We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely view....” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pizza Express

Pizza Express
The Wharf, St Ives TR26 1HE , England
01736 797695 TR26 1HE
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #73 of 105 Restaurants in St Ives
Cuisines: Pizza
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Bedford
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“Lovely view....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

We're on holiday in St.Ives and like to sample different restaurants. Unfortunately we hadn't booked anywhere. We were able to get in pizza express. The staff were really good and seemed to be enjoying their jobs. The starter was delivered quickly and tasted fine. The main meal, sloppy guiseppe was very good and was nice and hot. We won't rush back but only because there are so many good places to try in St. Ives.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    42
    37
    26
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Ripoff - Pels is far nicer”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013 via mobile

Nice restaurant, friendly staff with quick service. But the attempt at posh pizza fails to impress.
Pizza was cold by the time we'd finished the first half. Garlic bread was a complete ripoff at £4 per slice and the chips were more like a waffle cut into strips with a dusting of herbs, arranged Jenga style. the coca cola was nice.
Definitely Wong be gong back, Pels a bit further along the harbour is far nicer and better value.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Overpriced and pretentious”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

Quite busy when we arrived, but that is no excuse for leaving us waiting more than 10 minutes for our (booked) table. Menu was limited and the pizza, when it finally arrived was bland and limp. Very difficult to get the attention of any of the staff to order extra drinks and desserts so we left and had a waffle from a nearby shop, which was excellent and half the price of desserts in pizza express. Won't visit again.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, S.Wales.UK
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
194 helpful votes 194 helpful votes
“fab!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

Loved it! Really friendly staff. child friendly. all the staff had a chat with us. gave us time to eat. would go back there in a flash!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Not the best we've visited”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

Excellent location with great views over the harbour. However, our eldest sons starter arrived about 5 minutes after everyone elses and then the same thing happened with his main course. Had to ask both times what had happened to his meal. When his main course finally arrived it was badly overcooked with black burnt pasta.

The staff did not quibble with our complaint and only charged us for one child's meal rather than two, which was acceptable to us. Would have been a three star review, but with the issues described I feel I can only give it two.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pizza Express also viewed

 

Been to Pizza Express? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pizza Express, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.