We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Summer 2013” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Garrack Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Garrack Hotel to your Saves list
The Garrack Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Burthallan Lane, St Ives TR26 3AA, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 25 Hotels in St Ives
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Wirral
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Summer 2013”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

Our favourite hotel. A family run hotel which the owners and staff put their heart and soul into making your stay perfect. Food second to none along with well appointed rooms, swimming pool and views to die for.

A relaxed atmosphere with first class service. Our 5th time staying here!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

409 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    250
    98
    43
    10
    8
See reviews for
49
276
18
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

Can't recommend The Garrack Hotel enough. Beautiful venue and so welcoming. The staff and owners couldn't have looked after us any more than they did. Took our dog with us and he was made to feel so welcome too! The breakfast was outstanding and we chose their restaurant for dinner which did not disappoint at all. Made some wonderful memories here and will definitely be returning. :-)))

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exmouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

Our favourite hotel. Informal enough for the seaside and with lovely people providing friendly service. Newly decorated rooms and all beautifully presented. The health club with swimming pool provides lovely facilities which just add to the experience. We love it and having returned for a second time are looking forward to our next visit. The food is to die for. Simply wonderful. Brilliant!

Room Tip: Get a view over the sea if you can. It just adds to the quality of the experience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nakskov, Denmark
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

Great escape off St. Ives City and coastal line. Walking distance to town and great beaches where my son learned surf boarding. An impressive view to watch high and low tides from the hotel, which is located on a small hill just west of the main town. We had a triple room for 2 adults and to children, but the double beds mattress was not suitable for three persons. VERY recommendable.

Room Tip: Rooms in main building facing the sea is a must.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

We had an excellent time at the Garrick Hotel in St Ives. It has a well deserved reputation for comfortable rooms and excellent cuisine. Our experience was totally positive and even though the booking was completed with a room without sea view the hotel staff still managed to give us a room withs some sea views. Our seafood platter was of the highest standard and the chef did very well at short notice. All in all a truley memorable holiday destination for all the right reasons

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dingwall, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

This is a must if you visit Cornwall.
Very friendly
Clean
Home from home
We arrived early well before check in. We were offered breakfast with a very warm welcome.
The selection of gin is fantastic.
The Resturant food is sublime ( will review separately)
Well worth a visit

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

The hotel is in a lovely location. The staff were very friendly , which made are stay relaxed and enjoyable. We had relatives join us for dinner in the hotel restaurant, and enjoyed an excellent dinner with good service. The bedroom was spacious and comfortable.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Garrack Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Garrack Hotel

Address: Burthallan Lane, St Ives TR26 3AA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Ives
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in St Ives
#6 Family Hotel in St Ives
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Garrack Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Garrack Hotel and Restaurant. Small, quality 3 star hotel with stunning Atlantic sea views overlooking Porthmeor beach and the town of St Ives in Cornwall. Award winning restaurant, indoor pool, sauna and terraced garden for quiet relaxation. Private on-site car parking. 10 to 15 minutes walk from the harbor, town centre, beaches & coastal footpath. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Garrack Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garrack Hotel St Ives
The Garrack Hotel St Ives, Cornwall

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Garrack Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.