We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location & a great place for music lovers.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Western Hotel

Save Saved
You added Western Hotel to your Saves list
Western Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Western Hotel
Royal Square, St Ives TR26 2ND, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 25 hotels in St Ives
Weymouth
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good location & a great place for music lovers.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

Despite the previous reviews I found my room, overlooking the main road, comfortable and clean. Yes, you may have to park 'up the hill' but the taxi rank and bus stop is directly outside and the hotel is in an ideal position from which to do a walking tour the town and harbour areas. The staff were friendly and offered a great choice of breakfast. This is an idea location for 'music' lovers with live music in the downstairs adjoining bar every night ranging from folk, jazz, rock, singer/songwriter nights and open mikes and it's not only for the 'young'. I am a 'young at heart' pensioner and found it to be a friendly and enjoyable atmosphere and the late night noise was no more than any other central location. I would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    6
    14
    14
    7
    8
See reviews for
6
27
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Newquay, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

The double room was tiny... we are not big people, but we had to take it in turns to stand up!
The bed was not very comfortable.
The 'ensuite' would prove of extreme interest to anyone with an appreciation for bizarre/unreliable plumbing.
The breakfast was the best value. There is also a healthy folk club based in the pub downstairs a couple of nights pr week. The leisure centre swimming pool is quite close and an excellent facility
Would advise to stay outside the centre of st Ives..you will get much better value for your money!
I live in Cornwall and felt that the prices being charged were way out of line with the rest of the county

Room Tip: Stay outside the centre of st Ives..you will get much better value for your money! I live in Cornwal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here mix summer holidays! Arrived and struggled to park in St Ives, website said limited parking but there was none affiliated with the hotel. Got upstairs to our room to find an old dust sheet outside the bedroom door- the room was very basic- found 2 long hairs on the top of the duvet, an old used UHT milk pot ( which wasn't removed with a room clean until the last day), there was no towel rail to dry towels on, the shower curtain rail was loose from the ceiling and held on by duck tape! The breakfast was fantastic and certainly redeemed the stay. The ladies who served were really kind, attentive. It was basic but as a place to stay it was sufficient! Not quite the quality for the money!!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

Stayed here at the beginning of September having been there about 12 years ago. It hadn't changed much. The rooms are small and a bit dated and not at all value at the £90 a night we paid. The shower room is like someone said, more like a caravan shower. It was so small, you had to come out into the main room to be able to dry yourself fully.

All that said, you couldn't get a more central location and for that reason, I would pay the £90 per night again. There is no parking but go back up the hill to the roundabout and turn left and there is a car park at £6.40 for 24 hours...half the price of the one halfway up the hill plus there are steps down from the car park to close by the hotel and you can leave your car there most of the day.

Breakfast has also been mentioned previously. When booking online, we were given the option of breakfast for £5 each per day and we took it. Well worth it...nicely done and good quality.

So all in all, some of the rooms need a makeover but I would definately stay here again for the location and breakfast alone.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monmouth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

Generally this hotel needs updating, new carpets, lose the dated wallpaper and add a flushing toilet. Attention to detail is lacking with fittings removed from walls and left as is, bare plasterboard on the ceiling in room 1 and 2 single beds pushed together in room 5 masquerading as a queensize bed but i had a lovely holiday. If you just want somewhere to lay your head with lovely helpful friendly staff and a gorgeous breakfast then you will be very happy. The bacon is the nicest I have ever had. Would stay again as fitted us in last minute for the bank holiday but it wasnt cheap. Breakfast is normally £4.95 but free that weekend as their card payment machine was broken which meant all guests had to pay cash...a token for the inconvenience. £270 for 3 nights either bring your A game or lower the prices.

Room Tip: not room 5 if you want to sleep as overlooks beer garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Droitwich, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012 via mobile

Having had. Really bad experience at the last "hotel" we stayed at in St Ives we decided to do a lot more research via TA. We discovered this hotel at a peak season price of just £80 for a double room.

+tive - room was clean if a bit small but with a good view of the town. centre.
Staff were very accomodating and allowed us to park our bike in what appeared to be the owners personal garage.
Town centre and sea front are 2 minutes walk.
The hotel has its own pub attached!
Breakfast was lovely - full English (especially the bacon which was a world apart from super market stuff)

- tive the reception could have been a bit cleaner but not bad offset by nice pictures in all corridors
TV signal was weak on some channels - unfortunately we missed late night Olympic summaries.

Overall - Good value in a great location. We will go back.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Yorkshire
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

This hotel was in a good location to walk to the nearby shops,bars,beach. The car park is up a very steep hill 5 minutes or so walk away, and if not careful could pay a small fortune to park two different prices in each car park.The hotel is rather shabby, think it may have recently been taken over. Our bedroom which was on the first floor on the front was very noisy, was clean but very basic.Walls also very thin within the hotel. En-suite only just, more like a caravan port a loo and shower, glad we only had a couple of nights there. Television never seemed to work, but free wi-fi did so could watch the olympics on that .Kettle provided and basic stuff, staff friendly enough a downstairs bar with live local music that was ok. Breakfast included in the price and that was very nice and good value plenty of choice. Would I stop here again, only if could not get something in similar position or nearby again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Western Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Western Hotel

Address: Royal Square, St Ives TR26 2ND, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Ives
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in St Ives
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located right in the centre of town, close to the local art galleries, restaurants, shops, harbour and beaches. Sixteen en-suite bedrooms including doubles, twins and singles. A great place to stay in the heart of town. The hotel has a large function room which can cater for a variety of events and occasions - parties, weddings and other functions. Wireless broadband available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Western Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Western Hotel St Ives, Cornwall

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Western Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.