We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“enjoyable break” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chy-An-Albany

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Chy-An-Albany to your Saves list
Chy-An-Albany
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Albany Terrace, St Ives TR26 2BS, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 25 Hotels in St Ives
Exeter, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“enjoyable break”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

we had a lovely room with a beautiful sea view ,The staff here are very helpful , friendly, and efficient especially the receptionist
Breakfast was very good indeed,home made granola, fresh friut salad ,special breakfasts cooked to order and of course a lovely buffet cornish breakfast .This is not a pretentious boutique hotel or indeed a luxurious stay ,but for a three star hotel short break it exeded my expectations !

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

546 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    233
    181
    68
    44
    20
See reviews for
84
312
26
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

Weekend visit to St ives with the family. Had a family room which was very spacious and nicely decorated. Hotel staff were very friendly and helpful. Beautiful views over Porthminster beach and a short stroll down the hill into St Ives. Nice bar area and restaurant with a good breakfast.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castleford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

Stayed at this hotel for two nights. The hotel was a nice size with lovely bar and restaurant. Food was brilliant, like eating in a top restaurant! Our room was spacious with sea view overlooking the beach and St ives bay. On the first night we had water coming through our light in the bathroom before we went out. My husband contacted reception and they said we could move into the executive suite on the top floor. So we moved our clothes etc into the new room, although it was not executive. The room is old fashioned and needs updating! The lady who delt with us said she would alter our bill accordingly due to our inconvenience, which she did promptly. We had a reduction on our bill which was appreciated. The hotel is about a 10 minute walk to town, with lovely pubs and shops.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

We have visited St Ives 5 times in the last 6 years staying elsewhere but decided for various reasons to try the Chy-An-Albany as the recent reviews were generally good and the hotel website showed nicely presented rooms.

We stayed in Room 24 which is at the northern corner of the hotel on the 2nd floor. We had views over both the Bristol Channel / Irish Sea and round into Carbis Bay. Very pretty.

We ate in the Bistro on 2 occasions and found the food tasty and well presented.

Breakfasts were equally nice with freshly cooked full Cornish breakfast a particular favourite.

The service was prompt at all times and very helpful.

Our room had been recently redecorated as had all of the public areas of the hotel that we saw.

Is it the best ever hotel I've ever stayed in? No; but so long as you realise it only claims 3 Stars then you shouldn't be disappointed staying at the hotel. And I'd recommend eating at least once in the Restaurant apart from breakfast as you'll miss a 'treat' if you don't!

James also creates very good Web sites!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

A nice welcome awaited us when we arrived at this establishment. We found the staff friendly and caring and always willing to help and advise. We had booked a twin room which was one of the two rooms with only access from outside the front of the Hotel. We had no problem upgrading to a room inside which made it easier to move around inside especially as it was rather windy and showery on one day. The room was more than adequate for our needs, very clean and tidy and the bed linen changed every day we were there. There was body wash and conditioner in the shower cubicle (no bath) and by the sink top. Clean hand and shower towels were replaced each day if we wanted. There was a downstairs bar with a variety of beers, wines and spirits on offer and lounge area with tv and lovely views over St Ives Bay. The breakfast was both full-English and Continental and a selection of cereal, toast and yoghurt, teas and coffee, juices etc. The Sunday we could self-serve our own. The Hotel also cater for eveing restaurant meals though advance booking may be necessary but we didn't use it. There are some steps from the road to the Hotel entrance to negotiate and a road which you can drive to the car park with limited parking at the front. There is an additional car park at the rear. The hotel is approx. 0.9mile to St Ives Harbour and beach front but only a short walk off the town centre and coach park/taxi rank is just down the hill. We were very comfortable in a warm and inviting surrounding and would recommend and return again. Overall the price we paid was very reasonable and affordable.

Room Tip: The rooms on the 1st and 2nd floors at the front of the hotel have the best views across the bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

It was our second time at Chy An Albany
and we were not disappointed it was as good as the first time
Rooms were clean and very comfortable with excellent tea and coffee making facilities, the food in the evening restaurant was absolutely superb worthy of 5 stars, breakfast was a huge range of very good quality food and the bar area was relaxed and friendly
Staff were friendly and helpful

Room Tip: rooms with sea view were brilliant
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridport, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

My husband and I stayed for only one night to do some research in St Ives for a holiday we are taking with friends in December, which will be based in Carbis Bay.
I was extremely impressed by the friendliness and professionalism of all the staff. The free parking was a great bonus especially as the hotel was near enough to walk into the centre of St Ives. Our room and the hotel was extremely clean and fresh looking. The breakfast was excellent and considering the low cost of our stay, I was very impressed with the choice of hot meals cooked to order. I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel if you are looking for a great priced and good quality stay somewhere with no pretentions

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chy-An-Albany? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chy-An-Albany

Address: Albany Terrace, St Ives TR26 2BS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Ives
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in St Ives
#11 Romantic Hotel in St Ives
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Chy-An-Albany 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Providing comfortable accommodation with every amenity you would expect from a luxury award winning AA 3 star rated Hotel in Cornwall. The Chy an Albany occupies a wonderfully elevated site with magnificent views overlooking Portminster beach and St Ives Bay in Cornwall.Only a short walk into town and with ample free off road car parking.The hotel provides an ideal base to explore St. Ives and its renowned Tate Gallery, as well as the quaint harbour side, cobbled streets and collection of beautiful beaches that have captivated artists and tourists for over a century. The hotel is also just a short walk from the train station at the bottom of the hill (approximately 3 minutes). The new 'Lighthouse Bistro' is an art-themed restaurant, showcasing a wide range of art from local artists. The gallery-style restaurant offers contemporary dining using the very freshest local vegetables and produce, fish straight from the sea and Cornish made cheeses alongside exotic foods and wines from around the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Chy-An-Albany reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chy-An-Albany Hotel St Ives
Chy-An-Albany St Ives, Cornwall

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chy-An-Albany, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.