We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Pels

Pels
Harts Building, The Wharf, St Ives TR26 1LP, England
01736 795006
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 122 Restaurants in St Ives
Price range: $0 - $10
Cuisines: Fast Food
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Takeout, Late Night
Description: St. Ives seafront take-out and small cafe specialising in home cooked food,
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

We visited Cornwall last year and enjoyed the most amazing crepe this side of the Channel. This year I was so looking forward to getting back and having another. Unfortunately we got sat down at around 2pm with our 18month old (imagine...pushchair and all the other kit!) and my husband went up to the counter to order 2 coffees, cake and a crepe. We were told that we couldnt have them as it was lunchtime!!! Absolutely astounded...we left and promised the owner never to return and also to let everyone know how you are treated if you dont meet their lunchtime 'threshold spend' requirement? I would add that the message was also very rudely delivered. As we left, a group of 10 ladies entered who also wanted tea and cake and guess what? They turned them away too!!! This is a small cafe and surely it would have been better to have a full cafe at 2pm than an empty one???? Good luck with that business model!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pelsofstives, Owner at Pels, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Thanks for the review - really sorry that you were disappointed especially as you had found the crepes so amazing the previous year. We have to limit customers to food orders only between 12-2.30pm - as a very small cafe we have to maximise our business to protect the jobs of the people we employ. Many of our regulars complain about the fact that they want to have lunch but can't as tables are blocked by people with a cup of tea/coffee. There does seem to have been some confusion about your order as all we heard was an order for 2 drinks and 1 piece of cake. We didn't hear that you also wanted a crepe - despite me repeating the order back to you. Ordering crepes at lunchtime is ok. Just to correct you about the 6 (not 10) ladies that arrived after you - they only wanted tea (no cakes) and returned after 2.30pm - the tables vacated were filled within 5 minutes with lunch orders. However, sincere apologies.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    127
    43
    11
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
England
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Small relaxing cafe right by the sea of St Ives”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

We visited this café for the first time and the food was excellent. The crepes are to 'die for' and I had the strawberry and chocolate one - so delicious. I also had smoked mackerel which was cooked to perfection and what I really liked about this place was the prices. A lot of places in St Ives are overpriced and take advantage of the visitors but I found this place to be extremely good value for money and good quality food. Service was also very good and the staff were very friendly and made you feel welcome. It is a small place with not many seats inside but if you are lucky enough to get a seat, you will not be disappointed.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cirencester, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Cosy and personal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

Looking for a late light lunch we just stumbled in here and we were pleasantly surprised. Service was good and personal and the thing to have is the Crepes - all made to order and just right - with a variety of fillings.
This was out of season and still busy but the place is small and cramped so not a relaxing atmosphere but perfectly acceptable as you are in a busy part of town.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swanage, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Husbands best vegeburger in 44 years”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

Stopped at St Ives for light dinner after long drive from Swanage, before staying the weekend in Penzance with husband, 15 year old daughter and mother, aged 92. Service was quick, all staff very calm and quietly friendly, just what we needed after our journey. Service quick, all food exactly what everyone wanted, even my slightly hard to please Mum loved her soup. My husband has been vegetarian since he was 15 and has had a huge number of vegeburgers in his time, and found these to be the best ever. On top of all this, Pels is right on the sea front of beautiful St Ives, and was also very reasonably priced. Would certainly want to go again next time we are in St Ives.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Scrumptious crepes”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

Really delicious crepes and very friendly service. The owner is a charming man who makes sure that there's great homemade tasty food available.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pels also viewed

St Ives, Cornwall
 

Been to Pels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pels, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.