We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An excellent place to stay and have a wedding” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tregenna Castle Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Tregenna Castle Resort to your Saves list
Tregenna Castle Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Treloyan Avenue, St Ives TR26 2DE, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 25 Hotels in St Ives
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“An excellent place to stay and have a wedding”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2011 via mobile

I got married at tregenna I was so pleased with how the day went , how they decorated the room for me they did it exactly how I pictured it in my mind to be , I would highly recommend anyone getting married to book their wedding there , their food was lovely and all of my guests were really happy with everything too

  • Stayed October 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OpsDir, Manager at Tregenna Castle Resort, responded to this review, September 19, 2011
Wow! Five stars in every category, thank you so much! We're so very pleased that you had a fairytale wedding day and wish you both all the very best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,593 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    591
    488
    272
    147
    95
See reviews for
358
844
26
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (532)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2011

we had a gorgeous time at tregenna castle this august! hotel with it's amazing view's, gardens and walk's added with all the facilities made our stay very relaxing...staff were very friendly and helpful and we had evening meal's most night's! food excellent! feel very lucky to have had our holiday here and cant wait to come back next year! the price family

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OpsDir, Manager at Tregenna Castle Resort, responded to this review, September 19, 2011
Thank you very much for your lovely review, we're delighted that you had such a great holiday with us. See you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2011

The Jackson Family love Tregenna Castle. Our self catering accomodation was fantastic, we could not fault it at all. The grounds are beautiful and very well maintained. Our family enjoyed both the pools and the gardens. In particular we all enjoyed the family entertainment that was provided for approximately an hour in the evenings. It was delightful and was nice ti mingle with other guests there. The staff were fantastic and when our youngest child fell asleep at the dinner table they arranged for our food to be parceled up so we could take it back with us. Its a holiday full of happy memories we would certainly recommend.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OpsDir, Manager at Tregenna Castle Resort, responded to this review, September 14, 2011
... and Tregenna Castle love the Jackson family! We're so glad you had such a lovely time with us. Did you manage to see the falconry displays - they are amazing! We're pleased that you were able to meet other guests at the entertainment, we aim to make Tregenna a great place for families, so we are glad that your family enjoyed their stay. Do come and visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011 via mobile

Booked to stay for long weekend, stunning website. grounds beautiful with woodland walks. Bedroom very basic but ok- clean and simple. Bathroom - paint peeling off Walls, bath chipped in several places and tiles cracked. Reception offered us our second night in a cottage on site which looked better but smelt damp and musty. We decided to just come early- receptionist refunded our night that we didn't stay for but still charged us for daily paper which I felt was awful. After speaking to manager, had an apology and also some extra money refunded as apology for upset. Was told that discount rate was because the hotel was in process of refurbishment. However, discount rate was still nearly £90 for one night. Wouldn't stay again but at least manager gave us an apology.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

I am a regular B&B visitor to Cornwall and have paid similar to this (£190 for 2 nights, Fri & Sat, large family room) and recieved a lot worse. On the whole, I thought it was good value. I do not expect 5-star treatment, for a 3-star price; you get what you pay for in this world and sometimes you strike lucky. Tregenna Castle is above average.
Our room was comfortable, clean and spacious. The only fault was the shower which (to be fair) was inadequate. However, there was plentiful hot water and the bath filled quickly.
Breakfast was well above average. Me and my partner B&B 4+ times a year and this breakfast was a good 4 out of 5. Considering it was a large hotel catering for about 120+ guests it did a better job than some B&B's catering for less than 4 people.
The staff were pleasant and helpful.
The outdoor pool was excellent and kept at a good temperature, and me and my son enjoyed it even in the rain.
The gardens were spectacular, and there is nowhere that I know of in St Ives (or in Cornwall) that can compare. It meant that the hotel was always peaceful and relaxing.
Parking is always a problem in St Ives, but at Tregenna there is ample free parking (if a B&B in St Ives does not offer parking, it costs about £10 for 24 hrs at the car-park) and the walk into town is an easy one going in and if you cannot cope with the uphill return, a taxi to the hotel door costs a fiver.
Would I go back again? Yes.

Room Tip: If you can, pay a little more for a sea-view - spectacular!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OpsDir, Manager at Tregenna Castle Resort, responded to this review, September 13, 2011
Thank you for writing such a positive review, we are delighted you enjoyed your time with us and particularly liked the pool and gardens. We are so pleased that you think that nowhere else in St.Ives (or Cornwall) can compare. This is how we feel too! We hope that we will see you again soon for another warm welcome.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bude, Cornwall
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2011

Lovely position. Staff excellent and always helpful. Food v good. Wonderful spa treatments. also benefits from an excellent hairdresser on site.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OpsDir, Manager at Tregenna Castle Resort, responded to this review, September 12, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review. We will pass your comments on to our team. We hope you are still feeling relaxed after your spa treatments and that you will visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
213 reviews 213 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
135 helpful votes 135 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2011

Booked a short special offer break. Impressive looking place, great views. Internally also impressive in the public areas. Our room was a bit dated, but we knew the place was not a new build. Staff looked after my coeliac diet ok at breakfast, and the one evening meal we had in the restaurant.
On 3rd day there was a wedding taking place, but did not affect our stay.
Would stay again, but probably only if another special offer.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OpsDir, Manager at Tregenna Castle Resort, responded to this review, September 12, 2011
We are so glad that you enjoyed your short break and that you could take advantage of one of our special offers. We have offers regularly, so do keep an eye on our website and also our Facebook and Twitter accounts as we would love to see you for another Cornish visit soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tregenna Castle Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tregenna Castle Resort

Address: Treloyan Avenue, St Ives TR26 2DE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Ives
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in St Ives
#9 Family Hotel in St Ives
#10 Romantic Hotel in St Ives
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Tregenna Castle Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tregenna Castle is the ideal holiday choice and perfect venue for your Wedding, Conference or Banquet. The hotel has 80 rooms and a huge range of self catering options. There is a choice of restaurants, bars and swimming pools – complete with jacuzzi, sauna and steam room. A trip to the fully equipped gym can be followed by a visit to the hair and beauty salon, or you can play a range of sports from tennis to croquet. The woodland walks and sub tropical gardens are much loved by visitors and locals and the estate has a challenging 18-hole Presidents Golf Course overlooking St Ives Bay. Catering for families, Castle Kids offers a range of day care activities and is approved by Ofsted as ‘outstanding’. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Tregenna Castle Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tregenna Castle Resort St Ives, Cornwall

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tregenna Castle Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.