We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wedding every day” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Tregenna Castle Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Tregenna Castle Resort to your Saves list
Tregenna Castle Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Treloyan Avenue, St Ives TR26 2DE, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 25 Hotels in St Ives
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“A wedding every day”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2012

To host a wedding everyday, the place must be doing something right...unfortunately we just did not see it. The hotel/castle looks amazing and the reception area follows that look through, however, unfortunately everywhere else just looks very tired. Our room looked like a throw back from the 80's with a CRT tv and internet that was only accessible in the lounges (I couldn't even get a mobile phone signal when in the hotel), but at least it was far enough away from the weddings, otherwise we would have complained. Admittedly, we booked the room through laterooms, so, whilst not particularly impressed with the hotel, also appreciated that we didn't pay a tremendous amount for the stay. The inconsistency at breakfast was a big let down - from being 'forgotten', to served lower than average food.
There was nothing specifically wrong with the room, but a refit is imperative - you could feel the springs of the bed, the bathroom was mouldy, the toiletries were not replaced during our 3 night stay, nor were all the towels replaced, etc. The owners have a fantastic business potential, but need to look at all sectors of the business.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
12-Management, Guest Relations Manager at Tregenna Castle Resort, responded to this review, May 28, 2012
Thank you for your review, we value all comments and opinions as they aid us in improving our service and facilities.
Whilst we do not have a wedding every day, we do host quite a few. We believe that it is because we offer an all around memorable, pleasurable wedding experience and a competitively priced package.
I have passed the issues that you raised to our Housekeeping Manager for his attention.
We are very sorry that we did not meet your expectations, thank you for your business advice and hope that you give us the opportunity to impress you sometime in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,771 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    669
    549
    301
    156
    96
See reviews for
388
962
27
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (614)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wiltshire
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2012

The grounds and location are the highlights of this hotel. Sitting on top a hill it overlooks the town of St Ives and has extensive grounds including a golf course, tennis courts, woodlands walks and a walled sub tropical garden. The walk into town takes about 25 mins but be warned that the climb back up to the hotel is steep so only for the fit. The staff were very friendly and efficient and the rooms are of a good standard though the daily maintenance of the rooms was a bit sloppy at times with toiletries not being replenished and a dirty spoon left. The food is also of a good standard though at times it does tend to be a bit too pub style with chips with everything. The Brasserie is a very nice venue but the bigger restaurant looks a little dated. There are also plenty of public rooms and the hotel often hosts weddings that can use the function rooms so are kept apart from the rest of the guests. One other critisism is the fact that you have to sign for your evening meal after you have finished even though they have already logged the room no.s down when you enter. This procedure isn't stated on the first night and I have never been to another hotel where you have to sign the bill like this. An irritating and pointless practice. All in all though a great hotel to be thoroughly recommended.

Room Tip: Choose a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
12-Management, Guest Relations Manager at Tregenna Castle Resort, responded to this review, May 28, 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review, we are very happy that you thoroughly enjoyed your visit and will recommend us, to others.
I have passed your issue regarding the housekeeping on to the relevant manager for his attention in that matter.
With regard to the practise of signing the bill; this is to prevent any confusion arising upon check out and also to afford you, as the guest, the opportunity to verify the amount being charged to your account.
We sincerely hope to welcome you back to Tregenna Castle Hotel again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trowbridge Wiltshire
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2012

Recently stayed near st Ives camping for the week- after a few VERY wet days we thought we would treat ourselves and book into the Tregenna castle as we saw a fantastic deal on Laterooms. We pulled up and our jaws dropped! what a beautiful building in the most stunning grounds! The reception was so inviting, staff was very friendly, smiley and helpful. I honestly cannot fault this hotel! it is amazing! our room was very big with views over St ives. We walked around the grounds and walked to St ives which is such a lovely walk... not so fun going back up hill but hey a little exercise never hurts know body. We used the leisure facilities which also didnt disappoint, indoor swimming pool, jacuzzi, steam room, sauna and a very big gym! all clean and well maintained. Not only that but we got breakfast included in the price which was also amazing! cooked breakfast, fruits, juices, cereal, toast, everything you want for a good breakfast! The service at breakfast was brilliant as well. If you are looking for a relaxing get away in St ives this is definatly the place! We done it last minute but are now looking at going there for our holiday next year. Well done Tregenna keep up the good work :) x

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
12-Management, Guest Relations Manager at Tregenna Castle Resort, responded to this review, May 28, 2012
Wow! Thank you for such a flattering review and also, thank you for rating us with five stars.
Although we were sorry to hear that you got wet camping, we were pleased that it brought you to us and that you enjoyed your time here.
It was good to learn that you made use of our facilities and even better to learn that you want to come back.
We look forward to welcoming you back, when you do.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leamington Spa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2012

Having booked to stay at the Tregenna Castle through Secret Escapes we had to cancel due to tragic personal circumstances. On the phone the hotel agreed to reschedule our stay in October which we agreed to and were delighted with. However when we came to confirm our booking they refused to honour the agreement and went back on their offer and refused to refund the payment. Secret Escapes and ourselves were shocked by the attitude of the management and I would never consider staying at this hotel again. Secret Escapes have kindly refunded the payment but it is my understanding that the Tregenna Castle flatly refused. Quite astonishing attitude and not a pleasant experience.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
12-Management, Guest Relations Manager at Tregenna Castle Resort, responded to this review, May 28, 2012
Whilst we completely sympathise with your circumstance and offer our sincere heartfelt condolences, we do take umbrage at your review.
We did agree to reschedule your stay, even though we were under no obligation to do so. In fact, the terms of your booking, through Secret Escapes, state: ''The offer is 100% non-refundable and date changes are not possible once this booking has been made.' We did offer to refund your money and have, in fact, done so already.
We have been in contact with Secret Escapes and they deny making the statement that you claim that they made.
We decided not to rescheduled your visit again (what would amount to the third time.), as you did not notifiy us that you would be failing to arrive for the rescheduled date, as well as shouting at members of our staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cornwall
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2012

Stayed in May as part of wedding party, had a sea view on ground floor which was amazing view. I think the rooms a bit over priced for what you get. Had use of the pool etc but was expecting a bit more in room ie bathroom could of been modernised, great shower but in bath so couldn't get right under as toes hit curve of bath. Food was fantastic as being veggie but choice for breakfast not as good, others stayed in St Ives they had kippers and haddock on menu no extra cost.. The grounds are lovely and the day went without any hiccups!!

Room Tip: Get sea view on top floor if you can afford it!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
12-Management, Guest Relations Manager at Tregenna Castle Resort, responded to this review, May 24, 2012
Thank you for posting a review. We are very glad that the wedding you attended went well and that you enjoyed your stay.
I have passed your compliments along to the Executive Chef and he sends his appreciation.
We sincerely hope that we did enough to prompt a return and look forward to welcoming you back, if you do.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2012

I was travelling with my boyfriend to learn a bit more about his business. The grounds were fantastic, as were the decor. The staff were pleasent enough, the room was clean and tidy. My main moan was about the food, being Coeliac I am a bit limited to what I can eat, also with what i like. My evening meal after waiting a good 15 mins, consisted of chips and vegetables, which were 2 separate items on the menu and came on 2 different plates. No one from the kitchen came to speak to me, the barman dealt with situation and i had asked could it be on the same plate. Braekfast was not much better with only a small amount of what i could eat as they had run out.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
12-Management, Guest Relations Manager at Tregenna Castle Resort, responded to this review, May 21, 2012
Thank you very much fo taking the time to post a review. We are pleased that overall you had a pleasant stay and in general we met with your approval.
I am sorry that we did not meet your expectations with regard to your dietary requirements. I have passed your issues along to our Executive Chef for his attention.
Should you return, and we sincerely hope that you do, we will not make the same mistake again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2012

I had a room on the second floor of the hotel, looking towards the sea and let me start by saying the views are wonderful. However, although the room was a good size and it had a small dressing/ storage area, For just under £200 per night in May, the hotel should be a lot better. Rooms are old and in desperate need of some modernising. The plumbing is in need of replacing. The shower is a fitment in the bath and to get wet one really needs to move around under it.
I also found the breakfast menu (self service) ordinary and for the price I paid, cold meat and cheese should have been included and one would not expect to pay extra for kippers or haddock.
The one saving grace is that it has a gym and swimming pool and the grounds are lovely.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
12-Management, Guest Relations Manager at Tregenna Castle Resort, responded to this review, May 21, 2012
Thank you for your review and also for the compliments regarding the grounds, leisure centre and views.
We have a programme of scheduled maintenance underway and will be addressing all the issues that you raised, in due course.
Bearing in mind the facilities that we offer, here at Tregenna Castle Hotel, we feel that our rates are competitve, realistic and comparable to the other three star hotels in the area. We consistently offer special rates and packages at a reduced tariff.
We hope that you will visit us again and look forward to welcoming you back, if you do.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tregenna Castle Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tregenna Castle Resort

Address: Treloyan Avenue, St Ives TR26 2DE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Ives
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in St Ives
#7 Family Hotel in St Ives
#10 Romantic Hotel in St Ives
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Tregenna Castle Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tregenna Castle is the ideal holiday choice and perfect venue for your Wedding, Conference or Banquet. The hotel has 80 rooms and a huge range of self catering options. There is a choice of restaurants, bars and swimming pools – complete with jacuzzi, sauna and steam room. A trip to the fully equipped gym can be followed by a visit to the hair and beauty salon, or you can play a range of sports from tennis to croquet. The woodland walks and sub tropical gardens are much loved by visitors and locals and the estate has a challenging 18-hole Presidents Golf Course overlooking St Ives Bay. Catering for families, Castle Kids offers a range of day care activities and is approved by Ofsted as ‘outstanding’. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and Odigeo so you can book your Tregenna Castle Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tregenna Castle Resort St Ives, Cornwall

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tregenna Castle Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.