We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value Weekend Break” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tregenna Castle Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Tregenna Castle Resort to your Saves list
Tregenna Castle Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Treloyan Avenue, St Ives TR26 2DE, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 25 Hotels in St Ives
Honiton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Good Value Weekend Break”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

Beautiful setting in lovely grounds, Tregenna is a gem.
Spacious room, well maintained throughout our stay.
Breakfast & dinner excellent each day. Sensible wine prices and friendly staff.
The maitre D' runs the dining room like a military operation.
Thanks Tregenna, see you again soon.

Room Tip: Dont moan about the lack of view if you haven't paid for it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
12-Management, Guest Relations Manager at Tregenna Castle Resort, responded to this review, March 2, 2013
Thank you very much for your excellent and succinct review and for the five stars.
I sincerely do hope that we will see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,773 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    671
    549
    301
    156
    96
See reviews for
388
964
27
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (615)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Weston super Mare
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

We took advantage of the taste of Tregenna, and was pleasantly surprised at value for money.

Bedroom was not one of the better sea facing rooms, but was of a good size and clean - a little bit in need of updating in the bathroom, but no dust, and for the money a good comfortable room with TV, and coffee / Tea facilities.
The old built in wardrobes had there own large and noisy charm, but plenty of space for all your needs.
Rooms were refreshed daily, and if a problem was identified it was fixed quickly.

The breakfast and meal package was very good - breakfast help yourself to as much as you wished and a general good selection, if they did not have something, ie Porridge, we asked and it was provided.
The first evening meal was part of the carvery choices, and the food was superb.

The second noght we paid for the a la carte, and my steak was cooked to absolute perfection, better than some french steaks I have had recently, my only complaint here was the bread roll had to be ordered, and I have never had to order a bread roll before to have with an a la carte meal!!
My wife was vegetarian which had limited choice on the menu (this needs to be reconsidered please chef!!) however a alternative was found to stop my wife having to have the same again on night 2. The free bottle of house red was spanish and just passable!!

One of my only concerns and it is my style, that I understand this is a holidy hotel, but please please introduce a men must wear collared something for evening meal, people turning up in t shirts and hoodies for an evening meal, do not bode well for a pleasurable dining experience.

The swimming pool was a let down, it was cold on the first day, and to find it in the first place was confusing, and whn you get there it is something like out of the flintstones - it had no life or atmosphere, it really needs a facelift, it was somewhat bland!! did not use again as the water was always cold....

So despite a few areas of improvement, a very worthwhile stay - give it a go good value for money

Room Tip: Pay extra for Sea View
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
12-Management, Guest Relations Manager at Tregenna Castle Resort, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Thank you very much for your detailed and objective review, we are extremely pleased that overall you enjoyed your stay.
Thank you as well, for your compliments regarding the food. I am happy that an alternative vegetarian meal was arranged to accommodate your wife. The Executive Chef sends you his thanks.
We understand your sentiments regarding dress in the dining room. However, whilst we request 'smart casual' and do not accept ripped or outright shabby attire, we feel that our guests are here to relax and, in general, would not appreciate being dictated to.
We have plans to modernise the pool area sometime in the not too distant future.
We sincerely hope that you will give us the opportunity to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Columb Major, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Breakfast was excellent - a very wide selection. Rooms looked a little dated when we arrived but had the best night's sleep for ages - duvet looked thin but was exceptionally warm, we unfortunately had what we think must have been an adjoinging room as there was a locked door between us and the next room - the only down side was that the guest next door were obviously on a 'dirty weekend' and were quite vocal about it LOL. Windows did get condensation but that's the joy of an old building with no double glazing, but the view over St Ives was outstanding. Reception staff and staff in Castle Beauty very friendly and helpful. I would definately return to this hotel - such a beautiful building. You must take the woodland walk down to the town it really is lovely :)

Room Tip: Get a room in the West Wing with a Sea View
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
12-Management, Guest Relations Manager at Tregenna Castle Resort, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review and for your kind compliments.
I am sorry that your neighbours caused some disturbance, we would have asked them to be more considerate, had we been aware.
We are extremely happy that you enjoyed your time with us and look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We went on a long weekend to St Ives and stayed in the self catering apartments (plen an dinas) overlooking the golf course.

The accommodation was lovely, clean and spacious. The mezzanine layout with the windows in the roof added to the charm. The kitchen was well equipped and the room warm (we went when it was -3 out and the room felt warm very quickly). A downside was the tv was old, although some of the apartments had flat screens. The stereo was also old and did not have an ipod dock. The sofa transformed into a bed which was uncomfortable and squeaky. Two powerful showers in both the upstairs and downstairs bathrooms. The room is very quiet.

The grounds are beautiful and the walk down to the beach wonderful, passing through waterfalls, palm trees etc.. a word of warning though it is steep !!!

We didn't use the spa whilst we were there because we did not like the look of it, the gym is in a dingy corridor, and you have to go up cold, grey concrete steps to get to the small pool. The steam room and sauna both looked old and uninviting. There is also a charge to hire towels !

Overall it's a great place to stay, we did not use the hotel so can not comment on the actual hotel, but what we did see when checking in looked nice. We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: If self catering ask for an upstairs apartment.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
12-Management, Guest Relations Manager at Tregenna Castle Resort, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
We are glad that your apartment, in our Plen-an-Dinas complex, met with your approval.
We are in the process of upgrading the televisions throughout our seventy self catering properties, to flat screens.
Thank you very much for posting this review and for the objective comments and the compliments contained within.
We certainly hope that we will have the pleasure of your company again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

My partner and I just returned from another fantastic stay - w/e of 18/2/13 (our 3rd stay)- excellent room, big, warm and very cosy with wonderful views overlooking the grounds and bay of St Ives. Excellent breakfast, nothing too much trouble for the staff. Ideal location with excellent facilities. If I had any complaint that would be that there was only wi-fi available in reception area and the brassiere, which at times was full with people wanting to do the same thing..... use their laptops/i-pads etc.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
12-Management, Guest Relations Manager at Tregenna Castle Resort, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
We are really, very pleased that you continue to come and visit us, thank you for your loyalty.
We do plan on extending our WiFi coverage to include the entire hotel and many of the self catering properties.
We sincerely hope that you will grace us with visit number four, soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oaksey
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I are staying in St ives for a week and called in here for a coffee this afternoon( Sunday 24th Feb) first impressions always count. The driveway to the ma in car park is rutted and in extremely poor condition.A challenge for any cars suspension ! The single door from the car park into the Hotel is rotting and looks as if it hasn't been painted for years. Inside, the hotel is big, bare with a total mish mash of furniture and fittings. We had coffee in the lounge bar. Again what a weird decor. Nothing matched and nothing enticed you to want to stay and relax. We also noticed that the display fridge behind the bar was totally empty and the sink to the side of the bar was surrounded by dirty glasses, dish cloths and washing up liquid bottles ! I have to say though, that the girl who served us was very pleasant and polite. It's for this reason only, that I've given this place two stars instead of one . This place needs serious money spending on it and the services of an interior designer. Wouldn't recommend !

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
12-Management, Guest Relations Manager at Tregenna Castle Resort, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Thank you for sharing your opinion, based on the time that you spent drinking a coffee in our Brasserie.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

arrived on thursday 21st;got room 123 which was permantly warm so turned off radiator and left windows open.did 10 mns walk to st ives;blowing a gail so had nice fish/chips in new resteraunt in harbour.glad to get back to room,watchedtv for rest of night.had nice breakfast on help yourself basis.drove to paradise park,only10mns away will be writing seperate report on that.had the choice of set evening meal or al lacarte;we had latter with couple of beers pleasently surprised with cost.there was a young lady in resteraunt that looked after us then and at breakfast who was brilliant,very pleasent an i noticied helped families with young children at meal times.most of the staff were very obliging and would definatly stay again on special deal as hotel is in good position for touring cornwall.

Room Tip: dont pay extra for sea view if weather bad.the grounds are lovely and it is a child friendly hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
12-Management, Guest Relations Manager at Tregenna Castle Resort, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We are pleased that you were able to take advantage of one of our special offers and that you enjoyed your stay.
Thank you for specifically complimenting our staff, it is very much appreciated.
We sincerely hope that you will visit us again if you are in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Tregenna Castle Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tregenna Castle Resort

Address: Treloyan Avenue, St Ives TR26 2DE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Ives
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in St Ives
#7 Family Hotel in St Ives
#10 Romantic Hotel in St Ives
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Tregenna Castle Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tregenna Castle is the ideal holiday choice and perfect venue for your Wedding, Conference or Banquet. The hotel has 80 rooms and a huge range of self catering options. There is a choice of restaurants, bars and swimming pools – complete with jacuzzi, sauna and steam room. A trip to the fully equipped gym can be followed by a visit to the hair and beauty salon, or you can play a range of sports from tennis to croquet. The woodland walks and sub tropical gardens are much loved by visitors and locals and the estate has a challenging 18-hole Presidents Golf Course overlooking St Ives Bay. Catering for families, Castle Kids offers a range of day care activities and is approved by Ofsted as ‘outstanding’. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and Odigeo so you can book your Tregenna Castle Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tregenna Castle Resort St Ives, Cornwall

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tregenna Castle Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.