We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel, highly recommended, would love to return !!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chy-An-Albany

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Chy-An-Albany to your Saves list
Chy-An-Albany
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Albany Terrace, St Ives TR26 2BS, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 25 Hotels in St Ives
Derbyshire
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel, highly recommended, would love to return !!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2010

Fantastic hotel with amazing views of the sea. Super staff and rooms. Had a basic room booked but was upgraded to the Lamorna Penrose room which is used for newly weds ! Just lovely. Would definitely recommend to anyone. Good breakfast, cannot fault this hotel. Many thanks for 2 lovely stays within the last month...

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

546 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    233
    181
    68
    44
    20
See reviews for
84
312
26
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
cornwall
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2010

the hotel was nice and the staff helped out when on arrival it turned out that lastminute.com completely messed up the booking as well as charged too much. as i said the staff were great and managed to sort things and give us a great room even thought they'd been messed about themselves by lastminute.com
would reccomend chy-an-albany for its value and freindly atmosphere in a great location.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, UK
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2010

Booked via hotels website that takes you to a general booking website. This showed the deal of offer with discounts, I called the hotel direct to see if we could book a room with a bath, they said they would do there best - but quoted the full price and to get the discounted price needed to go via the booking website which I do not understand - but hey ho I booked that way.

After initial mix up with room (we booked sea view and were shown non SV room) all sorted out without fuss we had a very nice break. The room was lovely and comfortable, stayed 3 nights on B&B terms. Breakfast - plentiful and of good standard, with good service. Room: good views of the lovely bay.

To get to town is a good walk (10 mins) into centre - 15 on the way back as the hill is steepish - but fine really. Parking is plentiful.

All in all a very clean, characterful hotel, friendly staff and a nice bar.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chyanalbany, manager at Chy-An-Albany, responded to this review, March 24, 2010
Glad we were able to sort this out for you but sorry you were incorrectly advised by one of our staff to go via the agency website to get the best rate. We will always match the best rate you find online and sometimes we are able to better it! Thank you for bringing this to my attention.
Richard Foxton,
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2010

A really good clean hotel situated about 10 mins walk from St Ives town centre. Free parking and wi-fi.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottinghamshire
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2010

The Chy-An-Albany Hotel provides quality, comfort and attention to detail and the staff are warm and friendly. The restaurant is a wonderful place surrounded by beautiful paintings and art work and the glorious views of the sea. The food is outstanding served in beautiful candle light, the ambience is perfect.
We had a superb sea view from our tastefully decorated room, it was lovely to wake up and look out at the waves breaking on the beach.
The Chy-An-Albany hotel has a wonderful elevated position looking out over St Ives. We enjoyed drinking coffee in the sun longe just taking in the view.
We would definately recommend this Hotel to all our friends and we can't wait to return.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane-Australia
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
80 hotel reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
128 helpful votes 128 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2010

I can totally understand why this hotel rates so well. We had an excellent stay from the minute we walked in the door and were met by friendly reception staff. They even took us to our room to show us the facilties and a few little tricks to how particular things worked (lock on door, heating etc).

Room was comfy and newly renovated (we are guessing). Bathroom is compact but modern. Shower has good pressure. We were lucky enough to be given a room with a bay view which was a lovely surprise as we had booked the room at the last minute on 'late rooms' and it was also the first day of half term holidays.

Breakfast was good - buffet of continental plus a freshly cooked to order hot breakfast. Again, excellent customer service and great views over the bay. Parking on site (which can be very difficult in St Ives) and only a short walk down to the town.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayle, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
155 helpful votes 155 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2010

Had a one night stay here for a break. On arrival followed the sign from the main road, this takes you to a small, full, car park at the front of the hotel. We abandoned the car and went inside thinking we could not park for the night and was told ‘the main car park is around the back, the front car park is for drop off only‘. This also happened to another couple at the same time so it must be common. Perhaps better signs and enforcing the drop off policy would help, as it was a bit of a frustrating start.

The receptionist was excellent, took us up to and opened the room up, full marks. The room was small and the en-suite only had a shower, not a room for a long stay. It was clean and comfortable though. We had a side non view room, but the sea view rooms would have a stunning view.

The location is on the way out of town and on a fairly steep hill, so may not be suitable for all. It is about a 15min walk down to the harbour.

We had dinner in the hotel £12.95 for 3 courses, it was JUST value for money. The Thai fish cake tasted of potato and was over cooked. My lamb and mash tasted as if it came from a staff canteen and my chocolate brownie was very dry. My wifes’ sea bass was deep fried in batter, shame. The waiter was very good and worked hard as he was on his own. Breakfast on the other hand was excellent buffet style so you could eat as much as you liked.

No real major complaints, just small ones, which stopped me giving this another star.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chy-An-Albany? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chy-An-Albany

Address: Albany Terrace, St Ives TR26 2BS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Ives
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in St Ives
#11 Romantic Hotel in St Ives
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Chy-An-Albany 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Providing comfortable accommodation with every amenity you would expect from a luxury award winning AA 3 star rated Hotel in Cornwall. The Chy an Albany occupies a wonderfully elevated site with magnificent views overlooking Portminster beach and St Ives Bay in Cornwall.Only a short walk into town and with ample free off road car parking.The hotel provides an ideal base to explore St. Ives and its renowned Tate Gallery, as well as the quaint harbour side, cobbled streets and collection of beautiful beaches that have captivated artists and tourists for over a century. The hotel is also just a short walk from the train station at the bottom of the hill (approximately 3 minutes). The new 'Lighthouse Bistro' is an art-themed restaurant, showcasing a wide range of art from local artists. The gallery-style restaurant offers contemporary dining using the very freshest local vegetables and produce, fish straight from the sea and Cornish made cheeses alongside exotic foods and wines from around the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Chy-An-Albany reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chy-An-Albany Hotel St Ives
Chy-An-Albany St Ives, Cornwall

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chy-An-Albany, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.