We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very enjoyable long weekend” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Chy-An-Albany

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Chy-An-Albany to your Saves list
Chy-An-Albany
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Albany Terrace, St Ives TR26 2BS, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 25 Hotels in St Ives
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Weston super Mare, United Kingdom
1 review
“Very enjoyable long weekend”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2010

The hotel is located within walking distant of St Ives harbour - car parking available although not easy - room on the small side but very clean and comfortable - restaurant and lounge have pleasant views over the bay - food excellent quality and quantity - staff very friendly, helpful and accommodating - a very relaxing enjoyable stay

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

611 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    268
    201
    77
    44
    21
See reviews for
94
359
26
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (188)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Weston super Mare, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2010

5min walk to centre of bustling, St Ives. within easy reach of many fine beaches ,coastal walks, and wonderful Cornish gardens, the lizeard , Cape Cornwall , Lands end etc Thoroughly enjoyed our 4night stay in this qiet hotel. Good breakfasts but the Bistro was a little dissappointing. However many good restaurants nearby.Staff extremely pleasnt, always smiling and cheerful. The off-street car-park adequate.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2010

As a 40-something couple from the UK I was glad I ignored the bad reviews of this hotel. We stayed over a weekend in mid-October and found the staff very friendly and welcoming. The hotel and rooms are very clean and tidy and had great views of the sky during the setting sun. The only down side was the bed was too soft, but we raised this with reception and they said that they would look in to it. The cost was great too - a special for October but still great value. And the cooked breakfast was very well presented, well cooked and there was plenty of choice even towards the end of service. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truro, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2010

As my husband and i are celebrating our 10th wedding anniversary at the hotel next August we thought it might be a nice idea to have lunch at the hotel to see how the staff interact with the customers
On being greeted by a warm welcome in reception we were shown to our table which was situated in the window. Staff were quick to respond to our arrival, they were bright, helpful and extremely accomodating to our needs and requirements.
The menu was varied and an absolute bargin (BOGOF). The food was lovely and vegetables were fresh and very tasty, service was prompt and genuine.
(Getting the whole restaurant to sing happy birthday to Granny was a classic!)
We have booked a table for a small christmas gathering and are looking forward to celebrating our anniversary at the hotel .

P.S. The cutlery was spotless....not always true for some hotels.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2010

Unfortunately we stayed here on the Friday of the August long weekend. We pulled up out the front and understood why the hotel had 'mixed' reviews. The whole place is shabby, tired and of poor quality. I can assure you nobody we know would want to stay here. But ... When everything else is booked out you take what you can get.

Really we should have just burnt the money and keep driving. We didn't stay for breakfast next day we just left.

Warning to Australians ... picture a low quality regional Flag Inn ... If you are happy with that then knock yourself out ... otherwise just stay away.

Hmm ... And if you want to seek refuge in a cup of tea in your room ... they were dirty too.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChyManager, Manager at Chy-An-Albany, responded to this review, September 7, 2010
I was very disappointed to read your comments and please accept my apologies if we did not meet your expectations, we work hard as a hotel to deliver a good quality stay for our guests and we have invested a lot of time and effort into the look of the building especially the front so I was most surprised by your comments. We would have welcomed the chance to answer your frustrations if you had let us know during your visit rather than after you had left.

Manager
Chy an Albany Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2010

Stayed here for 2 nights in August on a trip of the area. I think for what we got it was expensive although the area is quite pricey anyway. Location isnt great at around 10 mins walk to the centre of town.

The breakfast was excellent, full buffet and very good quality food.

If i could rate 3.5 then I would but as I cannot 3 would be a little unfair so 4 blobs it is.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barry
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2010

Visited recently to celebrate friend's 50th birthday and very much regretted it, our first experience was an incredibly surly receptionsist who obviously regarded all visitors as an unwelcome break from whatever she was doing, and that pretty much set the tone for the rest of the stay. The food is delciious and the view from the restaurant is lovely but don't expect prompt service at the bar and housekeeping turned up at 4.30pm to do the room.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChyManager, Manager at Chy-An-Albany, responded to this review, August 25, 2010
I was disappointed to read your comments regarding your stay and was surprised by your comments about a surly receptionist, we consistently get excellent feedback on our reception team; if you had brought up any issues you had encountered while you were here and given us a chance to look into any frustrations you had I am sure we could have enhanced your stay.

Manager
Chy An Albany Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chy-An-Albany? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chy-An-Albany

Address: Albany Terrace, St Ives TR26 2BS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Ives
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in St Ives
#8 Romantic Hotel in St Ives
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Chy-An-Albany 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Providing comfortable accommodation with every amenity you would expect from a luxury award winning AA 3 star rated Hotel in Cornwall. The Chy an Albany occupies a wonderfully elevated site with magnificent views overlooking Portminster beach and St Ives Bay in Cornwall.Only a short walk into town and with ample free off road car parking.The hotel provides an ideal base to explore St. Ives and its renowned Tate Gallery, as well as the quaint harbour side, cobbled streets and collection of beautiful beaches that have captivated artists and tourists for over a century. The hotel is also just a short walk from the train station at the bottom of the hill (approximately 3 minutes). The new 'Lighthouse Bistro' is an art-themed restaurant, showcasing a wide range of art from local artists. The gallery-style restaurant offers contemporary dining using the very freshest local vegetables and produce, fish straight from the sea and Cornish made cheeses alongside exotic foods and wines from around the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Chy-An-Albany reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chy-An-Albany Hotel St Ives
Chy-An-Albany St Ives, Cornwall

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chy-An-Albany, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.