We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a fantastic fish & chip experience.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Harbour Fish & Chips

Harbour Fish & Chips
Wharf Road, St Ives TR26 1LF, England
01736 799295
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #33 of 122 Restaurants in St Ives
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“What a fantastic fish & chip experience.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2011 via mobile

Had the fish platter for two, great selection of cod, squid, prawns in light & delicious batters. Service was great, the food was fresh and great value at £16.95 for two. Very highly recommended.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

648 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    349
    213
    57
    19
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Gourmet fish and chips brilliant value!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2011

We ate here twice on our visit to St Ives, terrific meal great quality fish beautifully presented. The staff were just lovely no pressure and v efficient. My husband would have eaten here every night if I'd let him!

  • Visited June 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Outstanding”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2011

Visited here on our last night in St Ives, Thursday 23rd June. As we parked up in one of the car parks way up above the village, and took our descent by foot, I was worried that at 8.45pm we would be met either by a closed restaurant, or one that could not fit us in.
Thankfully, it was neither. Harbour Fish & Chips is right on the main Harbour Front, and the view from inside is simply stunning. The restaurant was rammed, yet we were greeted warmly the moment we went inside and offered a choice of one of the few remaining tables. The decor is modern, beautifully lit, and is balanced just right between intimacy and family friendly. Once seated we were offered a menu straight away. Prices reflected the fact that you were in a restaurant, but not excessively, bearing in mind this is, after all, a Fish & Chip shop! Our order was taken, and within 5 minutes arrived, piping hot and beautifully presented. At no time were we pestered by the waitresses, nor were we pressurised to have dessert. Overall, our bill came to no more than £11 each (consisting of Fish and Chips for 2, 2 side orders, 3 soft drinks, 1 dessert and 1 peppermint tea). We gladly left a tip. On leaving, we asked how late they stayed open, and we were amazed to be told that sometimes they will still be serving at midnight, depending on seasonal demand. Bravo - recommended, without a shadow of a doubt!

  • Visited June 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire
Top Contributor
149 reviews 149 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
“Busy and Good Fish and Chips on the seafront”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2011

We had a good fish and chip supper here - it was busy, clean and efficient and the service was excellent. The chips could have been slightly crisper, but a good effort.

  • Visited June 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wimborne Minster, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Excellent Meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2011

Was so surprised to get a meal of this quality for such a good price. Not convinced about the black bowls but it was so good I would eat it any way I could.

  • Visited June 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Harbour Fish & Chips also viewed

 
St Ives, Cornwall
St Ives, Cornwall
 

Been to Harbour Fish & Chips? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Harbour Fish & Chips, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.