We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful experience (x2)” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Seagrass

Seagrass
Fish Street, St Ives, England
+44 1736 793763
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 122 Restaurants in St Ives
Price range: $8 - $36
Cuisines: Seafood, Contemporary, Bistro, Oyster Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: AA Rosette restaurant in St Ives - just a few metres up from Harbour Beach. An intimate & contemporary restaurant, serving modern British cuisine including locally caught fish & seafood straight from the bay, meat dishes and vegetarian options. Also available - Oyster and Shells menu, featuring oysters, lobster, crab, langoustine, Fruit de Mer and more! Bar area for drinks only, offering an extensive wine, drinks and cocktail menu. Open for dinner from 6pm daily for A la Carte and fixed price menu - 2 course £16.95/3 Course £19.95. (Autumn/Winter opening times apply). Recently featured in The Good Food Guide, Hardens and The Michelin Guide. Restaurant available for private hire (weddings/birthday parties). Private dining available.
Potton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
425 helpful votes 425 helpful votes
“Delightful experience (x2)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

In my opinion Seagrass is the best restaurant in St Ives. I rate it so highly that my wife and I went there twice in three days. There is nowhere else that I would rather sign off our Cornish sojourn than this temple of fine dining, so we did just that.
The new menu is a delight and over the two visits (with our son on the first, also on his last evening before leaving Cornwall) we had a large proportion of the selections available. Without exception they were all excellent, but I would like to single out the hay smoked salmon nicoise starter and the amazing smoked leek with the superb beef fillet.
Our waitress, Isabel, was charming, knowledgable and professional.
In case you feel that I have gone over the top with my praise, let me balance it with a small criticism. The mark up on fizz is too high. Camel Valley Brut at £45 is steep, as is the NZ fizz and the champagne. It seems a little odd when the still wines are well priced.
Enough of that though, this is a wonderful restaurant.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

781 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    552
    136
    62
    22
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic seafood”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013 via mobile

Really fresh, wonderfully well cooked seafood in a little restaurant just off the harbour. The food was interesting and just a little unusual without it feeling like the chef was trying to be too clever, relying on the quality of ingredients with just a little twist.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Delight”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

What a wonderful find! My wife and I had 3 different dishes each and everyone was superb. Will be back.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“An off day?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013 via mobile

Liked the menu - service was very good, drinks good food ok - not sure if it was jut an off day at the office eg chips not cooked enough/raw potato. Would go again though as it deserves another chance.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JuliaSeagrass, Owner at Seagrass, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Hello - thank you for your review and sorry to hear about the chips! As discussed, since your visit at the beginning of May, we have changed our potato variety as we had a few similar issues - the ones we are using now are far better and so hopefully we wont have that problem again - we look forward to seeing you again in August. Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woking, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Third visit and just as good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013 via mobile

Seagrass has become an integral part of our annual visit to West Cornwall. It's our third visit, and despite the "Celebrity" Masterchef moving on a month or so, the kitchen still turns out good quality food that comes as a welcome break from the fish n chip fodder served up by a number of eateries along the seafront.

Seagrass has never be afraid of challenging the tastebuds with interesting ingredient combinations. Mostly, they are great; sometimes the combinations may not work quite as well. That said, the front of house service more than makes up for it when the chef's combinations may not work 100%. Add to that a wine list that is a welcome break from what you might see elsewhere then this place is well worth a visit.

We dined on scallops and squid as starters. The scallops were beautiful. The blowtorched squid a tad bitter and a little "drowned" in a pea soup. Our mains also challenged the our taste buds. The salted cod was very accomplished and beautifully balanced. The sea bass dish with a samosa was interesting. The fish was beautifully cooked, but the combination of fish with very sweet samosa did not work for us.

For desert we shared a chocolate and orange parfait served with thyme-infused sorbet. The parfait was delicious, but the thyme sorbet was very strong and we're not sure the combination worked every well.

This review may sound critical. On the contrary we will be back because we enjoy sampling the innovative combinations of ingredients that the kitchen likes to challenge our taste buds with. On this occasion, our palates did not fully appreciate what chef was trying to create.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Seagrass also viewed

 
 

Been to Seagrass? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Seagrass, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.