We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“FANTASTIC HOTEL!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tregenna Castle Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Tregenna Castle Resort to your Saves list
Tregenna Castle Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Treloyan Avenue, St Ives TR26 2DE, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 25 Hotels in St Ives
North Warwickshire
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“FANTASTIC HOTEL!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

We returned today from a 3 night stay in a 2 bedroom self catering apartment & myself, husband & 2 daughters of 4 & 5 had a fantastic stay. Our apartment was clean, spacious & extremely comfortable. We had a full cooked breakfast each morning which was very tasty & there was plenty of choice. We had an evening meal within the restaurant, again the food was beautiful & the staff extremely helpful, nothing was too much trouble.

The views from the hotel are totally amazing, I have never visited anywhere in England with views like at Tregenna Castle!

This was our first stay at Tregenna Castle & we will definitely visit there again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
12-Management, Guest Relations Manager at Tregenna Castle Resort, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
It was wonderful to read your complimentary and flattering review. We are thrilled that you and your family had a great time and enjoyed all aspects of your stay.
Thank you very much for the review and for the five star rating.
We eagerly await your next visit. See you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,593 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    591
    488
    272
    147
    95
See reviews for
358
844
26
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (532)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Exeter, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Spent a wonderful weekend with friends in one of the Lodges for a sunny, yes Sunny, January weekend. The Lodges are wonderful, with every thing you could need, although self catering it is well worth eating in the hotel when you fancy a break from cooking. The restaurant has delicious food with very friendly, attentive staff. For things to do we would recommend the treasure trails you can download off the internet or get at the tourist information. We did two one involved catching the train to Lelant Saltings and walking back along the beautiful coastal path to St Ives. The second was around the town of St Ives. Highly recommended way to spend a weekend!

Room Tip: The lodges are fantastic, warm and cozy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
12-Management, Guest Relations Manager at Tregenna Castle Resort, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
We are very pleased that your trip coincided with our one sunny weekend! It makes a huge difference, to St.Ives, when the sun is shining.
We are very happy that you enjoyed your time in our Lodge and that dining in our restaurant met with your approval.
Thank you for your compliments and for your recommendation. I hope that we will see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

After a lovely stay here in Nov 2012 we booked another stay in Jan 2013. Again it was with a Groupon voucher and again we paid an additional £20 per night for a sea view room upgrade. It's time our room was on the ground floor, we still had a sea view but obviously not quite as good as being on a higher floor. Again the room had been refurbished. Having learnt from our previous visit, we always turned the heating either off or down when we went out in the day otherwise the room got far too hot to sleep. There was a wedding on the Saturday so obviously the hotel was very bust however we didn't notice any additional noise from our room at night. There were numerous children running riot at about midnight in the corridor by our room but that was the fault of their parents rather than the hotel. Breakfasts were busy but again the wait was nominal. Again the grounds were kept amazing. St Ives is easily accessible on foot but it is hilly. We didn't use the pool so can't comment on it. Again another lovely staff and we will soon be back

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
12-Management, Guest Relations Manager at Tregenna Castle Resort, responded to this review, February 23, 2013
We are extremely pleased that your first visit was such that it prompted a second.
Thank you for taking the time to post a review and for your compliments.
I sincerely hope that we will get to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

Just spent two nights in non sea view - West Wing on a £99 Woucher deal and very good value it was too!
It is 40yrs since we spent our holidays in nearby Hayle and made frequent visits to St. Ives.so this was a Memory Lane visit for my birthday on 8thFeb.
Arrvd. 7th to a very warm welcome and speady check into room 143 very comfortable , large bed, two bucket type chairs and large settee, plus office type chair at desk.
Bathroom with shower over bath, clean and good quality towels.
As you might expect with an old property the wind noise from the ill fitting windows was a bit of a problem, although upvc frames the handles had been removed.
Our first evening was perfect, great meal in the Brasserie, with every attention given to us, the food was very good .
Unfortunately the second night which was "my birthday meal " our experience was very different as the Hotel was full with some sort of convention .The meal was in a large room with the seating very close together and a starter on The Table Dote menu ran out 45 mins after the menu started,so was forced to have what I had eaten the previous night.which was the same flavour soup and served with white sliced bread, I asked if they had any alternative bread or rolls and was told "no".I am not complaining about the staff in any way as they all were very good..
Breakfast next morning was even worse, so cramped and noisy, with a makeshift hot food area with the bacon , sausage etc. in white bowls the latter obviously had been cooked and left on trays where fat had solidified thick white on them and not piping hot when put in the bowls this fat was in thick ridges on the sausage -yuck!
The pool, steam room ,Sauna etc. were very nice and relaxing after walking all day long!
The grounds and woodland is an absolute credit to the gardeners , so looked after and a joy to walk around. The walk through the woods into St. Ives with the snowdrops and primroses was a delight for me.
It might seem that I have moaned a bit but I think the food issues were entirely down to the volume of people.
I really hope to return again to Tregenna as I enjoyed the location and views and we did not need to get in the car until our departure!

Room Tip: West wing, Sea view, High floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
12-Management, Guest Relations Manager at Tregenna Castle Resort, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
All of here wish you a belated happy birthday and hope that you had a great day.
Thank you for your extensive and detailed review and for your compliments.
I am very sorry that your second night's experience was a little disappointing. Unfortunately, many guests opted for the same meal from the menu.
With regard to bacon and sausage issue; we served 203 breakfasts, on the morning in question. The sausages and bacon were not pre-cooked and left to sit, they did not last long enough!
We sincerely hope that we will see you again sometime soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

We strayed here for 2 nights in November as part of a Groupon deal and paid a small supplement for an upgrade to a sea view room. The hotel has vast grounds which are kept in am immaculate condition. Inside of hotel may be classed as very slightly tired but to me it all fits with the castle; I wasn't expecting a modern up-to-date hotel and neither should anyone if they've done their homework prior to staying . Also the price structure of the hotel is extremely reasonable compared to many of the other hotels in St Ives. The receptionists were efficient and did what I would expect. The room we were given had recently been modernised; the modernisation did not include a new bathroom suite but the bathroom had been reprinted and was vey clean and sufficient -in fact the bath was huge! The room was spacious and clean with tea and coffee facilities, modern tv, small sofa and adequate storage even for a couple staying for 2 weeks. The bed, duvet and pillows were really comfortable and clean. The room did get very hot as the heating was permanently hot so the second date we just knocked the radiators down and this solved the problems. The view we had from our room was superb and definitely worth the additional £20 per night supplement. As the hotel is on a hill it was quite windy for the couple of days we were there and yes the original sash windows did rattle a bit but again this was easily solved by just jamming a piece of tissue in them. The breakfast was fine, a little busy, but we didn't have to wait too long and the staff were very apologetic. For a 'normal' person, the breakfast is more the adequate but unfortunately I have many food allergies; I did per-warn the hotel at time of booking and was advised this wouldn't be a problem. But breakfast time it was, the staff were just far too busy to cook individual meals a certain way; I think the main restaurant at lunch or evening would be ok but we didn't put this to the test. Overall, for what we paid, we had a truly lovely time and have rebooked to go bak in January again paying extra for a sea view.

Room Tip: Sea view is a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
12-Management, Guest Relations Manager at Tregenna Castle Resort, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write this informative and flattering review.
We are extremely happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and that everything either met or exceeded your expectations.
We are also very glad that you have already booked a return visit. We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

We stayed two nights at Tregenna hotel and was very satisfied overall. Beautiful surroundings, attentive and friendly staff. we had a big room with great views of the sea, comfortable bed with fresh crisp linen and heating is on 24hrs (too warm had to open some windows). Having a leisure facility on sight was a bonus. The bathroom could do with some TLC but in good working order..
We dined at one of the restaurant and was very disappointed with the standard of food served . I Was not expecting Michelin star quality but we felt we could have had better meals at a local pub and get change from a £75.00 bill (the Sloop Inn pub was highly recommended) The Breakfast buffet was very satisfying. I would definitely recommend staying here if ever in st.Ives ;)

Room Tip: Room 70. Nice views...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
12-Management, Guest Relations Manager at Tregenna Castle Resort, responded to this review, February 9, 2013
We are very pleased that overall your visit was pleasant and enjoyable. Although, it is unfortunate that you did not enjoy dining with us. Our Executive Chef wishes that your critique could have been a little more detailed to assist him to correct what you found to be disappointing.
Thank you for your review and for any potential recommendations. I hope that we will have the pleasure of your company again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

Having visited the beautiful Cornish Town of St Ives on many occasions my wife and I decided to spend our anniversary at Tregenna Castle Hotel which is a place we had only seen on top of the hill but never visited.The hotel grounds and the exterior of the hotel were fantastic, the interior, however was not so impressive.
Having checked in and found our room it was clear particularly evident on entering the en suite that very little if anything in the way of either modernisation, maintenance or even cleaning had been done for some time. The WC was screwed to a block of wood clearly because the height of the waste pipe would have given a back fall if the pan was screwed to the floor. The old white tiles were cracked and mouldy in places whilst the deorative dado tile had so much dust on them you could write your name. The tired artex ceiling was flaking and although someone had attempted to paint the ceiling they had got as much on the shower rail and tlies as on the ceiling. The radiator was rusty and the shower curtain filthy at the bottom. To cap it all off the shower valve was broken and only by forcing it could you obtain luke warm water.
After an evening in the Town and a lovely meal we walked back to the hotel in very windy conditions. The wind increased and at 2am we were woken up with the sash windows banging against the frames. We could not sleep so I stuffed sheets of newspaper between the sashes and frames to stop the banging. After a fitfull nights sleep we went down for breakfast. The breakfast room resembled an old school refrectory which seemed ever more accurate as young children ran around the room and at one point under our table. I blame the parents for this and not the staff. Breakfast was an experience. It was busy but we were shown to a table that had no cups/saucers on. I had to ask for coffee and then for cups.It wasn't worth it as my wife and I agreed it was the worst coffee we had ever tasted.I settled for an orange juice from the buffet area. Disappointingly, at £195/night for the west wing sea view room the choice of juice was orange or apple.As I got to the bottom of the glass my wife pointed out something in the bottom which can only be described as mould. I brought it to the attention of the waitress who said"I will go get you another one" No thanks! I could go on. The curtains around the 4 poster bed had seen better days and the yellowing material had what looked like an old cigarette burn in them.
St Ives is just about our favorite place on the planet but we will not be returning here. There are a number of new boutique hotels in the town and the old Porthminster has under gone a serious refit. The owners of Tregenna need to take a look at the competition because although we thankfully had a groupon deal at £99 for the 2 nights there is no way that £195/night could ever be justified at this hotel which is seriously in need of a make over.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
12-Management, Guest Relations Manager at Tregenna Castle Resort, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
I am sorry that you did not enjoy your time with us and that aspects of our hotel disappointed you.
We are moving through the hotel, room by room addressing any maintenance or refurbishment issues that we encounter.
I can assure you that it was not mould in your glass. The glasses are thoroughly steam cleaned after use and the juice is fresh each day. It is also unlikely that it would have been a cigarette burn in the bedding. Smoking has been prohibited for a number of years, in the hotel and we rent our bedding, towels etc. from an outside contractor,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tregenna Castle Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tregenna Castle Resort

Address: Treloyan Avenue, St Ives TR26 2DE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Ives
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in St Ives
#9 Family Hotel in St Ives
#10 Romantic Hotel in St Ives
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Tregenna Castle Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tregenna Castle is the ideal holiday choice and perfect venue for your Wedding, Conference or Banquet. The hotel has 80 rooms and a huge range of self catering options. There is a choice of restaurants, bars and swimming pools – complete with jacuzzi, sauna and steam room. A trip to the fully equipped gym can be followed by a visit to the hair and beauty salon, or you can play a range of sports from tennis to croquet. The woodland walks and sub tropical gardens are much loved by visitors and locals and the estate has a challenging 18-hole Presidents Golf Course overlooking St Ives Bay. Catering for families, Castle Kids offers a range of day care activities and is approved by Ofsted as ‘outstanding’. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Tregenna Castle Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tregenna Castle Resort St Ives, Cornwall

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tregenna Castle Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.