We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gives Rick a run for his money!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Harbour Fish & Chips

Harbour Fish & Chips
Wharf Road, St Ives TR26 1LF, England
01736 799295
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #30 of 118 restaurants in St Ives
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
West Country, England
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
147 helpful votes 147 helpful votes
“Gives Rick a run for his money!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Love this little gem of a restaurant in St Ives, service is quick friendly and efficient, lovely choice of foods, and it is incredibly clean with a nice modern contemporary feel to it. We used to drive all the way to Padstow for Rick Stein's fish and chip shop, but I believe Harbour fish and chips knocks Ricks into a cocked hat! We will be back!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

538 reviews from our community

87% Recommend
    291
    176
    46
    17
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bath, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“this is the place if enjoy fish and chips or a bit more..”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Went in for lunch and ordered the sharing platter. Fish,fishcakes,prawns and squid with a bucket of chips. Lots of well cooked food and a very pleasant lad served us. Nice views of the harbour too.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“A real surprise!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

There's fish and chips and there's fish and chips, given a choice I would choose to eat it here. The resaurant is modern and located right on the harbour near the life boat station. Staff were super-friendly and efficient. The food was really well cooked and presented in a really nice way. It is licenced of course, which helps! Would definitely go back here, very, very good. Think they do take-away as well.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
423 reviews 423 reviews
260 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 135 cities Reviews in 135 cities
247 helpful votes 247 helpful votes
“Reasonable Fish & Chips”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

Not the largest portion size (especially compared with our award winning chippie back at home) but enough on this occasion as we had already had a good lunch earlier in the day.
The fish was very good (I chose haddock) but the chips were not the best - they could have been quite a bit crispier.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Welcombe, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Lovely fish and chips”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

We got take away fish and chips here when we stayed in St Ives. It was excellent! I haven't had fish and chips from a take away for ages as I often find them too greasy, however these were really good and delicious. A bonus was that they use cardboard containers, not those awful polluting polystyrene ones.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Harbour Fish & Chips also viewed

 
St Ives, Cornwall
St Ives, Cornwall
 

Been to Harbour Fish & Chips? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Harbour Fish & Chips, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.