We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“worth a second stay..” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gekko Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in St Ives
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Gekko Lodge
Save
You added Gekko Lodge to your Saves list
7 Carthew Terrace, St Ives TR26 1EB, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 102 St Ives B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“worth a second stay..”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

We had a lovely weekend at St Ives, staying at Gekko Lodge. We stayed in room 1 which has fabulous views, and was clean and comfortable. Catherine was helpful about where to go and what to see.
We were cooked a tasty breakfast a little later than most guest houses, to our request.. much appreciated.
The location is fine for those fit enough for a hill climb to reach it from the town..
When we next visit St Ives we will definitely try to stay there if Catherine and Sam have a vacancy.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    9
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
18
44
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

We spent 3 nights in Room 1 at Gekko Lodge with our 4 year old. The stay was very comfortable and hostess very welcoming. The rooms are spacious,clean and modern with nice views. Room 1 does have a lovely view from your bed and has bigger windows, although when I was given the choice, I couldn't decide, as they were both very nice, A parking space is also a real bonus when staying in St Ives. Gekko Lodge is also very quiet with no passing traffic. Price reasonable for the area.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

Gekko lodge is a perfect blend of homely and boutique. As it only has 2 bedrooms there is a real personal touch, with quirky art and photos on the wall and bespoke, hand-made furniture throughout the house, along with a much-appreciated parking space. Catherine also whips up a tasty breakfast with plenty of choice and is very welcoming without being too 'full on'. This personal approach sits nicely alongside the boutique touches including big fluffy white towels, a trendy wet room with monsoon shower, a super comfy bed with luxury sheets and other touches such as iPod docking station and eco-friendly toiletries.

We stayed in Room 2 in the attic which has lovely sea views from the window seat (although not when lying in bed – try Room 1 for this) and is nice and spacious for a couple. The steps to the room are quite narrow and steep, but were fine for us. We had a lovely relaxing stay with Catherine and Sam in gorgeous St Ives!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Very hospitable, excellent hostess. Rooms are a bit more modestly sized than I imagined from the photos, but we were two adults and two young children - and it's difficult to find accommodation for a family like this in upmarket B&Bs in St Ives- so this was acceptable.
Very comfortable bed, fantastic view, kettle supplied with coffee, tea, etc, digital TV, bathroom with very modern fittings, wonderful breakfast. Catherine was helpful with information, lending umbrellas, hanging out wet waterproofs downstairs, etc.
This is no real 'communal' space except the bedroom and front room at breakfast time. Location is excellent near Porthmeor beach and a short walk also into town.
A bit pricey (like everywhere in St Ives) but OK with family discount and the high quality.

Room Tip: The middle room (room 1) has a great view of the sea towards Porthmeor beach from a bay window. The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

We had a really lovely stay in the Gekko Lodge. The room was great, tidy,clean,nicely designed. Breakfast was delicious. And Catherine was very nice and helpful. If I go back to Cornwall, I will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012 via mobile

Can't fault this B&B the rooms are light and airy and kept perfectly clean. You have sky tv, a fridge, nice comfy beds with feather pillows, pure chronos iDock alarm clock, tea and coffee ect. The breakfasts were very tasty and good quality, you get exactly what you see on their website. With big enough portions to set you up for the day freshly prepared for you by Catherine the host. We loved the chillout music at breakfast made a nice atmosphere. You have a great view out to sea from the front of the house. There is a cool wet room and you also have essence of serenity soap, shampoo and body wash containing invigorating natural essential oils. You get the added bonus of somewhere to park with only a 10 min walk to town. The steep hills to town will help you burn of the extra calories you will get from your Cornish treats you no doubt buy, like cream teas, cornish pasties and ice creams. Catherine the host is very chilled and does her best to please. I would recommend this B&B to anyone it's fantastic.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

This is a great little B&B away from central St Ives, given how small the town is this wasn't much of an issue. The host was great, friendly and informative on the local area. Could not fault the breakfast, Cornish portions certainly set you up for the day. The room was clean, bright and more than enough room for the two of us and had more facilities than our stay in a hotel in Padstow. The only faults I would say are the pillows on the bed are a bit thin and hard and the walk back up the hill to the B&B is one of the steepest walks I've done in along time. But every night we got a good night sleep and was never woken by the seagulls in the morning.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Gekko Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gekko Lodge

Address: 7 Carthew Terrace, St Ives TR26 1EB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Ives
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 102 B&Bs / Inns in St Ives
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gekko Lodge is a contemporary newly renovated Victorian bed & breakfast, located in St Ives, Cornwall. It is situated overlooking the famous Porthmeor Beach. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Gekko Lodge St Ives, Cornwall

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gekko Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.