We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good food.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Seagrass

Seagrass
Fish Street, St Ives TR26 1LT, England
+44 1736 793763
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 124 Restaurants in St Ives
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $8 - $38
Cuisines: Seafood, Contemporary, Bistro, Oyster Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients, Local cuisine, Romantic, Doing business, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: AA Rosette restaurant in St Ives - just a few metres up from Harbour Beach. An intimate & contemporary restaurant, serving modern British cuisine including locally caught fish & seafood straight from the bay, meat dishes and vegetarian options. Also available - Oyster and Shells menu, featuring oysters, lobster, crab, langoustine, Fruit de Mer and more! Bar area for drinks only, offering an extensive wine, drinks and cocktail menu. Open for dinner from 6pm daily for A la Carte and fixed price menu - 2 course £16.95/3 Course £19.95. (Autumn/Winter opening times apply). Recently featured in The Good Food Guide, Hardens and The Michelin Guide. Restaurant available for private hire (weddings/birthday parties). Private dining available.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Very good food.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

Booking is a must, we couldn't get in the first night we tried but we persevered and came in on a Friday night and it was pretty much full.
We chose off the fixed price menu which comes in at three courses for about £20 and it was great. I had the squid followed by the pheasant and my partner had the halloumi, also followed by the pheasant.
Service was excellent and the food was great. The bottle of wine we had was also delicious and the atmosphere in the restaurant could not be faulted.I am glad we got a booking in the end and we wouldn't hesitate to come here again.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

815 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    576
    142
    65
    23
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Colchester
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Amazing food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

Very friendly staff and very accomodating to accept our late reservation for a Saturday night. The Seagrass Mojito is highly recommended to start things off and the quality of the food is exceptional. We would not hesitate to go back again the next time we are staying in St Ives.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Disappointing if being honest”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

I hate to write anything negative and put this one down to an off form night, I hope.

It was a quiet Monday eve so was easy to get in for an I booked tank which was good.

Starters were perfect, super tasty in fact with a crab cocktail and a pork rosette so we were off to a good start.

Mains were where we fell over. My sea food risotto was well presented but tasted of nothing but butter, couldn't even taste the seemingly lovely soft mussels and nicely cooked prawns for the butter. Maybe Cornish butter is extra creamy but for me as a non local it was spoilt.

My wife's Ling wrapped in Parma ham was tasteless and the broth watery and tasteless and floating in oil, possibly from the ham. Loads of salt and pepper didn't improve things.

Sorry for this review as with all the previous great reviews we had high hopes for a tasty evening but grabbed the bill and left as were disappointed in the end.

Really sorry.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Stunning food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

Great food, warm and friendly service- just right, attentive but not in your face. Very tasteful interior decoration- but the food does the talking- will definately be back!

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Wow”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014 via mobile

Seagrass is the tiniest little restaurant so we were very pleasantly surprised that they were able to offer us a table with a short wait. The seafood we ate here however is some of the best I have had in UK. Scallops and langoustines were so fresh and yen presentation was amazing.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Seagrass also viewed

 

Been to Seagrass? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Seagrass, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.