We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pricey but great food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Seagrass

Seagrass
Fish Street, St Ives, England
+44 1736 793763
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 122 Restaurants in St Ives
Price range: $8 - $36
Cuisines: Seafood, Contemporary, Bistro, Oyster Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: AA Rosette restaurant in St Ives - just a few metres up from Harbour Beach. An intimate & contemporary restaurant, serving modern British cuisine including locally caught fish & seafood straight from the bay, meat dishes and vegetarian options. Also available - Oyster and Shells menu, featuring oysters, lobster, crab, langoustine, Fruit de Mer and more! Bar area for drinks only, offering an extensive wine, drinks and cocktail menu. Open for dinner from 6pm daily for A la Carte and fixed price menu - 2 course £16.95/3 Course £19.95. (Autumn/Winter opening times apply). Recently featured in The Good Food Guide, Hardens and The Michelin Guide. Restaurant available for private hire (weddings/birthday parties). Private dining available.
Camberley, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Pricey but great food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014 via mobile

We shared a night out with friends in St Ives and booked Seagrass. You have to book early to get in here! Its a nice small place, and has a very intimate atmosphere. The menu as might expect is full of divine sea food dishes, we were disappointed that we had not been told on booking that the "Fruits of the sea" dish needed a 24 hour pre-order lead time. We would have picked this if we had been told on booking!!! We picked the next best thing - a sea food platter / selection. We ordered 2 sharing dishes for 4 and could have easily had 1 between 4, they were huge. We had good wine and great deserts. Over all a good meal. It is at the high end in St Ives so be prepared.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

779 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    550
    136
    62
    22
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Lovely atmosphere and great quality food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014

The restaurant is quite small so ensure you book, there is a lovely selection of food which is all fantastic quality. I had the pork terrine to start which was amazing followed by the mussels which were also lovely! great staff in a nice surrounding.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Charming St Ives restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014

If you're looking for somewhere a little bit special to eat in St Ives, then this is it. Although small and tucked away with no sea views, the ambiance is great and the food delightful. I particularly enjoyed the scallop starter and the fish to follow (ling) was super fresh. As for dessert - sticky toffee pud, mmmnn!

I would thoroughly recommend this restaurant.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clacton-on-Sea, England, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Loved it all!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014

From the atmosphere to the very friendly staff to the amazing food we could not fault this place.

Even our resident veggie and our picky eater where happy bunnies :-)

If you are in St Ives you really should visit Seagrass...you won't be disappointed!

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Alright”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

Well, it was alright but at those prices it should have whistles and bells and a brass band. We ordered oysters, three for £9.95 as a taster... and they were fine. Just fine, not big and bold and tasting of the sea but OK. The big disappointment was the lobster at £64 for two (half a lobster each) we ordered it hot with thermidor sauce (an extra £2.95, c'mon that's just ridiculous) only the lobster wasn't hot, the meat was cold, chilled even, having obviously been cooked previously. Only it shouldn't have been sat there waiting... or running round the kitchen trying to escape being cooked to order... should have been white and succulent... instead of white and just about alright. The sides were stingy, a tiny dish of new potatoes and two bits of bread to share between the two of us. Te one high note was the wine, only if I'd just wanted a good bottle of wine I'd have gone to an off license, not a seafood restaurant. So the verdict is over-priced and not that nice.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Seagrass also viewed

 
 

Been to Seagrass? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Seagrass, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.