We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tregenna Castle Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Tregenna Castle Resort to your Saves list
Tregenna Castle Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Treloyan Avenue, St Ives TR26 2DE, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 25 Hotels in St Ives
bideford
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Good value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

Stayed for two nights through a Groupon deal but paid a little extra for a harbour view room. I was a little apprehensive after reading some of the earlier reviews of the hotel but I found the overall experience to be very good. The bedroom was large and the view over the bay was certainly worth the extra paid. The bed was comfortable and the en suite was clean with everything working as one would expect.The lounges and dining areas were all spacious and tastefully furnished and decorated to a high standard. The hotel looks very impressive from outside and the staff were helpful and friendly, the food was to a high standard and enjoyable. The only downside was that the pool was closed on our first day and on the second day the water was considerably colder than I would have expected as was the general pool area and the changing rooms.

Room Tip: Pay extra for a harbour view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
12-Management, Guest Relations Manager at Tregenna Castle Resort, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review. We are pleased that you were able to take advantage of the Groupon offer and that you enjoyed your time with us.
I am pleased that you decided to come and visit us yourselves to formulate your own opinions.
Thank you also, for your compliments.
I apologise for the closure of the Leisure centre, on the 27th November, but it was due to an unforeseen, extremely serious emergency.
We hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,596 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    593
    489
    272
    147
    95
See reviews for
358
847
26
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (534)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012 via mobile

Hi ive stayed in many hotels around the world. What i cant tolerate is 1) bad smells 2) awful showers 3) cold rooms 3)bad service 4)things not working!!!

1)our double room had everything! The view of the harbour lit up and just beautiful overview of the beach.
2)incredibly warm with extra covers beds are very comfortable and big!

3)shower works perfectly, real bathroom furniture everything is in keeping of classic style. Its full of quality.

4) everything works, and food is good didnt like breskfast much but it is acceptable. We arrived at 11:30pm and they prepared sandwiches for us as we were hungry.we were two hours late on arrival and they didnt batter an eyelid to hear our cry for food. It was supplied asap for us.

5)the rooms are clean and theres been lots of decorating it looks like.stunning grand entrance with a grand piano and leather chairs,supersoft carpets and high chandilers.

Staff are friendly and i am 35, hip,hard to please modern girl who likes her comforts with class.

You wont be disappointed.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
12-Management, Guest Relations Manager at Tregenna Castle Resort, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
We all love the title of your review and are extremely grateful for your sentiments and compliments.
Thank you very much for rating us with five stars and for your recommendation.
We sincerely hope that you will give us the pleasure of visiting us again and look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truro
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

I visited the hotel for a reunion and had a fantastic time. The hotel is wonderful - clean and comfy rooms with amazing views. The staff were welcoming and attentive and provided us with excellent service. We ate in the restaurant which was really reasonably priced, especially considering the size and quality of the steak I had! I look forward to visiting the hotel again but hopefully for a much longer stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
12-Management, Guest Relations Manager at Tregenna Castle Resort, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Thank you very much for posting this review and for rating us with five stars.
We seem to have had a few reunions lately, perhaps you are part of the same group. Either way, we are very grateful that you chose to meet here with us, and hope that there will be many more gatherings.
Thank you for you compliments, I hope that we can welcome you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

My husband and I have just come back from a 2-night stay at the Tregenna Castle Hotel and had a fabulous time. We paid extra for a sea-view room (Room 58) and we certainly weren't disappointed; the room was huge and tastefully decorated and the bathroom was a nice size - very clean. We ate in the hotel restaurant both evenings and the food was delicious - highly recommend the scallops to start with and the Thai green curry was fab (compliments to the Chef)! Breakfast was great - you help yoursef to cereals, fruit, tea/coffee and cooked breakfast.

One thing that stood out for me was the friendliness of the staff; everyone from Reception to the waiting staff were very polite and the service at meal-time was second to none - 10/10 for customer service. Oh, and the christmas decorations are gorgeous!!

I have read some derogatory comments, regarding the hotel, on this site and have to say that I am surprised; I don't think they could have visited the same Tregenna Castle Hotel as we have done ................... We shall definitely be returning.

Room Tip: Beautiful view from Room 58
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
12-Management, Guest Relations Manager at Tregenna Castle Resort, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Thank you very much for your review and thank you for rating us with five stars. I have passed your comments and compliments along to our Executive Chef and he sends you his thanks.
Thank you for coming to form your own opinions of us, despite reading negative comments, on this forum. I sometimes wonder if some of our reviewers visited our hotel, too.
We are extremely pleased that you will visit us again and look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

I just spent a couple of nights catching up with girlfriends at the wonderful Tregenna Castle. It was the perfect venue for relaxing aand catching up with old friends. The rooms were clean, comfortable and had everything one could need. I slept like a log but perhaps that was due to the lovely walks or the impressive hotel wine list. We all had steak for dinner, all cooked differently. They arrived at the same time all cooked not only to our personal preference but to perfection. The staff were so helpful and were attentive without being intrusive. We had such an enjoyable stay we've decided to make it an annual event.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
12-Management, Guest Relations Manager at Tregenna Castle Resort, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Thank you very much for your review. We are pleased that you and your friends where able to have a relaxing, enjoyable break.
The Chefs are very grateful for your compliments and send you their thanks.
Thank you also, for your other kind compliments and for rating us with five stars.
We sincerely hope that you make your gathering a regular occurrance and look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dawlish, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

Stayed for 2 nights for my boyfriends birthday. Castle was gorgeous, the staff were really helpful,close to the town and the walk down through the grounds into the town was gorgeous, past the outdoor swimming pools and waterfalls,views of St Ives were amazing! Immaculately clean,breakfast was yum! Weather was atrocious so if weather was better,our stay would have been even better!tea facilities,nice room,cant actually fault this place! we were sad to leave,great weekend!

Room Tip: ours was over the function room and still couldn't hear a thing! great all round!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
12-Management, Guest Relations Manager at Tregenna Castle Resort, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
We all wish your boyfriend a belated happy birthday and hope that he had a wonderful day.
We are very pleased and grateful that you chose to celebrate his special day with us and glad that you enjoyed your time here.
Thank you very much for posting a review and for rating us with five stars.
We sincerely hope that you will come back and visit us again before too long.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torquay, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
145 helpful votes 145 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

Very easy to review the Tregenna, Fabulous, we could not find fault in any department, friendly efficient staff that wanted to please, everything we requested was taken care of.
The Hotel was beautifully decorated and spotlessly clean, the food was lovely, both for breakfast and dinner. Our bedroom was tastefully decorated and all the fixtures and fittings of a high quality both in the room and in our bathroom.
We enjoyed every minute despite the weather not being at its best and the hotel cannot control the weather of course. We had sunshine from all the smiles of all the staff. We will return as soon as we can.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
12-Management, Guest Relations Manager at Tregenna Castle Resort, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Thank you so very much for your wonderful review. Thank you for your flattering description of your room. Thank you for your extremely kind compliments regarding our staff. And thank you for rating us with five stars.
We sincerely anticipate welcoming you back for your next visit and if we could do something about the weather, we would!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tregenna Castle Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tregenna Castle Resort

Address: Treloyan Avenue, St Ives TR26 2DE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Ives
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in St Ives
#9 Romantic Hotel in St Ives
#9 Family Hotel in St Ives
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Tregenna Castle Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tregenna Castle is the ideal holiday choice and perfect venue for your Wedding, Conference or Banquet. The hotel has 80 rooms and a huge range of self catering options. There is a choice of restaurants, bars and swimming pools – complete with jacuzzi, sauna and steam room. A trip to the fully equipped gym can be followed by a visit to the hair and beauty salon, or you can play a range of sports from tennis to croquet. The woodland walks and sub tropical gardens are much loved by visitors and locals and the estate has a challenging 18-hole Presidents Golf Course overlooking St Ives Bay. Catering for families, Castle Kids offers a range of day care activities and is approved by Ofsted as ‘outstanding’. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Tregenna Castle Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tregenna Castle Resort St Ives, Cornwall

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tregenna Castle Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.