or you can play a range of sports from tennis to croquet. The woodland walks and sub tropical gardens are much loved by visitors and locals and the estate has a challenging 18-hole Presidents Golf Course overlooking St Ives Bay. Catering for families, Castle Kids offers a range of day care activities and is approved by Ofsted as ‘outstanding’. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your Tregenna Castle Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tregenna Castle Resort St Ives, Cornwall

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tregenna Castle Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.