We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Service and Food!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Tea Room

The Tea Room
1 Wharf House | The Wharf, St Ives TR26 1PG, England
+44 1736 794325
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 124 Restaurants in St Ives
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: English
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Serves Alcohol
Description: The Tea Room is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner. All our cakes, scones and tarts are made by hand in our kitchen and we use only the best local meat, fish and vegetables in our restaurant. Almost everything on the menu is also available gluten free. We have the most amazing Harbour view!
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
148 reviews 148 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Fantastic Service and Food!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Had afternoon tea after an energetic sightseeing trip to St Ives and this place is a testament to the very best that Cornwall has to offer. A place that is full of choices of tea and knowledgeably prepared to the highest standards and whilst the place gets a little busy, the wait for the service is worthwhile and food quality excellent! the views over the bay are magnificent and the overall value great. If you're going to St Ives, make this a must stop place in your whistle-stop tour!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

394 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    308
    63
    19
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
wolverhampton
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“very average”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

why this is rated so high no idea, same old snacks and average coffee, if your passing and need a sit down, fine but nothing to write home about and its pricey

  • Visited August 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Perfect in every way!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

We had lunch in The Tea Room last week and it was totally delicious! Cream Tea for me - yummy scones etc and fab tea = tick! Hot Chocolate for the old man and kids - delicious = tick! Food they had - scoffed and enjoyed = tick! Service from the extremely friendly owner - fantastic. The view and tea room itself - beautiful.

A huge array of gluten free options = tick! We will definately return with my coeliac Mum who will be delighted be such gf choice when normally limited in a tea room.

As I said, perfect in every way and the incredibly quick turnaround in eager customers means that we arent the only ones who feel so satisfied!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Victoria Sponge Rules”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

The cakes here are just the best - I had a Victoria Sponge that has restored my faith in what a great Victoria sponge should be like. In fact it has become my gold standard. . . And to add the icing to the cake the Earl Grey tea was perfect. So glad we came here, staff, service and CAKE was fab!!!!!!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Ives, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“If you love tea (by the sea!) this is the place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

Wow! this is a tea room with a variety of speciality loose leaf teas beautifully served in china tea pots! Choose from the classic teas, black teas, green teas, white teas, infusions, plus coffees, hot chocolates and cold drinks. There are also light lunches and delicious home made cakes! The scambled egg was mouth-wateringly perfect as was the fresh toast and honey marmalade! The service was excellent and the view absolutely beautiful. It is a number one place to escape, relax and enjoy!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Tea Room also viewed

 

Been to The Tea Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Tea Room, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.