We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely meal” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Seagrass

Seagrass
Fish Street, St Ives, England
+44 1736 793763
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 122 Restaurants in St Ives
Price range: $8 - $36
Cuisines: Seafood, Contemporary, Bistro, Oyster Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: AA Rosette restaurant in St Ives - just a few metres up from Harbour Beach. An intimate & contemporary restaurant, serving modern British cuisine including locally caught fish & seafood straight from the bay, meat dishes and vegetarian options. Also available - Oyster and Shells menu, featuring oysters, lobster, crab, langoustine, Fruit de Mer and more! Bar area for drinks only, offering an extensive wine, drinks and cocktail menu. Open for dinner from 6pm daily for A la Carte and fixed price menu - 2 course £16.95/3 Course £19.95. (Autumn/Winter opening times apply). Recently featured in The Good Food Guide, Hardens and The Michelin Guide. Restaurant available for private hire (weddings/birthday parties). Private dining available.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“Lovely meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

Seagrass - lovely atmosphere in a quaint restaurant. Very helpful staff and lovely menu. Food was delicious and of a great standard but would have benefitted from slightly more mussels and more crab meat in the linguine for the price paid. Would recommend to friends

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

781 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    552
    136
    62
    22
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great for simple fine dining nite out”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013 via mobile

Had a dinner with my friend. Simple. Easy going. Food tastes as 2aa:fresh,infused and clean! Will be back !

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

Absolutely loved it here. The squid, moules, scallops, bouillabaisse and sole we had were delicious as were the desserts (crème brulée and an utterly fabulous chocolate orange torte).

Good selection of wines and lovely ciabatta and olives with our aperitifs.

These guys know their stuff.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Fantastic food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

It took us a long time to decide on our choices as there was just so much we wanted to eat. The staff are friendly and efficient. I made the reservation via the Internet. The food here is always artfully presented and extremely fresh. We chose scallops and blow torched calamari - both melt in the mouth! We waited quite a while for our main course because I chose a whole fish but we were kept updated. Both our Sole choices were fantastic. No room for deserts! Decor is great and we love t,he bar area!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stone, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Very enjoyable meal, lovely atmosphere, friendly staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

We spotted this restaurant while walking through St Ives and looking at the comments on trip advisor decided to book a table for later on in the week. (I would recommend booking).
The food was really good, some great fish choices served with some inspired accompaniments.
The wine menu was good, complimenting the food on offer.
The staff were friendly and very attentive and overall there was a lovely atmosphere from this small restaurant.
I would recommend it for the food, the rest is a bonus.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Seagrass also viewed

 
 

Been to Seagrass? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Seagrass, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.