We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and stunning views” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pedn Olva Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Pedn Olva Hotel to your Saves list
Pedn Olva Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   West Porthminster Beach, St Ives TR26 2EA, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 25 Hotels in St Ives
Newton Abbot, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Great location and stunning views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2012

We spent two nights here on their two night break deal and we had a balcony room(no 5) overlooking Portminster beach. The room was very clean but rather on the small side but was more than made up by the great location and superb views. The food was very good, especially the breakfast , and the staff very friendly and helpful. We pick a week when the weather was like the Mediterranean so our impressions were further enhanced. There are terraces on both sides of the hotel so you can enjoy a drink overlooking the harbour or the beach.

A great place for visiting St Ives as it is only a short walk into the town and the harbour front. If you choose to travel there by train it is five minutes walk to the hotel - equally if you use the car parking is available in the station car park for £8 per day but worth it as St Ives is not very car friendly. All in all and great hotel to recommend.

Room Tip: If a balcony room is available you should choose one of them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

434 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    197
    163
    44
    17
    13
See reviews for
68
263
15
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Torquay, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2012

We've stayed in St Ives many times and always liked the idea of staying in this hote as it is the closest you can get to being on the sea without being in a boat.

We went for the cheapest b+b rate which meant getting a very small rooom as others have said (room 7). It was nicely furished and very clean. We only had a small shower but our 3 other couple friends had baths. A small negative on this room was that it had a small window that opened onto the main roof terrace that is open to the public - meaning you're on show to anyone that is there. Also the TV wasn't working in our room dispite several requests to the reception. Supposedly there was a general problem with the TV's but all my friends rooms worked! The walls are a little thin and you can hear other's fairly easily but it didn't bother us.

The communal areas are nicely done and the staff are very pleasant and always check everything was ok.

Together with a beautiful weekend weather wise (usually its raining when we're there in the summer), it was a really nice break. We hope to return soon!

Room Tip: Check out the best rooms on trip advisor or phone the hotel to ask. Ask for one that doesn't hav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truro, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2012

My husband and I have just stayed at this hotel for a weekend away without the children, and were a little disappointed. Firstly the hotel only provides parking for a few cars so if you were not told this when making the reservation (like us), you will arrive at the hotel to find that you will have to park in the very busy public car park and pay £6.50 per day. However during our stay we did find out that even by reserving one of the hotels car parking spaces you still have to pay, thus being £8 per day.
Our room was lovely actually, except the tv didn’t have BBC1 and instead had a dating channel, which seemed a bit odd. The bathroom needs a total refurb and thorough clean.
We had dinner at the hotel, which was the most disappointing, seen as though the hotel is so near the sea, we would have thought we would be served fresh fish, rather than frozen fish & seafood, therefore we didn’t eat it, and turned down the complimentary coffee that was offered to compensate. It might be an idea for the restaurant to play music rather than Pirate FM during dinner, which ruined the atmosphere altogether.
This hotel has absolutely amazing views, the bedrooms are good enough, and the bar/ restaurant has been done up and is very pleasant, but there is clearly a problem somewhere, and it is such a shame, if it was down to me I would say the management team needs a shake-up.
Would I stay there again- No, I don’t think so.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porthleven, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2012

stayed here 'again' last saturday. I can only praise this establishment,. the rooms, staff are all absolutely fantastic, special mention to Jamie and Stevie, who made our stay even more enjoyable. Absolute stars. Food was yummy (as usual) breakfast was equally yummy ( I apologise again for putting a croissant in the toast machine !! much to the amusement of my pals !!! I didnt read the sign!! ) I think I want to move in,.. We were in a group of approx 20 who approx twice a year come to Pedn Olva Hotel, looking forward to our next stay., thanks so much. XX

Room Tip: every room I have stayed in has had a seaview. all fantastic
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2012

As we were staying in St Ives and it was Mothers day we decided to have a Sunday Lunch.....it was very good. Excellent Beef, fresh vegetables and the view is fantastic.
Staff were friendly and we could not fault anything , we will be back !

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2012

We visit the hotel at least twice per year with our meal group (20 people) and always have a lovely time. It is always reassuring to see the same faces amoung the staff, it is an added bonus when they remember you from your last stay. Jamie and Stevie were fantastic throughout our entire stay and really went the extra mile. Dinner last night was lovely as was breakfast this morning. One of our group was celebrating a birthday today and was presented with a cake this morning at breakfast, it was a lovely touch and ended our stay on a very pleasant note. Well done to the Managers and their team for such consistency in their offer. We are already planning our next trip in October. Thank you

Room Tip: room 16 is roomy and probably has the best view out to sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2012

This hotel has a gorgeous view of the beach, is keenly priced and has real character. However, be warned the rooms are tiny, there is no parking (had to carry luggage from the town centre) and the wifi didn't work in the room.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pedn Olva Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pedn Olva Hotel

Address: West Porthminster Beach, St Ives TR26 2EA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Ives
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in St Ives
#5 Family Hotel in St Ives
#7 Romantic Hotel in St Ives
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Pedn Olva Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Pedn Olva Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pedn Olva St Ives
Pedn Olva Hotel St Ives, Cornwall
Hotel Pedn Olva

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pedn Olva Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.