We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Only a short stay but a pleasant one.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Chy-An-Albany

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Chy-An-Albany to your Saves list
Chy-An-Albany
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Albany Terrace, St Ives TR26 2BS, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 25 Hotels in St Ives
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Clevedon, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
174 reviews 174 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“Only a short stay but a pleasant one.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

Called in on a Thursday in hope of a room for the night and we were in luck.Got a 'family' room for the same price as a double, nice sized room, very comfortable bed, nice pillows (thankfully not those wafer thin ones you get) room clean though my partner did notice a couple of cobwebs, bathroom spotless,room had bath and good quality shower, TV with freeview, free WIFI, we were only there for a flying visit so I can't comment on the food.Staff were very friendly, the Hotel has a small carpark at the front, with a much larger one at the rear.The town is only a 10 minute walk.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

612 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    269
    201
    77
    44
    21
See reviews for
94
360
26
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (188)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here on our last day of our walking holiday,it was very clean staff were great and the breakfast (buffet)was great but the rooms are really small especially the single rooms,there were 5 of us in 3 single rooms and two double rooms all had showeres and NO BATH,the toilet/shower/wash room were so small you could have sat on the toilet and had a shower at the same time,also if you have walking difficulties it wouldn't be an ideal place to stay as there are steps and its steep on the road from the hotel to st ives.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

My sister and I had a great stay and this hotel was just fine for us. It is a great place to stay and the staff were so friendly.
The room was very clean, and the food good. Good location, we visited Marazion, Penzance, Carbis Bay, Mousehole, Lands End and the Minnack Theatre. The hotel is within easy walking distance for St Ives harbour even for two fifty plus ladies !!!
Dont go expecting modern, with all singing all dancing go and enjoy a simple clean hotel, with good food, nice staff and a relaxing friendly experience, with a touch of Cornish quaint which makes this a charming hotel which I will visit again :)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

I had read mixed reviews on Tripadvisor about this hotel but I was won over when we stayed. It's fair to say this is not a stylish hotel - the curtains in the room were a bright lime/blue/yellow floral mix and the rest of the room was very simple with some fairly standard artwork of Cornwall. However, if you're not bothered by style then really this hotel ticks every other box. The rooms were spotless and even though the decor is not so modern, nothing in the hotel felt tired or run down. The bathroom was small but again spotless, the bed was comfortable, the room was warm and there was plenty of storage space.
Breakfast was really good, a hot and cold buffet and a good selection of other options to order freshly made (eggs Benedict etc) The staff we met were all friendly.
The location is great, just a short walk down into town and the views from the breakfast room across the sea are lovely.
We paid £90 a night for b&b and really compared to a lot of places, that is fantasic value for money for a pleasant hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wangaratta, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

This hotel was ideal for us, as we are beginning a walking holiday from St Uves to Penzance along the South Coast Track. Located close to the station, with welcoming staff, clean room and wonderful meals, our experience could not be better.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

The room was hardly big enough to swing a cat around.
If the cat was in the "ensuite" ,then it was full ! !
The hotel public rooms look tired, and having not visited Cornwall for many years ,I now know why !
The prices charged are higher than many 4* hotel chains.
I would have scored this hotel even lower had it not been for its only redeeming feature- an outstandingly good choice at breakfast.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

4 generations of my family stayed at the Chy an Albany last week, 7 of us from 1 year old to 85. We stayed in the lodge, originally for 4 nights, we loved it so much that we stayed an extra night.
The lodge was perfect for us with a young baby, having its own kitchen and three bedrooms, one ensuite. From our arrival Julia and her team could'nt have been more helpful and the lodge was tastefully decorated and very comfortable with great sea views over Porthminster Beach.
The most pleasant surprise however was with the hotel restaurant (Lighthouse bistro) it is rated no 2 of restaurants in St. Ives and was certainly excellent but the surprise was the cost. A three course meal with plenty of choices was only £24 (or £20 for two courses) but the quality of food, presentation and service would have shamed many far more expensive establishments. Before arrival we had every intention of eating out, but we ate in every night!

Whilst on cost I should also mention the bar prices, cheaper than many pubs in town.

One other important consideration is the large car parks, not that common in St Ives.

We loved St Ives and will definitely go back and I cant imagine staying anywhere but the Chy An Albany. Well done to all.

Room Tip: If not requiring the lodge ensure you for a sea facing room, the view is worth the extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chy-An-Albany? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chy-An-Albany

Address: Albany Terrace, St Ives TR26 2BS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Ives
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in St Ives
#8 Romantic Hotel in St Ives
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Chy-An-Albany 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Providing comfortable accommodation with every amenity you would expect from a luxury award winning AA 3 star rated Hotel in Cornwall. The Chy an Albany occupies a wonderfully elevated site with magnificent views overlooking Portminster beach and St Ives Bay in Cornwall.Only a short walk into town and with ample free off road car parking.The hotel provides an ideal base to explore St. Ives and its renowned Tate Gallery, as well as the quaint harbour side, cobbled streets and collection of beautiful beaches that have captivated artists and tourists for over a century. The hotel is also just a short walk from the train station at the bottom of the hill (approximately 3 minutes). The new 'Lighthouse Bistro' is an art-themed restaurant, showcasing a wide range of art from local artists. The gallery-style restaurant offers contemporary dining using the very freshest local vegetables and produce, fish straight from the sea and Cornish made cheeses alongside exotic foods and wines from around the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Chy-An-Albany reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chy-An-Albany Hotel St Ives
Chy-An-Albany St Ives, Cornwall

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chy-An-Albany, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.