We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location,Great Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tregenna Castle Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Tregenna Castle Resort to your Saves list
Tregenna Castle Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Treloyan Avenue, St Ives TR26 2DE, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 25 Hotels in St Ives
Newport, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great Location,Great Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

Must be the best location in Cornwall especially from the sea view top floor rooms.The hotel itself is a old castle with a long private driveway with plenty of free secure parking something that too often is a problem in Cornwall.The room we had was large with a queen size bed with all facilities
The breakfast is a buffet style with plenty of choices and all fresh local produce it was the best bacon and sausages we have had in a long time.We used the gym and spa facilities whilst there and again they could not be faulted.The clearly marked walkway through the private gardens down into St Ives was most pleasant and easy going although we had a taxi back at the end of the evening.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
12-Management, Manager at Tregenna Castle Resort, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Thank you for that lovely review. We think that we have the best location in Cornwall as well - although we may be a bit biased! Do visit again soon, as the walk through the grounds will be full of flowers and our gardens are open all year to everyone.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,777 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    673
    550
    302
    156
    96
See reviews for
388
968
27
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (617)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

My husband and I returned last week from a three night break at Tregenna Castle.
We did not pay full price as I saw it advertised on Groupon and upon phoning the hotel they agreed to match the price ,without me having to purchase the Groupon voucher.We did pay an extra £20 per night for a sea view and it was worth every penny.The room we were allocated was on the second floor of the west wing and the views were absolutely stunning.
Our room was very large and clean and the bed was extremely comfortable.The bathroom had not yet been updated but this was not a problem as it was clean and functionable.
Breakfast each morning was superb and the service from all the staff we encountered was exemplary.
On one rainy afternoon we ordered afternoon tea, which was on an offer of buy one get one free and it could not be faulted.The scones were warm and fresh and we were served plenty of jam and cream.
As mentioned by others, the grounds of the hotel are extremely well maintained and are a joy to walk around, had the weather been better my husband could well have been tempted by a game of golf.
All in all we both enjoyed our time at Tregenna and would not hesitate to return.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
12-Management, Manager at Tregenna Castle Resort, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
What a lovely review! Thank you so much for sharing that. I'm delighted that you had such a lovely time and we all hope that we will see you again very soon! Keep an eye on our website and our social media for special offers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

Just got back from a few days stay in a self catering lodge at Tregenna Castle. Accommodation was great value bought through Groupon. It was well furnished, clean and even supplied with dish washer tablets. If I was to be highly critical I would say the decor could do with being modernised but apart from that it was very good.

The hotel grounds are beautiful with stunning views over St Ives. Beautiful gardens, great little par 3 golf course and generally well maintained. Looking forward to seeing it again in May when then flowers are out.

I walked through the hotel but didn't actually use any of the facilities but am planning on doing so in May. First impressions are very good.

Great location with a bus route right outside for people who don't like walking up hills, Tesco superstore around the corner and 5 min walk to the St Ives, St Earth Branch line which is a must train journey.

All round good value stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
12-Management, Manager at Tregenna Castle Resort, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
What a helpful review! Thank you for sharing your experience as I think that many other guests will find those tips helpful. I'm so pleased you liked your visit and we're looking forward to seeing you in May when our gardens should be blooming.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgend, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

We have stayed at Tregenna on a number of occasions always as guests of the Crash Box Club. The weekend is excellent value for money. The staff are professional, friendly and helpful. The grounds and the views from outside the hotel are probably some of the best in Cornwall. The interior of the hotel is clean but dated. Rooms are mixed we stayed in Room 80 in the main Hotel. If it were not the fact that w were part of large party we probably would have asked for another room as it suffered from the smell of cooking being directs above the kitchens. We have in the past had much better rooms at he rear of the hotel and also in the self catering apartments which are really lovely. We will return to Tregenna for the weekend special with our friends from the Crash Box Car Club.
Value for money

Room Tip: If you wan a sea view ask for a room at the front of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
12-Management, Manager at Tregenna Castle Resort, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
It was lovely to have you back again as part of the Crash Box Club. We're very lucky to have some of the best views in Cornwall and enjoy them as we go about our day. The team will be delighted to hear that you found them professional, friendly and helpful - we want everyone to feel that we're here to look after them, so I'm pleased you felt this way. I was sorry to hear that you suffered from the smell of cooking though and that you felt your room was dated - we are continuously updating and refurbishing areas of the hotel. I'm delighted that you've been able to try our self catering as well as rooms in our hotel in the past and have such kind words about us. I hope you get a sea view next time and we're looking forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redruth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

I was given two vouchers for afternoon tea at the above hotel. I went to take up this gift. The setting is stunning and is very well maintained. I rang to find out if I had to book but was told I could come any time after 10 am!! for afternoon tea. On arrival I found the food was served in a room which was basically a bar. There were no tablecloths. It turned out that the 'afternoon tea' was just a cream tea which I was not expecting. It was served in a basic stainless steel teapot with no extra jug of water so only one and a half cups were available. The cream and jam was of excellent quality but the scones were of a thick consistency and were difficult to swallow. I had to actually go and fetch spoons to serve the jam and cream. The whole episode was disappointing. I have had afternoon tea in lots of places and this did not come anywhere near being good.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
12-Management, Guest Relations Manager at Tregenna Castle Resort, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
We are sorry that you did not care for our scones or our Brasserie restaurant, and that you took umbrage at being informed of its opening hours.
We are pleased that you took advantage of your free gift, though.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellenton, Florida
Top Contributor
146 reviews 146 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

First stayed here way back in 1968 and have been a regular visitor ever since including my eldest daughters wedding. ALL staff are excellent throughout with, Fred the Hotels Holiday Club manager, and Becky, who seems to cover everything from the restaurant to weddings, being outstanding and both are a credit to the Hotel Management. Wonderful building with great leisure club complex including indoor swimming pool, sauna, gym. So many types of accomadation from traditional hotel rooms to large spacious Swedish Pole lodges. All set in beautiful grounds of 70 acres with woodland walks and not forgetting an 18 hole golf course. There is also a great Castle Kids club for junior visitors. Last but not least by any means is the truly spectacular view across the bay covering St.Ives to Gwithian and beyond. Has to be seen to be appreciated fully.

Room Tip: Book early to be sure of a sea-view room as these are very popular and if planning a weekend stay th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
12-Management, Guest Relations Manager at Tregenna Castle Resort, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Thank you for your tremendous review and outstanding loyalty throughout the decades. Thank you also, for your kind and flattering compliments and for mentioning Fred and Becky, they were both thrilled and are sincerely grateful.
We all hope that you will return soon and look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bournemouth
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

Had a groupon deal so thought it was great value but would be a lot more critical if I had paid the advertised rates. Was concerned when I went into the room to see 3 single beds close together but then realised this was a family room & round the corner was a double bed with plenty of space. The furnishings were good quality but dated and the bath was chipped.rusty, had purple stains & the dreaded shower curtain. The shower however was new and efficient & the towels were lovely. Internet not available in rooms but worked well in the main corridor. Decorating was tatty in places but it must be like The Forth Bridge & there were decorators working in various places. Breakfast was excellent with everything replaced promptly, fresh fruit & friendly service. The best aspect of the estate was the grounds. Even on a cold March day the clematis amandii in the walled garden & the camelias were lovely. The walk down to St Ives was a pleasure with great views of the bay & the town & very well maintained. If I got a deal I would go again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
12-Management, Guest Relations Manager at Tregenna Castle Resort, responded to this review, March 23, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review and for your objectivity and compliments.
You are correct with your observation that the maintenance is an ongoing process, we do certainly try to address any issues immediately.
We regularly have special offers available, if you gave us your email address during your reservation or during your stay, we will send you details of them as they occur. Alternatively, they are always listed on our website.
I hope that we will see you again, soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tregenna Castle Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tregenna Castle Resort

Address: Treloyan Avenue, St Ives TR26 2DE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Ives
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in St Ives
#7 Family Hotel in St Ives
#10 Romantic Hotel in St Ives
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Tregenna Castle Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tregenna Castle is the ideal holiday choice and perfect venue for your Wedding, Conference or Banquet. The hotel has 80 rooms and a huge range of self catering options. There is a choice of restaurants, bars and swimming pools – complete with jacuzzi, sauna and steam room. A trip to the fully equipped gym can be followed by a visit to the hair and beauty salon, or you can play a range of sports from tennis to croquet. The woodland walks and sub tropical gardens are much loved by visitors and locals and the estate has a challenging 18-hole Presidents Golf Course overlooking St Ives Bay. Catering for families, Castle Kids offers a range of day care activities and is approved by Ofsted as ‘outstanding’. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and Odigeo so you can book your Tregenna Castle Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tregenna Castle Resort St Ives, Cornwall

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tregenna Castle Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.